Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wests Tigers club news

RedVee

I was chatted to Nutzy @Nutz and he suggested I put something in here.

After all these years (35 in C’Town) I have given in and joined Wests Macarthur Leagues Club. (Wests Group Macarthur officially).

Had lunch with the sisters and when one came out to sign me in I asked her how much membership was… $2. Then the club lady added “for 5years”.
I really couldn’t argue against that.

So I went through the process and there were 2 questions on top of the usual ID style questions.
1. Do you want gaming promotion offers sent to you? No.
2. ⁠Do you support Wests Tigers? No.

Sister jumps in “he supports St George”, the club lady another one!” “Even my Mum supports St George!”

Anyway club seems nice enough and I got my $2 back on mbrs meal discount.

I’ve never been asked what NRL Club I support anywhere else. Just something that interested me.

Nutz

I was chatted to Nutzy @Nutz and he suggested I put something in here.

After all these years (35 in C’Town) I have given in and joined Wests Macarthur Leagues Club. (Wests Group Macarthur officially).

Had lunch with the sisters and when one came out to sign me in I asked her how much membership was… $2. Then the club lady added “for 5years”.
I really couldn’t argue against that.

So I went through the process and there were 2 questions on top of the usual ID style questions.
1. Do you want gaming promotion offers sent to you? No.
2. ⁠Do you support Wests Tigers? No.

Sister jumps in “he supports St George”, the club lady another one!” “Even my Mum supports St George!”

Anyway club seems nice enough and I got my $2 back on mbrs meal discount.

I’ve never been asked what NRL Club I support anywhere else. Just something that interested me.
After 35years in C'Town area mate, how did you get involved with Saints. Did you go to a Kogerra primary school?

RedVee

Anyway, looking at the website later, they withdrew from the WT’s in 2013.

Evidently the genealogy of the club “Wests Group Macarthur” grew out of Campbelltown Kangaroos (now Campbelltown City Kangaroos) that started in 1908! and they became Wests when the Magpies went out here in the 1980s.

Evidently C’town tried to get into the NSWRL and failed, then Newtown tried and fell over, then finally the Magpies were the Campbelltown entry until WT’s after the Super League kerfuffle. Campbelltown Leagues seems to have gone broke itself in the early 1980’s and were rescued by… Wests Ashfield. I guess another reason for the Wests name. They are estranged now though.

While not part of WTs they still support all the juniors out here, plus other sports too. They have another few Clubs under their wings now, and tried to change their name a few years ago to Campbelltown Sports Club but it didn’t go through.

The club is next to the ground, years and years ago when it was called Orana Park it was the Campbelltown Leagues Club there… but as big as a bowls club. :) in fact in my memory I was think it was a Bowls Club - even though I never saw a green! 😊
Much bigger Club now and seem to be going well.

RedVee

After 35years in C'Town area mate, how did you get involved with Saints. Did you go to a Kogerra primary school?
Worse than that, I was in the Wests Magpies area before I moved here too. Probably 60 years worth!

When Dad got back from WW2 he ended up in Bardwell Park. Then his Mum got her way and the rest of the (younger) family came to Sydney in about 48/49 and she put Dad to work on getting her a house. He found one with a fair bit of land around it in May St Bardwell Park and was able to secure it in her name.
So the family became (I think they were beforehand too) St George supporters. Of the 2 elder boys one was married and moved close by in Earlwood, the other married and stayed in Newcastle, Dad and the other 4 boys (yes 7 sons) moved into May St until they found their feet in Sydney. The last 5 (including Dad) all got married in the Catholic Church in Earlwood and played competitive tennis at Bexley (the little club in the side of Bexley Rd). They met their future wife’s through tennis or by being introduced by tennis club people. 5 of the wife’s lived in Earlwood, and my Mum had lived n Earlwood before her parents moving to Croydon Park (in Wests Ashfield area). So they were a bit connected into the St George and nearby area.
All the brothers stayed St George men except one, who switched to Balmain when he married and they found a house at Dundas - he decided he/they should follow their new local team. I even got a hand me down faded Balmain jersey off my cousin at one point. I imagined it made me Artie Beetson. 🤣 If I didn’t catch the St George virus I would most likely have been a Tiger.
Anyway, when my parents married they bought a house up the hill from Bardwell Park in Arncliffe. But Mums Dad died and a few years after that the Croydon Park house was too big for her to look after. So, (reluctantly I think in Dads case) they agreed to swap houses. Dad definitely didn’t want to move away from St George area, and we still went back there for things, Drs visirs at BPark, my first swimming lessons at Bexley etc, and to visit / stay with my Grandmother.
Dad bit the bullet and did it though, they timed it so I started school in Kindy at SFX Ashbury rather than SFX Arncliffe.

Just how it worked out.

Nutz

Worse than that, I was in the Wests Magpies area before I moved here too. Probably 60 years worth!

When Dad got back from WW2 he ended up in Bardwell Park. Then his Mum got her way and the rest of the (younger) family came to Sydney in about 48/49 and she put Dad to work on getting her a house. He found one with a fair bit of land around it in May St Bardwell Park and was able to secure it in her name.
So the family became (I think they were beforehand too) St George supporters. Of the 2 elder boys one was married and moved close by in Earlwood, the other married and stayed in Newcastle, Dad and the other 4 boys (yes 7 sons) moved into May St until they found their feet in Sydney. The last 5 (including Dad) all got married in the Catholic Church in Earlwood and played competitive tennis at Bexley (the little club in the side of Bexley Rd). They met their future wife’s through tennis or by being introduced by tennis club people. 5 of the wife’s lived in Earlwood, and my Mum had lived n Earlwood before her parents moving to Croydon Park (in Wests Ashfield area). So they were a bit connected into the St George and nearby area.
All the brothers stayed St George men except one, who switched to Balmain when he married and they found a house at Dundas - he decided he/they should follow their new local team. I even got a hand me down faded Balmain jersey off my cousin at one point. I imagined it made me Artie Beetson. 🤣 If I didn’t catch the St George virus I would most likely have been a Tiger.
Anyway, when my parents married they bought a house up the hill from Bardwell Park in Arncliffe. But Mums Dad died and a few years after that the Croydon Park house was too big for her to look after. So, (reluctantly I think in Dads case) they agreed to swap houses. Dad definitely didn’t want to move away from St George area, and we still went back there for things, Drs visirs at BPark, my first swimming lessons at Bexley etc, and to visit / stay with my Grandmother.
Dad bit the bullet and did it though, they timed it so I started school in Kindy at SFX Ashbury rather than SFX Arncliffe.

Just how it worked out.
Have you ever thought of bottling your blood, be worth a bit in years to come.
I just love reading stuff like this Red, it's what this country was built on, full respect to our indigenous brothers and sisters too.
Consider yourself a full honoury Wests Tigers forum member 🤣

RedVee

Have you ever thought of bottling your blood, be worth a bit in years to come.
I just love reading stuff like this Red, it's what this country was built on, full respect to our indigenous brothers and sisters too.
Consider yourself a full honoury Wests Tigers forum member 🤣
Thanks mate 👍🏻

Just how it worked out.
I blame your parents hahaha

Just how it worked out.
A great read. Earlwood could almost have been a Newtown nursery way back then being on that side of the train line.

RedVee

A great read. Earlwood could almost have been a Newtown nursery way back then being on that side of the train line.
Yes agree.
I think people there were border folk between Newtown and Canterbury, but of course down the hill was St George. I’m guessing the Cooks River / Wolli Creek and the train line made up the border of territory north/south.
Grandparents were 100m up from where the train line now is, and Wolli Creek is, with Bardwell Creek in the park just behind them.
Dad used to say there was a plank (or something?) across the Creek that they used to walk across to get up the hill to Earlwood, and back again of course.

Nutz

Yes agree.
I think people there were border folk between Newtown and Canterbury, but of course down the hill was St George. I’m guessing the Cooks River / Wolli Creek and the train line made up the border of territory north/south.
Grandparents were 100m up from where the train line now is, and Wolli Creek is, with Bardwell Creek in the park just behind them.
Dad used to say there was a plank (or something?) across the Creek that they used to walk across to get up the hill to Earlwood, and back again of course.
Or up a creek without a paddle 😅

If you'd like a bit of player analysis around why the Tigers are sucking once they get into the red zone go onto youtube and have a search for levels podcast. It is the episode uploaded on Tuesday. Go to the 2 hr 4 min mark where a fan has posed the question.

Pretty interesting stuff.

Nutz

I think this is the video.
I've said it several times before that Api's passes are often very clunky to the first receiver. The receiver often catches the ball high and not out in front and the service is slow.
I don't think it's a fatigue thing as well.
I'd be very interested to see Madden or Fainu move to dumy half when Api needs a rest.

Nutz

I've said it several times before that Api's passes are often very clunky to the first receiver. The receiver often catches the ball high and not out in front and the service is slow.
I don't think it's a fatigue thing as well.
I'd be very interested to see Madden or Fainu move to dumy half when Api needs a rest.
And just checking my statement, I saw back in feb that Wiz and 05 basically said the same thing too.
The chain reaction from the very first pass which is sus, continues along the line.

And just checking my statement, I saw back in feb that Wiz and 05 basically said the same thing too.

The service was exceptionally poor in the trials but I don't think his service has been bad in the first 2 games this season and he has been pretty close to our best player.

I don't know what the problem is with our attack but I blame the coaching staff. It was interesting listening to that video and the commentators rating Souths so highly. Souths do have a good team but I think we have a good team. Losing our two centers is a big issue but it's the spine that didn't perform against Souths and they were poor last season as well.

Our middle forwards and outside backs are getting us field position. We just can't execute. We need to develop an attacking style of footy. You don't win games consistently in this comp without being able to score points.

Nutz

The service was exceptionally poor in the trials but I don't think his service has been bad in the first 2 games this season and he has been pretty close to our best player.

I don't know what the problem is with our attack but I blame the coaching staff. It was interesting listening to that video and the commentators rating Souths so highly. Souths do have a good team but I think we have a good team. Losing our two centers is a big issue but it's the spine that didn't perform against Souths and they were poor last season as well.

Our middle forwards and outside backs are getting us field position. We just can't execute. We need to develop an attacking style of footy. You don't win games consistently in this comp without being able to score points.
Look at how harry grant passes from the ground crisply and to the first receiver, left and right and you'll see what I'm talking about.
Api's general play makes him one of the best though.
I'm with him as he's a winner but he needs to improve otherwise AD and other backs are impeded, just sayin.
I used to tear strips off my halves if they didnt put the ball in front of my hands. It simply has to happen, period.

RedVee

Sorry if this is old news to you but just thought I’d drop it in here.

I was talking to a couple of good acquaintances the other week and they spoke about how Campbelltown Stadium would get more games next year? when Leichhardt gets renovated.
The interesting part to me was that they said Campbelltown would be closed the season after Leichhardt as its renovation has been approved. Supposedly a fair lump of a renovation that will make some difference to the ground and supporters.

Sorry if this is old news to you but just thought I’d drop it in here.

I was talking to a couple of good acquaintances the other week and they spoke about how Campbelltown Stadium would get more games next year? when Leichhardt gets renovated.
The interesting part to me was that they said Campbelltown would be closed the season after Leichhardt as its renovation has been approved. Supposedly a fair lump of a renovation that will make some difference to the ground and supporters.
If you're going to be the premiers, you need to have nice things hahaha