Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

T-Boon

Dont worry a lot of people i know and relatives who have been watching RL for 30-50+ years have no idea what the game is about anymore with the 6 again and other shit.

They have completely cooked it this year.
It's been cooking by the coaches for 25 years (wrestling, completions, bombs, escorts, decoys, dirty tackling, etc) and reached boiling point a few year ago so brought in 6again. At least this way it appeals enough to draw bigger crowds and TV etc. I agree the 6again sucks but what NRL coaches were doing and continue to do is far worse. Coaches should be kicked out of the game for what they did. They need to get me in to fix the rules.

JokerEel

Watch us sign one or more of these scrubs for big dollars on multiple years....

I would be telling Blake Wilson to pass off as he knocked us back twice..

We need forwards really and I still would be going for Lahrs at the cows if we can get him early.. backs we have Russell back next weekend and arent the issue...

85 Baby

I think his been okay but fmd i get sick of all this roosters flavour on every NRL TV show.

What does JWH actually add to the coverage.

Tedesco & DCE will be on Fox League or Nine shortly when they retire.

May as well be Roosters TV.
Don’t forget Sonny “Hey cuz” Bill “Yeah cuz” Williams

Gazzamatta

Riccio reckons today the club's phone is running hot and wouldnt surprise him if we nab someone before 4pm we are that desperate atm and are pushing for anything.

What a disgrace it takes a 50 point flogging at home to the Titans to get the R&R team into action so desperate to cover there own arse.

As per usual were too slow out of the gates the horse has bolted now.
I reckon it's pressure from Ryles and Beech mate. The fan response has been incredible and has created much concern. I reckon the chair would have been reluctant to get involved but now has too. Get Brian Smith involved I say.

senior

We need forwards really and I still would be going for Lahrs at the cows if we can get him early.. backs we have Russell back next weekend and arent the issue...
I wouldn’t mind Jesse McLean or Bronson Xerri on long term contracts

85 Baby

This place needs a true leader and a player that consistently performs at NRL level. If we are fair dinkum I’d be giving Yeo well over $1m a year and the captaincy. It would be an offer he couldn’t refuse.
Well that’d sure fund his retirement. He’s 31 and best seasons behind him. At best you’re signing him to mentor the bloke doing the actual leading.
I agree with Talking Parra guy and take the captain off Moses. He’s the game play leader who’ll yell at them enough during the run. We need a separate guy abusing the f**k out of them when they aren’t listening to Moses. That’s a hard find externally. Maybe Yeo could do it but to garner the respect needed, the player also needs to putting in and that’s a ticking clock with Yeo. Tino would’ve been ideal. Looking back Keaon may have been at that point (we should’ve have gone harder).
What’s concerning for me is probably our current best available is Dylan Walker and then you’ll hate it but Guymer would be next, which shows it’s truly dire. We just don’t have the hard edged player, who’s also rugba leeg smart.

Lemon Squash

100% agree, this is the thing what's the point of signing more reserve grade quality players who are only going to take up a roster spot and not improve us, i.e. Kelly.

Yes it might help for depth but its not going to improve our current predicament. Honestly none on that list fill me with much confidence, Timoko has pedigree and ability but is a poor defender.

They need to find players who are going to ADD value to our squad now.

We need to find legitimate first graders who just have better players in front of them.

Jesse Mclean would be my number 1 Target would help with depth this year and is a great long term replacement for Russel.
Sua early, I think they will be willing to let him come once Couchman/Egan are back
Lahrs would be fantastic on a 1 year loan

Pazza

I reckon it's pressure from Ryles and Beech mate. The fan response has been incredible and has created much concern. I reckon the chair would have been reluctant to get involved but now has too. Get Brian Smith involved I say.

the panthers have collected people involved in the Smith era of the Eels.

its time for us to bring some of these guys back to parra

Ryles talks about parra people all the time, whos a parra person? BS, Matt cameron, Daniel anderson, sterlo, im sure there are plenty more.

85 Baby

the panthers have collected people involved in the Smith era of the Eels.

its time for us to bring some of these guys back to parra

Ryles talks about parra people all the time, whos a parra person? BS, Matt cameron, Daniel anderson, sterlo, im sure there are plenty more.
Thinking back on it, we absolutely squandered Sterlo. Bloke was regularly travelling the country for Nine and loves the club. Should’ve absolutely been the guy we took to meet potential signings. New lot wouldn’t really know him.

I reckon despite everything (and he’d probably ask a cut too) we should be taking Hayne to meetings. We’re not asking him to talk to royalty, just to some footballers who would’ve watched him win Dally Ms growing up

Wizardssleeve

I and the majority of the Dragon's supporter base hopes so. Happy to knock off a bit early today and drive him to your COE. He's all yours.
You’ll need two days off, have you seen where our COE is ? I think we built it so far away from the stadium that there’s no way we’ll ever be forced to share it with Wests , Canterbury , or any of the other Gypsy teams .

Pazza

Thinking back on it, we absolutely squandered Sterlo. Bloke was regularly travelling the country for Nine and loves the club. Should’ve absolutely been the guy we took to meet potential signings. New lot wouldn’t really know him.

I reckon despite everything (and he’d probably ask a cut too) we should be taking Hayne to meetings. We’re not asking him to talk to royalty, just to some footballers who would’ve watched him win Dally Ms growing up

should have sterlo is a consultative role with the club, one of the brightest brains when it comes to analyzing the game we have seen.

on the hayne thing, you notice the wests tigers have no issues attracting Polynesian talent to their club atm. hayne and say fui could do wonders with our junior recruitment.

eels_fan

If we sign Blake fkn Lawrie I won’t watch another game all season.

why does this club have to be so reactionary? Between our recruitment team and coaches the club is probably paying $6-7m in wages a year - and between them they can’t be proactive to get a signing?
Every player available today was available last week or the week before, so why did we essentially have to hit rock bottom with half the team out injured and a 50 point thrashing for any action to happen?

eels_fan

we should be taking Hayne to meetings.
Hayne made multiple requests to be involved with the Club, whether that be in a training capacity or junior development and all of them went ignored.

His preference was to work for Parra, but when they showed zero interest, he started his own academy so will likely develop great players for our rivals

85 Baby

Hayne made multiple requests to be involved with the Club, whether that be in a training capacity or junior development and all of them went ignored.

His preference was to work for Parra, but when they showed zero interest, he started his own academy so will likely develop great players for our rivals
Yeah I’m not sure I’m with him there. Maybe I’m wrong. But really I’d just have him for the sales pitch

Timana

The young kids would look at to Hayne. Super talent and from the hood