Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New Zealand 2 will deal a massive blow to NZ rugby

Matua

Yea the anti-Auckland thing probably isnt as overt as the past, but I think it still simmers pretty strongly below the surface and when Auckland is perceived as having an 'undue' influence on something, it's quick to fire up again.

While the Warriors are going well, yep everyone is on the bandwagon. But when the team has struggled, I felt a lot of negative sentiment with calls for them to ditch the NZ name because it reflected poorly on everyone else, and being derisively referred to as the Auckland Warriors.

SR driven hatred has petered away because the Saders have been so dominant, but when rumours started flowing that Blues players undermined Robertson as AB coach, the anti Auckland sentiment amongst Cantabrians especially quickly flared up again.

If Cantabrians were given an NRL team, I reckon the hatred will bubble back up to the surface pretty quickly. And if the clubs play their part by leaning into it like AFC has, I genuinely think the derbies would become season highlights.
I think the hatred between Cantabs v Auck is still there, the hatred which I think has changed, which you Aucklanders might not have noticed, is that the rest of the NI hates the Cantabs more than you now, so there's not likely going to be a wholesale switch to a new SI based team.

I'm sure lots will take the Cantabs as their second team though in a NZ solidarity style.

marlins2.0

I think the hatred between Cantabs v Auck is still there, the hatred which I think has changed, which you Aucklanders might not have noticed, is that the rest of the NI hates the Cantabs more than you now, so there's not likely going to be a wholesale switch to a new SI based team.

I'm sure lots will take the Cantabs as their second team though in a NZ solidarity style.
Also a toooonne of Aucklanders in Christchurch too.

Matua

They would need 2 years in Cup at least mate. Moana get belted from pillar to post each week.
I would say that Miracle Failagi would be a good pick up, but he plays for the Magpies so I don't want him going anywhere.

There's some guy called Laumape that might go alright in league. ;)

This is actually the worst squad MP have ever had, there would have been some (theoretical) good picks up in past squads.

Nah I've noticed it and its a lovely thing to see. But yea, I agree that if a CHCH based team kicked off the fanbase would split pretty much along the strait.

Dunno if I'd personally adopt them as my second team though. I think I'd quite enjoy seeing Benji or Foz flog the smug wankers.

FMD they're not even real and I already hate everything about them.

Matua

Nah I've noticed it and its a lovely thing to see. But yea, I agree that if a CHCH based team kicked off the fanbase would split pretty much along the strait.

Dunno if I'd personally adopt them as my second team though. I think I'd quite enjoy seeing Benji or Foz flog the smug wankers.

FMD they're not even real and I already hate everything about them.
🤣

Me too, but I've alway hated the Cantabs, even before the Crusaders existed. Living there for just under a year around 2001 cemented my hatred.

Matiunz

Just saw this from 2 hours ago.
Does this news help or hinder the prospects of NZ2 ?
Probably zero impact, probably highlights the folly of both the mooted Pasifika and Auckland 2 ideas. Market nor desire isn’t there in Auckland to get a competing entity in the Auckland market

Gobsmacked

Moana Pasifika set to exit Super Rugby after 2026 season - ESPN https://share.google/3K3aGplRsJY8JY9HE

So, another blow to Rugby in NZ . We knew this was coming.
What's that? Another $5 million and 40 full time RU spots gone. They'll be gone the same year NRL opens up another $12 million and 30 full time spots.

Question is who's next? Fiji? WA? I know the Brumbies were struggling for cash not long ago.

marlins2.0

Moana Pasifika set to exit Super Rugby after 2026 season - ESPN https://share.google/3K3aGplRsJY8JY9HE

So, another blow to Rugby in NZ . We knew this was coming.
What's that? Another $5 million and 40 full time RU spots gone. They'll be gone the same year NRL opens up another $12 million and 30 full time spots.

Question is who's next? Fiji? WA? I know the Brumbies were struggling for cash not long ago.
Fiji are backed by the government and some pretty hefty local sponsors, no?

marlins2.0

I would say that Miracle Failagi would be a good pick up, but he plays for the Magpies so I don't want him going anywhere.

There's some guy called Laumape that might go alright in league. ;)

This is actually the worst squad MP have ever had, there would have been some (theoretical) good picks up in past squads.
The bloke who plays fullback for the Magpies, big guy I think he's a twin, was he playing for Moana? Saw him at a game in Palmy last year, physically very impressive.

Poor Laumape, geez he had a position for life at the Wahs, credit to him for having a crack though.

Yeah. What are he rules on him switching to Sa international wise?
3yrs since last game for ABs so could start playing for Samoa from 'end 28 onwards if he walks away now.

He'd have just turned 35. Same age as McCaw at the 15WC but prefaced by (probably) a few more seasons of Japanese rugby instead of the SR grind of those days. So probably doable if he wanted to.

Gobsmacked

Fiji are backed by the government and some pretty hefty local sponsors, no?
Yeah I assume so but I don't know what figures they are or how long they're guaranteed.
Being subsidized by government is a pretty obvious indication that it's not sustainable. What if government priorities shift? Jet fuel is getting expensive, Fiji air could cut sponsorship.

It's not sustainable.

Super Rugby is in a doom loop, it's only a matter of when they pull up stumps.
I dont think there'll be too many NZ punters upset tbh. SR's been a shadow of itself since the Africans and Argies were excluded, both in terms of a spectacle and as a stepping stone into test footy.

The critical thing will be what its replaced with, and it cant be just a souped up NPC in my view.

Traditionalists insist that would reinvigorate local interest and that might be true, but a 6mth circle jerk amongst ourselves is poor preparation for test footy and that's still where the vast majority of revenue stems from.

Matua

The bloke who plays fullback for the Magpies, big guy I think he's a twin, was he playing for Moana? Saw him at a game in Palmy last year, physically very impressive.

Poor Laumape, geez he had a position for life at the Wahs, credit to him for having a crack though.
Zarn Sullivan, he plays for the Blues, his brother Bailyn plays for the Canes (not twins though). He's coming back to HB this year for the Magpies too.

Matiunz

Yea the anti-Auckland thing probably isnt as overt as the past, but I think it still simmers pretty strongly below the surface and when Auckland is perceived as having an 'undue' influence on something, it's quick to fire up again.

While the Warriors are going well, yep everyone is on the bandwagon. But when the team has struggled, I felt a lot of negative sentiment with calls for them to ditch the NZ name because it reflected poorly on everyone else, and being derisively referred to as the Auckland Warriors.

SR driven hatred has petered away because the Saders have been so dominant, but when rumours started flowing that Blues players undermined Robertson as AB coach, the anti Auckland sentiment amongst Cantabrians especially quickly flared up again.

If Cantabrians were given an NRL team, I reckon the hatred will bubble back up to the surface pretty quickly. And if the clubs play their part by leaning into it like AFC has, I genuinely think the derbies would become season highlights.
Ironically think a lot of the sentiment with Robertsons downfall was anti Canterbury with his perceived favouritism of everything crusaders.
But agreed NZ 2 based out of Canterbury would add a bit of local spice