Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2026 TV and Streaming Ratings thread

stratocaster

That's cool, but:
Sydney: the Swans arguably have a bigger supporter base than any of the Sydney NRL clubs, and easily draw bigger home game crowds than any of them. The Perth Bears is proof the relocation model has worked as the NRL are copying what the VFL did with South Melbourne in 1982.

Brisbane: I would concede the Broncos are far bigger than the Lions at present. However, after the Brisbane Olympics the Lions have the potential to start drawing bigger crowds in the new stadium. Let's wait and see.

Gold Coast: the Suns aren't really far behind the Titans if crowds are any indication.
Oh yeah, that explains why on the 4th May 2025 when the Swans and Giants played last year their combined TV rating in Sydney was 58k.

And the Lions/Sun game was 33k in Brisbane.

Both games designed and targeted to maximise interest in their home states.

Yeah it's a real take over. I'm terrified!!!

storm1999

Yeah it's a real take over. I'm terrified!!!
Did I say AFL was taking over in NSW and QLD? Teams like the Swans and Lions can still be a success without dominating the local market. Just as I'd consider Storm as a success in Melbourne whilst the NRL will obviously never overtake the AFL in market share here.

stratocaster

Did I say AFL was taking over in NSW and QLD? Teams like the Swans and Lions can still be a success without dominating the local market. Just as I'd consider Storm as a success in Melbourne whilst the NRL will obviously never overtake the AFL in market share here.
If the Swans had a bigger supporter base than any of the Sydney NRL clubs, then it would be reflected in the ratings. Instead the all-Sydney AFL derby game last year got 58k.

No Sydney NRL club rates that low on its own, let alone with a second club in a rivalry game.

Why does the alleged team with the biggest supporter base, allegedly bigger than every other NRL club, rate so lowly?

Because what you're saying is bullshit.

If you think the Lions are going to leapfrog the Broncos just because of a stadium then you're delusional. All there will be is more empty seats.

storm1999

If you think the Lions are going to leapfrog the Broncos just because of a stadium then you're delusional. All there will be is more empty seats.
I just said there is potential because the Gabba is being sold out at current capacity (34k) for most Lions games. In a brand new 60k stadium, average crowds of 45k+ are not beyond reason.

storm1999

Why does the alleged team with the biggest supporter base, allegedly bigger than every other NRL club, rate so lowly?
Probably because fans go to games? If I was a Swans fan living in Sydney I'd be at every SCG game in person. And I wouldn't watch away games on 7/7mate, I'd watch on Fox.

The supporter base thing is substantiated by a Roy Morgan survey. The Swans have the biggest fan base in Sydney. Now obviously the majority of the fanbase is nominal and may only watch one game per year.

Gobsmacked

Remind again what the "N" in NRL stands for?
The NRL has about as much chance as becoming global as Tehran does of obtaining an NFL franchise.
You think the N matters when we're in NZ and PNG?
Nobody really thinks it means anything.
Our CEO is in the UK at this very moment negotiating the purchase and control of SL - that's England and France.. of course we already have PNG, NZ and Australia.

We have the world cup this year..

Seasons open in Vegas.

While the AFL can barely break out of Victoria for a reach around in Adelaide.

storm1999

While the AFL can barely break out of Victoria for a reach around in Adelaide.
Funny you should mention that because on the Friday of Gather Round, AFL CEO Andrew Dillon flew back to Melbourne for a high-powered business meeting with NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell at the MCG. The pair discussed future cross-promotional opportunities between the leagues. I don't believe Peter V'Landys or Andrew Abdo was invited given the NFL recognises the AFL as Australia's premier football code.

Gobsmacked

Funny you should mention that because on the Friday of Gather Round, AFL CEO Andrew Dillon flew back to Melbourne for a high-powered business meeting with NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell at the MCG. The pair discussed future cross-promotional opportunities between the leagues. I don't believe Peter V'Landys or Andrew Abdo was invited given the NFL recognises the AFL as Australia's premier football code.
They met with him years ago when the first started going to Vegas mate. The NRL have been collaborative with the NFL for years.
We train at their facilities in the USA, their stars do adds for the NRL.

stratocaster

I just said there is potential because the Gabba is being sold out at current capacity (34k) for most Lions games. In a brand new 60k stadium, average crowds of 45k+ are not beyond reason.
Brisbane Lions 3 premierships in a row, 2001, 2002, 2003

2004 Crowd Average: 33,619
2017 Crowd Average: 16,455

It halved over 13 years. Rock bottom was only 9 years ago.

2025 Crowd Average: 30,598
Another premiership year.
The Brisbane Lions now average 3,101 less than 21 years ago

That's not growth. That's stagnation. Don't bullshit and say they've maxed out the GABBA.

What's to say 13 years from now the Lions crowds don't halve again like they did before?

Probably because fans go to games?

The supporter base thing is substantiated by a Roy Morgan survey. The Swans have the biggest fan base in Sydney. Now obviously the majority of the fanbase is nominal and may only watch one game per year.
Same story

Sydney Swans 1997 average = 35,818
Sydney Swans 2025 average = 34,277

More decline and stagnation.

Canterbury Bulldogs 2025 average = 30,688
However the aggregate was only 11,000 different.

But what about big crowds?
  • 65,305: Round 7 (vs Rabbitohs)
  • 59,878: King's Birthday clash (vs Eels)
  • 56,872: Home final (vs Panthers)
Sydney Swans biggest crowd in 2025? 40,310

You could argue CANTERBURY BULLDOGS ARE BIGGER THAN THE SYDNEY SWANS just based on crowds.

If you do a survey and say who is your team, people with a casual interest will say 'yeah the Swans I guess' like they'll go 'the Storm I guess'. It's a fleeting interest at best.

At least with the Storm there's things other than a survey that you can go off. The Storm have double the Swans social media following.

Meanwhile:

Melbourne Storm 1998 average = 12,716
Melbourne Storm 2025 average = 23,959* - all time record - double the average whilst the Swans went backwards in the same space of time

Brisbane Broncos 2025 average = 44,011 - 2nd highest
(number 1 for aggregate)

1097693 went to Lang Park in 2025. It was 475196 when the Broncos set the record at the Old QEII. NRL attendance in Brisbane has doubled and is at an all time record.

If you want to focus on crowds, you should concern yourself more with this fact:

AFL 2008 Average: 36,996
AFL 2025 Average: 36,986
AFL 17 years = 0% growth in crowd averages

AFL 2008 Aggregate: 6954187
AFL 2025 Aggregate: 7656090
AFL 17 years = 10% growth

NRL 2008 Average: 15030
NRL 2025 Average: 21046
NRL 17 years = 40% growth in crowd averages

NRL 2008 Aggregate: 2885693
NRL 2025 Aggregate: 4295456
NRL 17 years = 49% growth in crowd aggregate

Gobsmacked

storm1999

The Brisbane Lions now average 3,101 less than 21 years ago
Cherry picking stats to match your preferred narrative as usual.

The Gabba crowd capacity has been reduced by approx 6,000 over the same period due to infrastructure upgrades, including installation of new screens and a pool deck.

Sydney Swans made the decision not to play at Accor which limits their crowds to the SCG capacity.

Comparing the Storm's current average to the 1998 season is laughable given the state of Olympic Park at the time. I attended those games, whilst the atmosphere was good the facilities were non-existent.

James Rick

There is no timeframe for a team 20.

I dont consider any of them to be viable. The only cost effective option by 2034 will be WA3, by then the GIants will be in Canberra more than WS, and the Suns will be fortunate if they are still alive.
I saw a thread on big footy about how they reckon Brisbane should get the 20th team because of the new stadium being built at Victoria Park, it'll be hard for AFL to find a place for a 20th team. Meanwhile the NRL have options galore for team 20, with Ipswich and Christchurch chomping at the bit for a team not to mention Central Queensland.

BuffaloRules

That's cool, but:
Sydney: the Swans arguably have a bigger supporter base than any of the Sydney NRL clubs, and easily draw bigger home game crowds than any of them. The Perth Bears is proof the relocation model has worked as the NRL are copying what the VFL did with South Melbourne in 1982.

Brisbane: I would concede the Broncos are far bigger than the Lions at present. However, after the Brisbane Olympics the Lions have the potential to start drawing bigger crowds in the new stadium. Let's wait and see.

Gold Coast: the Suns aren't really far behind the Titans if crowds are any indication.

Too focused on crowds ….Fail …

BuffaloRules

Probably because fans go to games? If I was a Swans fan living in Sydney I'd be at every SCG game in person. And I wouldn't watch away games on 7/7mate, I'd watch on Fox.

They don’t play every week in Sydney …but their Ratings are terrible home or away …and only a small percentage have Foxtel

stratocaster

The Gabba crowd capacity has been reduced by approx 6,000 over the same period due to infrastructure upgrades, including installation of new screens and a pool deck.

Sydney Swans made the decision not to play at Accor which limits their crowds to the SCG capacity.

Comparing the Storm's current average to the 1998 season is laughable given the state of Olympic Park at the time. I attended those games, whilst the atmosphere was good the facilities were non-existent.
After those modifications the Gabba capacity for AFL is 34,735 general admission seats. It's on the Gabba website. It was 34,700 in 2004. With corporates it can hold 37,478.

The Lions averaging 30,598 is only 88% of the Gabba's general admission capacity. They would have to average 4,137 more every game to be at 100% capacity - which is higher than they've ever averaged.

The general admission capacity in 2004 was also 34,700. All that happened was they increase the cricket capacity to 42,000 then took some back for the AFL requirement. Nothing about the stadium arrangement has caused the Lions to decline.

The Swans just had 43,000 at the SCG. Its capacity for AFL listed on the AFL website itself is 46,000.
Their average is 34,271.

That's only 75% of capacity. They could fit in another 12,000 people every game.

They don't because it's not the stadium that's the problem. It's the club.

As for the Storm, I'm happy to compare from when they moved to AAMI Park

2010: 14,670
2025: 23,959

63% increase for Storm crowds since the relocation over the past 15 years. But I love how you want to shit on the club that you claim to like.

Lions and Swans: stagnant growth over the past 21-29 years.

i0Nic

Wrong again fumble boy.

The swans comparison he gave was prior to Accor even being built, and today the SCG has a bigger capacity than it did back then. the Swans should be averaging higher than the 34k they were getting in the late 90s.

But they aren’t.

if they were filling Accor they would’ve kept playing there mind you, but their crowds started to dwindle when the novelty wore off and the eastern suburbs toffs going to the swannies didn’t want to head out west anymore.

Storm - even since they moved to AAMI park their averages have grown from 13-14k average to 23k average - almost double. So wrong again.

i0Nic

Also as someone that lives in Sydney that feels about right with the swans ‘popularity’. It peaked post the super league war. It had another bump with the slow demise of Union. Since then, it’s remained stagnant or gone backwards. Swans have a good niche in Sydney like the Sydney Kings and Sydney A-league team. their fans go to the games, ex Victorians living in Sydney go to the games, and a few wannabes that want to be seen. that’s it.

The swans nor afl have made afl a part of Sydney cultural fabric or DNA. It feels just as foreign as it always has. There are pockets in the well to do eastern suburbs and north shore that embrace it, but mainly because they wouldn’t be caught dead following a working class sport like rugby league. For them following the afl is just virtue signalling.

Most of Sydney doesn’t care, or at best only has a vague idea of the swans and might say “yeah I follow the swans” if pressed if they follow an afl team - but wouldn’t even be able to name a single player.

this is evidenced by the low tv viewership they get in Sydney. And looks like the low viewership they get nationally as well.