Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

ANZ Stadium half closed for Origin

Parra

Seating and angles would still be as wrong as they are today.

Samaranch actually used ANZ Stadium as an example of what not to build. The IOC do not want the legacy of hosting an Olympics to be white elephant stadiums. Useful for the Olympics and bugger all else.

Lockyer4President!

Seating and angles would still be as wrong as they are today.

Samaranch actually used ANZ Stadium as an example of what not to build. The IOC do not want the legacy of hosting an Olympics to be white elephant stadiums. Useful for the Olympics and bugger all else.

At least Sydney got to claim the title of the biggest Olympic stadium ever. :sarcasm:

In-goal

I preffer to sit high up so as I can see the lines, much like the cardiff stadium, it has larger upper sections and smaller lower tiers.

Canard

Has one bullsh*t throwaway up post ever caused this many pages to be created.

Like all good urban myths it worked on people because it "sorta" seemed like it could be true.

For the price of the tickets, if i was going to and it didn't look like selling out, i would wait til the day of the game and see what the weather was like.
In saying that in '99 i sat on the end in the pouring rain, got soaked and loved it!
But really the tickets are expensive for really only one game at night in the middle of a working week when it's live on TV.

t-ba

Alright...who Gave Timmah the Thesaurus?

All of these 'percentiles' and 'aggregates' peppered in his posts are getting a little scary.

brendothejet

i went to ANZ twice in its 110 000 seat config for Rugby League. The double header and the 99 GF. Both were amazing because of the imense and overwhelming atmosphere.

Now the novelty has worn off and the poor design of the stadium is a blemish.

mattyg

Can't wait for this game despite the fact that I've got nobody to cheer on from the Dogs. I'll definately end up giving it to Willie Mason again, but in the end I hope NSW win it. Looking forward to it! I reckon there will end up being 75,000 there

beave

The whole "Qld is cheaper to live the NSW" is becoming a load of BS as the mining boom continues on. My rates up here in Townsville for a 5 bedroom house on a 700m block are $1200 a half, houses are hitting the $400k-$500k AVERAGE mark, and I filled the Aurion up this morning (sorry Timmah, I don't drive a commodore or a 4wd, so I mustn't be an "average" League fan by your books......................) for wait for it, $1.44 a litre........................6-7 years ago it was the case but thanks to progress and the Mexicans pushing the prices up, it aint that cheap to live up here anymore. Brisbanes real estate prices are even worse. You people down there in Sydney are living in a fantasy land if you think we are "living it up" so to speak. Mind you, I wouldn't live anywhere else in the world.

t-ba

I Challenge you to find a house the size you live in as close to Sydney's CBD as it is to Townsville's CBD for the price you are paying, or better yet, one with the same peak hour travelling time.

$1.44 is cheap for Sydney Petrol. No State Government discounting south of the border.

Cost of Living is cheaper. I've spent a good few months living in Sydney and Brisbane this year and I can tell you it's easier in Brisbane than it is in Sydney.

beave

Brisbane is a different ball game to Townsville though mate. Our fuel can go up to $1.50 depending on the day, diesel hits a lot higher. Whilst we may have the discount up here in QLD, the cost of getting it 1600km's from brisbane and so forth totally negates any discount on fuel that SE QLD gets. Up here has gone ballistic with house prices in a short period of time. We don't have the high income earning corporate sector and so forth like Brisbane and the big cities, it's more the working class, but thanks to the lucky few that are in the mines and fly in and fly out, the local real estate agents seem to "vulture" the rest of the city into thinking that we should be paying stupid prices for houses.

People down south take for granted being able to go to decent concerts, shows, big events (GF's). I know these are luxury activities, but f#$k me, you have to live a little sometimes. Just to see a band in Brisbane costs me $300-$400 in airfares +$100 in accomodation just so I can see some decent music instead of Khe Sahn for the 100000 time................

Shorty

I Challenge you to find a house the size you live in as close to Sydney's CBD as it is to Townsville's CBD for the price you are paying, or better yet, one with the same peak hour travelling time.
Better yet,try and find it in Brisbane.

Brisbane's housing rent and prices are among the highest in Australia,they're ridiculous.
Unless you're filthy rich you're not owning a house for a long time.

As for this argument.
It's the same on either side.

Fair enough Brisbane has a smaller stadium but fair enough,last year the games were sold out in hours.
Hours.
Credit needs to be given when it is due,you cannot keep peddling the same argument about Brisbane wouldn't sell out if it had x amount of football teams or x amount of capacity to fill.
The proof is there,the games were sold out in hours.

Secondly more peddling of excuses for ANZ and why it doesn't sell out,sorry but there's no excuses and their shouldn't be.
This is the pinnacle of Rugby League,both sides are supposed to be full of aggression and passion(yes I used it).

NS Welshmen are always going on about how sick they are of QLD thinking they're more passionate,yet an adequate excuse for not going to the game is not liking the seating?!

Christ a soccer fan would scoff at that,they'd watch the game if they were facing the wall!

Thirdly,if such problems exist why isn't the NRL doing something about it?
If the seats are that horrible,reduce their prices and look at attaching things to make them look more attractive.

It's as if the NRL is as petrified of losing money as it is of making it.

nqboy

At the risk of siding with NSWankers, I believe that if they plonked Stadium Australia in Brisbane for a few years with all it's sh*tty and vastly over-priced seats, I reckon we'd struggle to sell it out too, as people would realise they're getting royally reamed and chose a superior view at a much cheaper price. How the population argument would affect that, I'm not sure.

Azkatro

The sooner soccer picks up more in this country the better. Then we can hopefully have an 80,000+ seat FOOTBALL stadium in Sydney.

Novice Chook

ANZ is an absolute crap place to watch footy. No matter how expensive the seat, you never get a good view.

The SFS beats it by a country mile.

I will be there for Origin 1 with a friend in the cheapest seats ($45) because that's what we do every year - attend 1 Origin game. We go more for the experience and the atmosphere. ANZ is not a stadium to attend when you actually want a good view of the footy.

As usual I will spend most of my time looking at the big screen at the other end to try and work out what's going on!

NC

ANZ is an absolute crap place to watch footy. No matter how expensive the seat, you never get a good view.

While I agree with your general sentiment I can't agree with the bold bit. I sit near the tunnel and my seat is absolutely sensational.

hellteam

The sooner soccer picks up more in this country the better. Then we can hopefully have an 80,000+ seat FOOTBALL stadium in Sydney.

thats a good point. if soccer gets popular, we will get better stadiums cause soccer stadiums are similar to league ones. kind of like what happened in melbourne with the victory getting popular so now they get a new stadium.
league can live with soccer if we just have to rely on rugby dying a slow death