Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Reduce the Cap

Bgoodorgoodatit

Cut players' salaries or perish
By Dean Ritchie
May 28, 2008
PARRAMATTA boss Denis Fitzgerald claimed overpaid NRL players must take dramatic pay cuts to ensure all clubs survive.

Amid talk that New South Wales-based clubs, particularly South Sydney, are facing extinction, Fitzgerald said the NRL should reduce the salary cap from $4million back to $3.5million.

Fitzgerald said the cap should be decreased by $100,000 a season over five years to ensure reduced player payments and boosting each club's coffers.

But Fitzgerald's plan was met with opposition from rival CEOs, NRL boss David Gallop, RPLA chief Matthew Rodwell and leading player manager Steve Gillis. They claim such a move would lead to more stars turning to rugby or joining the English Super League.

Rodwell said the paycuts would also lead to a "player revolt".

But Fitzgerald, aware how licensed clubs are battling to overcome the State Government poker machine tax, said: "The salary cap can't go up - it should, in fact, come down. NSW clubs simply don't have as much money available as they used to in the past. Something has to give and one thing that should be cut back are player payments.

"It's better to have a reduced cap and pay the players in full rather than leave them in the lurch if clubs have to default on payments like what happened at the Northern Eagles, North Sydney and Auckland Warriors."

Fitzgerald said the reduction should start after the 2010 season.

"Obviously clubs would have to be given plenty of notice," he said.

"Most clubs would have their salary cap spent for 2009 and half of it for 2010.

"There will be arguments around rugby union and English Super League.

"But by 2010, it could drop by $100,000 and keep dropping by that amount for the next five years."

Manly chief executive Grant Mayer, though, said too many star players would leave rugby league if offered reduced contracts.

"We have made a rod for our own back," Mayer said.

"What it may do is force our elite players overseas prematurely to either England or rugby union.

"Once you have given someone something, it's hard to take it back."

Gallop said any cut in salary cap would be an "extreme measure".

"We need to be paying our players a salary that makes our sport attractive for the elite athlete," he said.

"But it's certainly a reminder that cap increases have to be considered carefully before they are introduced."

Rodwell added: "We wouldn't tolerate that. He (Fitzgerald) could have a revolt within his own playing group."

Player managers executive president Gillis said the players were entitled to healthy contracts.

"The players would be horrified (at cutbacks)," he said. "They earn every cent and are only in the game a short time."

i personally dont think its a great idea, will lead to further player drain to the uk and rugby. also when you have some clubs spending big on player training facilities and all these other ancillary factors that go into running a footy team i dont see how asking the players to take a 500k pay cut will achieve much at all.

wouldnt want to be a parra player hearing that either

thoughts?

t-ba

430579.JPG

Denis Fitzgerald, 2008.

Does the dipsh*t realise that there are other ways besides pokies to raise money? Remember when he wanted to give Manly, Melbourne and Souths the boot for poor financial performance? I've got the sneaking suspicion all three clubs will have higher revenues than his club by the end of this year. It's a shame such a potentially huge club like Parra is run by a guy stuck in the 1970's.

Panfas

This is a sensational idea! Lets all pay everyone less so they go to europe or union! that will save rugby league :? Another great idea from fitzy!

The only way to keep sydney alive is to move 2 teams to perth and brisbane, not reduce the cap.

Easing the restriction on 3rd party payments will solve a lot of pay issues...

t-ba

Easing the restriction on 3rd party payments will solve a lot of pay issues...

Agreed. Guys like SBW and Gasnier would be earning seven figures if they could get sponsorship. The profile of the game would also increase massively if their mugs were all over the media.

Munky

SBW I think is quite marketable but how many other players?

Most have the charisma of wet paint and no third party in their right mind would throw cash at them.

Just imagine more of those terrible ads with the Broncos from a few years back.

To the Parra fans out there that might know better, is your club in deep sh*t at the moment?
I don't know if Fitzgerald is just on another rant here but he's been sounding increasingly desperate lately.

DeeJ

Most have the charisma of wet paint and no third party in their right mind would throw cash at them.

If you are talking about the NRMA ads they are still going on up in Brisbane. The most recent ones feature brilliant Tonie Carroll's acting.

macavity

local TV up here is full of ads with Knights players, for everything from real estate to cars to concrete to scaffolding. most are actually not that bad.

Noa

Good god ,WORST.IDEA.EVER.

This clown will come up with any idea that keeps him from actually doing the job of a 21st century CEO.

dimitri

reduce the number of players in each team's top squad by 1-2 players!

keep the cap the same.

add extra teams!

this allows the top players to be paid more as part of the cap!

the clubs who want to do something, will get themselves in order.

Hanscholo

Dennis Fitzgerald is a bigger idiot than i had imagined. Doesnt he realise that we compete in an ever increasing pool that draws from Rugby Union and ESL? We cant reduce the cap it needs to go up not down.

Hanscholo

If teams are struggling to survive then they dont have to use the entire cap...why should every team get punished??

Yea exactly. Dont spend your cap if you cant. This bitching and moaning about poker machine revenue is a disgrace. They are campaigning for something that is a blight on society so that they dont have to get off their asses and actually generate some income other than f**king grants.

Misty Bee

Obviously I can't and won't be done.

However, some reactions here suggest fans support players rather than their clubs. Personally, of the two choices, I'd rather sacrifice an overpaid gimp like SBW than my club.

I reckon that would have something to do with them being slaughtered by the media every time they open their mouth, + the media training/media bans they all receive these days.