Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What to do with Level 3 - Parramatta Leagues Club

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
if only i didn't deactivate my stalkbook account.
i was wondering where you went :fist:

Big Buck Hunter has people lining up to play it - There's one at the Albion in the sports bar, ch-ch-ch-check it out!

Bluebags1908

Ovo,

What strategies have you guys got in place to try to turn it around?

We have just opened the new RENO room with 76 machines in a new smoking area things are improving.
Things are tough at the moment with a lot of good people having financal problems.
OVO

Yodaeel,

I really can't believe I am reading this quote from you. Is that the best you can do? Simply add more poker machines?

Whilst there is no disputing that pokies have a place at any Leagues Club, it shouldn't be the main focus. The club has heavily and disproportionately relied on pokies as a financial silver bullet for far too long. The club needs to diversify its income streams and open up to and attract a more diversified clientele. It's about time we put some young dynamic, energetic, and 'can-do' business people on the board to run the club.

The club at the moment is just a mini casino and has alienated the footy fans. Unless you are a gambler the place is a boring hole. Adding pokies is just a quick fix for the dinosaurs to get easy financial return for minimum effort.

Time for a change and fresh blood otherwise with attitudes like this I fear for the future of the Parramatta club.

Yodaeel,

I really can't believe I am reading this quote from you. Is that the best you can do? Simply add more poker machines?

Whilst there is no disputing that pokies have a place at any Leagues Club, it shouldn't be the main focus. The club has heavily and disproportionately relied on pokies as a financial silver bullet for far too long. The club needs to diversify its income streams and open up to and attract a more diversified clientele. It's about time we put some young dynamic, energetic, and 'can-do' business people on the board to run the club.

The club at the moment is just a mini casino and has alienated the footy fans. Unless you are a gambler the place is a boring hole. Adding pokies is just a quick fix for the dinosaurs to get easy financial return for minimum effort.

Time for a change and fresh blood otherwise with attitudes like this I fear for the future of the Parramatta club.

I think you'll find that this is a very common opinion.
I think they'll pay for these types of attitudes at the Leagues Club election.

I'd still love to hear of all the "alternate revenue streams" that will solve the $6m problem

I reckon we should hire the $6m dollar man - then pull him apart and sell his bits .... problem solved :thumn

mickdo

I'd still love to hear of all the "alternate revenue streams" that will solve the $6m problem

I doubt you'll find any that will 'solve' it. But they might bring it down from a $6m problem to something more manageable. Better than just relying on the pokies.

yes, every bit counts - but alot of what ppl think are solutions are really just a small dent

another question .... when I went a few weeks ago, I think I saw that the sign in the lifts said that there is a pool in there .... is that true? .... does it make money? is it a waste of space?

Just to put it in perspective and something that hasn't been mentioned, Alan was asked by someone at the meeting, where PLC stood up against other licensed clubs in the state, from memory, he said they were the 4th best performing club and if that was the case? I wonder who were the 3 clubs in front of them, what was their bottom line and how did they do things differently?

let's get one thing straight, over the past week i've thought long and hard about how the club can improve it's bottom line given the challenges they face and I really can't see an easy fix at all and whilst improving one part of the club could cushion the bottom line, both the 3P and current board they're going to need more than that to recover the losses made in the past couple of years, infact i would go as far as saying that they would need revolutionise the way clubs operate and think to get the industry pumping again.

Just to put it in perspective and something that hasn't been mentioned, Alan was asked by someone at the meeting, where PLC stood up against other licensed clubs in the state, from memory, he said they were the 4th best performing club and if that was the case? I wonder who were the 3 clubs in front of them, what was their bottom line and how did they do things differently?

let's get one thing straight, over the past week i've thought long and hard about how the club can improve it's bottom line given the challenges they face and I really can't see an easy fix at all and whilst improving one part of the club could cushion the bottom line, both the 3P and current board they're going to need more than that to recover the losses made in the past couple of years, infact i would go as far as saying that they would need revolutionise the way clubs operate and think to get the industry pumping again.

So, constantly whinging about the pokies tax and smoking laws, and talking about amalgamation isn't the way forward??

no it's not and we've all established that theory, I personaly want to look beyond that and see who has the right model to revolutionise the club industry as we know it.

Yodaeel

The Clubs are
THE MOUNTIES..BANKSTOWN SPORTS (no NRL teams) and THE BULLDOGS who have the largest ethnic population who enjoy the Poker machines.