Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Only 11,000 at Parramatta's First Home Game

Didgi

I tip my hat to him. Sounds like a top bloke and good passionate fan. More of that would be great. The australian sporting culture is sh*t imo. Sit down and shut up... No thanks

Our culture is great. In England and other countries (with the possible exception of India - Cricket) the supporters ar no where near as supportive and passionate as here, we need tto keep it up and it is fans like him who show us to keep cheering when our team is down.

Are we TRUE BLUE or FAIRWEATHER supporters?

I'm planning to lose my Canberra Stadium v-plates in R7
:D

Knightmare

No way, no team can ever beat canberra in the "battle of the stands".:lol:

I think that, from this week onwards, Big League and RLW should print the 'Battle of the stands' table next to the NRL Competition ladder. Parramatta would seemingly be coming last with 0 points, while Canberra would be on top of the ladder undefeated, with Raiduh the games' leading point scorer! :p

MsStorm

Powederinger and Kings Of Leon are great bands and very popular, but...

Comparing to AC/DC? As in multiple record-breaking artists and legendary hard rock act AC/DC?

Please.

I wasn't comparing those bands to AC/DC...just stating that Loudy thought the Kings of Leon were a pub band.

I think that, from this week onwards, Big League and RLW should print the 'Battle of the stands' table next to the NRL Competition ladder. Parramatta would seemingly be coming last with 0 points, while Canberra would be on top of the ladder undefeated, with Raiduh the games' leading point scorer! :p

Parra would be stone motherless last in that table. But im like sean rudder or that forgettable brisbane half from their respective premiership teams. Im made to look good by those around me. So i wouldn't be top 50 in the point scoring dept. :lol:

ByRd

No one said anything to suggest it cant or hasn't happened. Its just pretty rare. The sharkies lads and the dragons on their day give us a bloody good challenge. Im pumped for round 5!
As for that last round dogs game. We were poor imo, particularly in the second half when the game was won and we were score board watching figuring out weather we were off to shark park or brookie the following week in the semi's. Hopefully the dogs fans travel in numbers round 7, we've got a bus from sydney full of raiders fans to boost numbers so it should be a beauty.
lol well be traveling down and it should be good, cant wait. Love our away games

I tip my hat to him. Sounds like a top bloke and good passionate fan. More of that would be great. The australian sporting culture is sh*t imo. Sit down and shut up... No thanks

Ken Oaff, mate! Totally agree. You go watch your team and everyone is sitting quietly. Stay at home in that case I reckon.

Parra would be stone motherless last in that table. But im like sean rudder or that forgettable brisbane half from their respective premiership teams. Im made to look good by those around me. So i wouldn't be top 50 in the point scoring dept. :lol:

Hard to disagree with that, too. It sucks going to Parra Stadium when the Eels are struggling because nobody else goes, and those who do are dead quiet.

Our culture is great. In England and other countries (with the possible exception of India - Cricket) the supporters ar no where near as supportive and passionate as here,

I take it you've never watched sport in england? I've heard 1500 English RL fans make more noise and atmosphere than 15,000 at an NRL game!

Is it just me, or do smaller crowds seem to make more noise?

Case in point: when the Eels beat Cronulla 74-4 a few years back they only attracted about 6 or 7 thousand to the game, but watching the replay on TV it sounded louder than the game on Saturday.

Now, granted - thrashing a team and making breaks and scoring points at will is more exciting than the game we saw on Saturday. But the level of noise was baffling that night.

homo man

Some of the nrl chants suck,take parra's for instance so creative......PARRA PARRA PARRA compared to england were crap.

Knightmare

I was thinking more a Geoff Toovey- a small bloke who pisses other people off, makes alot of noise and punches above his weight :p

Ok so by your logic Powderfinger, Silverchair, pretty much any Australian band is not only worse than but crap compared to Madonna or Cher or Kylie because they have bigger fan bases and would attract a bigger crowd. It's like the people that try to say Titanic is the best movie of all time because it's the highest grossing. Mate you're dead set clueless and you just can't admit that you're wrong. You = Fail.
LOL. Cher. That the best you can do? How about Barry Manilow? :lol:
AC/DC is an Australian band - came from Sydney....no - you can't cull a band.

Silverchair were decent until they went soft.

This whole argument is about how many fans attended the Kings of Leon gig in Melbourne - you still haven't posts a crowd figure. You have given clumsy argumments that johnnuy come lately flash in the pan bands are so much more popular than the multi million album selling veterans.

Which pub did they play in again?

Loudy has no idea about current day music or how big Kings of Leon, Powderfinger, etc, are...
No. So tell me. Crowd at Melboring gig?

Powederinger and Kings Of Leon are great bands and very popular, but...

Comparing to AC/DC? As in multiple record-breaking artists and legendary hard rock act AC/DC?

Please.

Sorry - over 18=old fart who knows nothing. Kings of Leon are the biggest and best band ever. You know they are so big, they stopped people going to the footy? I wonder if really ancient dinosaur bands like, umm Korn, Jet, etc were ever as big.

otori

LOL. Cher. That the best you can do? How about Barry Manilow? :lol:
AC/DC is an Australian band - came from Sydney....no - you can't cull a band.

Silverchair were decent until they went soft.

This whole argument is about how many fans attended the Kings of Leon gig in Melbourne - you still haven't posts a crowd figure. You have given clumsy argumments that johnnuy come lately flash in the pan bands are so much more popular than the multi million album selling veterans.

Which pub did they play in again?

No the whole argument was about you saying that Kings of Leon were a nuffy pub band and then you've tried to turn it around about 3 or 4 times because you can't prove they are. :lol: I don't care how many people went. My arguments were nothing to do with new bands vs old bands apart from pointing out that Kings of Leon are both popular and successful which they are + pointing out the holes in your flawed logic that if one band is successful then they are instantly better than another.

So how bout you actually address my argument instead of telling me what you think I said and then arguing against that.

Ypour argument? That KOL are big because you said so?

Again, he whole argument is about the KOL gig stopping people going to the Storm game - how else would it be relevent in a RL thread you dope?

Still waiting on a crowd figure. Oh yeah, massive band - just no one knows where they were playing and no one seems to have gone. :lol: