Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Only 11,000 at Parramatta's First Home Game

Good to see a full ground at any venue. That's what happens when you schedule a Sydney v Sydney game at a time people can actually commit to getting to (Public Holiday, normal Friday nights suck with people going after work).

Bring back the Sunday arvo culture, with dates known at the start of the year, and crowds will improve.

Billythekid

excuses. AFL pre season. Dragons fans, Kings of Leon blah blah blah.

I never used those excuses for the storms crowds:?

Not to mention there is a difference between excuses and reasons. AFL pre season and kings of Leon are excuses (lame ones). Close to half the crowd being Dragons fans, and the game being played on a public holiday aren't excuses, they're reasons.

Face it, stats don't lie.

In a way. So i'm sure you will bump this thread every time Parramatta draw a crowd of 10,000 or so? Of course you wont.

When you face someone like the dogs though i'm sure you will be quick to come back here talking up a big 'parra' crowd.

Right now you can continue to rely on away fans keeping your yearly averages ahead of the storm. Problem with this is it makes Parra's crowds stagnant, and unless something changes you are relying on other teams to grow your average. Storm on the other hand don't really get away fans, so the club will continue to push to get as many home fans as it can.

Within a year even with other Sydney clubs propping up your average you won't be able to match the storm.

big boppa eel

I never used those excuses for the storms crowds:?

Not to mention there is a difference between excuses and reasons. AFL pre season and kings of Leon are excuses (lame ones). Close to half the crowd being Dragons fans, and the game being played on a public holiday aren't excuses, they're reasons.

In a way. So i'm sure you will bump this thread every time Parramatta draw a crowd of 10,000 or so? Of course you wont.

When you face someone like the dogs though i'm sure you will be quick to come back here talking up a big 'parra' crowd.

Right now you can continue to rely on away fans keeping your yearly averages ahead of the storm. Problem with this is it makes Parra's crowds stagnant, and unless something changes you are relying on other teams to grow your average. Storm on the other hand don't really get away fans, so the club will continue to push to get as many home fans as it can.

Within a year even with other Sydney clubs propping up your average you won't be able to match the storm.
I wonder would all the Storm fans be so cocky if News pulled out, some how I think not, because in these times anything can happen.

Billythekid

I wonder would all the Storm fans be so cocky if News pulled out, some how I think not, because in these times anything can happen.

Well if it doesn't happen soon i.e within a year or two it really won't matter. We will be drawing bigger crowds than most if not all Sydney teams and we get more sponsorship money than pretty much any other team.

I feel very confident about the future of the storm even if news ltd eventually pull out. We may have to cut back in certain areas but we would survive.

Also i live in Newcastle and i have a knights season ticket, and unlike many other fans on this board i wouldn't stop watching league if the storm folded because i love the GAME not just my team.

You got figures for the amount of Saints fans last night? Or just full of sh*t like the morons blaming Kings of Leon who couldn't produce stats?

Billythekid

You got figures for the amount of Saints fans last night? Or just full of sh*t like the morons blaming Kings of Leon who couldn't produce stats?

Ok well about this, instead of coming in here and talking sh*te constantly why don't you put your money where your mouth is?

Stats don't lie right? Well come back to this thread and keep on posting parra's crowds for the year. We will see how much they draw against teams who don't carry them with their away support and then u can say i'm full of sh*te. However when parra goes back to drawing terrible crowds again you will be the one eating crow not me.

Oh and i'm not the only one who thinks this, go into the crowd watch thread. In there you have other people who think the same including 2 parra fans. So don't try and make out like what i'm saying is just bias you ignorant wanker.

Well, you make the allegations you can't back up, not me.

Saints fans outnumbered Parra fans. OK. Prove it.

Kings of Leon crowds inhibited Storms crowds v St George. OK, again, prove it.

What you are saying is just bias, unless it's backed up by some facts. Picking and chosing what other people think to suit your dumb argument does not back up anything, apart from the fact that you are fighting a factual argument without facts. May as well have fought at the Somme without bullets.

Loudstrat, you can come out all guns blazing, or you can admit that Parramatta have a crowd problem. Friday night was great, but was undoubtedly boosted by the willing-to-travel Dragons fans. But it's not going to be the norm. We now don't have the luxury of Good Friday until April 2010, and Parramatta have a plethora of Channel Nine games coming up over the next 10 or so weeks.

I personally believe, and the same with Cronulla, it's a results based thing and also based on how the team plays footy.

We'll see if they have a crowd problem after a few more home games.

Still, I'm stuffed how a home game with 19000 represents a crowd problem. Only needed 983 more fans to be sold out.

If they got capacity, is that a crowd problem?

Didgi

We'll see if they have a crowd problem after a few more home games.

Still, I'm stuffed how a home game with 19000 represents a crowd problem. Only needed 983 more fans to be sold out.

If they got capacity, is that a crowd problem?

;-) Yep. Because there would have been claims that all the fans were Dragons.

Noone said it did, we're saying the 11,000 last time does. You'll escape scrutiny for another two weeks as we'll bring our fans to the party next Sunday.

Well, it's the first time in history where a stadium has 95% capacity and there is a crowd problem. :crazy:

BTW, only 10 000 at Olympic Park last night. But that's acceptable. :roll:

Didgi

:roll: A crowd isn't going to be made up 100% of home fans, of course there will be a large percentage of away fans, especially in a Sydney v Sydney game.

NOONE IS SAYING FRIDAY IS A CROWD PROBLEM!

You're either the most ignorant poster on this forum, or just to arrogant to have a serious debate and concede that Parra sometimes struggles to draw a crowd.