Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Future A League Clubs.

Sparky 74

Now that the Melbourne Heart has join the A League & the Sydney Rovers are to join next year.

My question is does it stop there or should the A League expand into other areas, if so where & what should they be named.

My Ideas

> Drop the Sydney Rover name & called the new Sydney team GWS Rovers

> Geelong - Geelong Rangers

> Woolongong - South Coast FC (I think they are in the NSW comp)

> Canberra - ACT United - or Capital City FC

> Hobart - Tasmania Devils FC

> Sunshine Coast - East Coast FC

> 2nd Adelaide Team - Port Adelaide Dockers

> 2nd Perth/WA team - Fremantle City

> 2nd NZ team - Auckland Football Kingz to make a come back

20 team comp or a 2 tier 10 team comp

GWS is a name for Western Sydney coined by Victorians. Nobody ever has and ever will call Western Sydney GWS

Sorry dude but thats a terrible idea. Gold Coast & NQ have failed miserably as have half the original clubs in the league. They expanded waaay too quick. The league was barely stable and now they have 4 new clubs, all 4 will end up bankrupt within the next 5 yrs.

weasel

Once Sydney comes in I would like to see it remain at a stable 12 teams for about five years (until 2015 or 2016), but in the event that we do win the rights to host the 2022 World Cup, I wanna see some serious thought into some sort of ten year plan for the A-League, to take full advantage of the opportunities of attracting new followers, players, commercial opportunities, etc to the sport.

My vision would be to have an expansion to either 14 or 16 teams at the midpoint of the decade, and then with about five years to go before the world cup introduce a second tier competition made up of clubs from the various state leagues (as well as any other remaining viable regional franchises) which could exist separately from the A-League for a number of years before introducing a relegation/promotion system between the two leagues when it finally comes time to host the World Cup.

If we made this kind of plan within the next year or so, and gave potential candidates for this second tier comp a good six or seven years to plan and apply for the league then it could be successful. Bring in clubs like Marconi, Brisbane Strikers, Melbourne Knights who still have existing fan bases and are recognised in the local community, and regional places like Tasmania and Sunshine Coast, have them playing in lower cost venues to minimise expenses.

Of course one sticking point in my masterplan is what to do about New Zealand. In an ideal world the Kiwis, along with the rest of Oceania, would join up with Asia, to solve any issues of out-of-confederation clubs playing in our league. I'm in favour of an expanded NZ presence in our league, for one I think it's just madness that a city as big as Auckland should be excluded as a potential market just because of some failures under unfavourable circumstances. And I wouldn't mind a team from Christchurch included as well, and of course even teams from the NZ local league, such as Waitakere United, could be considered for the Second Tier competition.

skeepe

Sydney Rovers should never have received the 12th spot.

Canberra were easily the best bid out of the lot, and were ahead on all fronts. Even now, the Sydney Rovers still don't have the required money ffs.

I hope they fold in their first season, show the FFA what a bunch of muppets they are and really shove it in their faces for passing on a team that was ready to go in favour of a bid that had been together for all of 1 week when granted the license.

Nevan_

Once the Rovers come in, we should hold off for a couple of years.

So Canberra, South Coast and Tasmania have time to get their act together.

weasel

Sydney Rovers should never have received the 12th spot.

Canberra were easily the best bid out of the lot, and were ahead on all fronts. Even now, the Sydney Rovers still don't have the required money ffs.

I hope they fold in their first season, show the FFA what a bunch of muppets they are and really shove it in their faces for passing on a team that was ready to go in favour of a bid that had been together for all of 1 week when granted the license.

I think I've read this identical post from you about 1000 times, I guess you do have 13,000 posts on here.

Look, I want Canberra in the league, and if we win the World Cup hosting rights they're a certainty, what with the stadium that'll be built down there, but just be patient please. Sydney is a huge market so it's a calculated risk for a league that needs to take things in baby steps at the moment but still has pressure to expand (but externally-Asian Confederation, and internally- competition with other codes, needing to capitalise on football's growing profile), so another regional centre offering crowds of 5000 isn't a good idea. Wait five years, if we have the World Cup hosting rights and crowd averages are steady then it'll be Canberra's turn.

skeepe

I think I've read this identical post from you about 1000 times, I guess you do have 13,000 posts on here.

Look, I want Canberra in the league, and if we win the World Cup hosting rights they're a certainty, what with the stadium that'll be built down there, but just be patient please. Sydney is a huge market so it's a calculated risk for a league that needs to take things in baby steps at the moment but still has pressure to expand (but externally-Asian Confederation, and internally- competition with other codes, needing to capitalise on football's growing profile), so another regional centre offering crowds of 5000 isn't a good idea. Wait five years, if we have the World Cup hosting rights and crowd averages are steady then it'll be Canberra's turn.

So you would prefer a Sydney team with crowds of 5,000? I guarantee you that Canberra would have beat whatever crowd the Sydney Rovers can come up with.

Equally, it appears you would prefer a team that isn't anywhere near getting their finances in order with less than a year to go to entry, over one that had ticked pretty much all the boxes over 12 months ago.

Good luck with that. Peanut.

Big Sam

I'd be maintaining the current 12 teams until the season we host the Asian Cup (2014-15) when Canberra and South Coast/Wollongong would be included to give us a 14 team league.

The rest of the cities who want a team should form a new 2nd division with eventual promotion/relegation.

Nevan_

The problems with NQFC and GCU are that they're run by incompetent f**ktards.

jc155776

NQ Fury will average decent crowds.

The Merch sales and community support is pretty good.

The problem was the bloated way it was run last year. We will come good.

Tassie should have been given a team before Melbourne and Sydney got a second team.

Tassie has NO national sporting team. Football is massive there and the Tassie government would chip in heaps to upgrading and stadia required.

tiburon

Tassie has NO national sporting team. Football is massive there and the Tassie government would chip in heaps to upgrading and stadia required.

105a369.png