Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured/Confirmed Signings 2010/2011

boxhead

Boxhead.... No offence but I am pretty confident you are just using the rumours you find on this site.

99% of those have no legs to them.. They are just nonsense

No, I heard this rumour somewhere else actually. So don't be 'pretty confident' I just hear them from here. I don't have "inside sources" like many people have anyway, so what difference does it make that I report potential signing rumours to a thread about rumoured signings? I'm trying to tell people of stuff that may potentially happen, like everyone else does, I don't see why we have to be called out about it when we are just trying to report what we hear.

No offence buddy, but reading your post is right up there with banding my head against a wall.

I'm reporting what I hear mate, if you notice I keep saying in all my posts 'don't quote me on this, I don't believe it is true'; I am merely reporting what I am hearing, like everyone on this site does when they hear news in concerns to Parramatta.

I do however understand you are both tired of all these rumours popping up everywhere ;-) I am sick of them too, but my job is to report what I hear, so I do apologize if that annoys you.

Thanks Jodeci by the way.

sooperdooper

No, I heard this rumour somewhere else actually. So don't be 'pretty confident' I just hear them from here. I don't have "inside sources" like many people have anyway, so what difference does it make that I report potential signing rumours to a thread about rumoured signings? I'm trying to tell people of stuff that may potentially happen, like everyone else does, I don't see why we have to be called out about it when we are just trying to report what we hear.

I'm reporting what I hear mate, if you notice I keep saying in all my posts 'don't quote me on this, I don't believe it is true'; I am merely reporting what I am hearing, like everyone on this site does when they hear news in concerns to Parramatta.

I do however understand you are both tired of all these rumours popping up everywhere ;-) I am sick of them too, but my job is to report what I hear, so I do apologize if that annoys you.

Thanks Jodeci by the way.

It is the way the report it.. you report it as if it comes from a reliable source eg: Inside info.

You are just putting in this thread any BS heard on other sections of this forum...

I appreciate the effort your putting in but alot of it is misguided nonsense

boxhead

It is the way the report it.. you report it as if it comes from a reliable source eg: Inside info.

You are just putting in this thread any BS heard on other sections of this forum...

I appreciate the effort your putting in but alot of it is misguided nonsense

Ok sorry if it comes off that way, but actually I am reporting stuff I hear on other forums, radio, T.V. and so on. Most of the time though, people have already posted these rumours and I end up posting the quieter 'BS' ones :)
No worries by the way.....the thing is though, you never know when a rumour can turn out to be true. I don't think many people expected us to re-sign Justin Horo after the whole blow-up happened, and I doubt any of us would have thought we would sign Carl Webb or Reni Maitua, but they did happen.

Of course, 99% of all rumours are BS so guess we just have to wait for official confirmation before we believe them :) You would be surprised at the amount of rumours we hear on reputable radio sources that turn out incorrect actually.....that is where I hear a lot of my rumours as well.

sooperdooper

Ok sorry if it comes off that way, but actually I am reporting stuff I hear on other forums, radio, T.V. and so on. Most of the time though, people have already posted these rumours and I end up posting the quieter 'BS' ones :)
No worries by the way.....the thing is though, you never know when a rumour can turn out to be true. I don't think many people expected us to re-sign Justin Horo after the whole blow-up happened, and I doubt any of us would have thought we would sign Carl Webb or Reni Maitua, but they did happen.

Of course, 99% of all rumours are BS so guess we just have to wait for official confirmation before we believe them :) You would be surprised at the amount of rumours we hear on reputable radio sources that turn out incorrect actually.....that is where I hear a lot of my rumours as well.

just an idea, possibly mention where the rumour is from?

attamarrap

But then takes all the fun out of it :p

Ok sure, that's what I'm supposed to do anyway.
dont worry mate it's a rumors thread no need for concrete evidence i'm always reading i dont take it as gospel dont worry about the people having a go at you keep up the good work :D

boxhead

No worries attamarrap glad I could help :)

Ok guys I can't edit my list anymore, so I'll start quoting it instead.
Here are some updates;

Our confirmed signings for season 2010/2011 include;

Carl Webb - Cowboys Prop
Brad Murray - NYC Roosters Halfback
Paki Afu - NYC Bulldogs Prop/2nd Row
Manase Manoukafoa - Qld Cup Cowboys Prop
Marmin Barba - NYC Bulldogs Fullback/Utility
Reni Maitua - Un-signed (drug ban)

Signings that are very likely to happen;

Matt Orford - Bradford Bulls Halfback
Phil Graham - Roosters Winger/Centre

Rumoured signings (recently; one's that have legs on them) include;

Cooper Cronk - Storm Halfback
Cameron Bruest - NYC Raiders Halfback - Confirmed apparently, will update when report comes out.
Braith Anasta - Roosters Lock/Five-Eighth - Strange rumour, at this stage it's only a "we approached him" rumour.
Jordan Atkins - Titans Winger
Grant Rovelli - Cowboys Halfback/Five-Eighth
Craig Gower - One of those "us or Canberra" rumours.

Re-signed (can people please confirm some of these; obviously more of them);
Daniel Mortimer
Jacob Loko
Ken Sio
Luke Burt
Justin Horo
Eric Grothe Junior

The coach position has a lot of rumours, varying between Anderson, Kearney and Stuart.
Thanks again to all of our sources and friends, this list wouldn't be possible without you guys!

And apparently the Trent Barrett situation is not over.

parra pete

If Trent Barrett signs with the Eels, I'm putting in for the cushy job he has landed himself in Temora, tomorrow..

Gordy

Originally Posted by boxhead

I heard on the BSB this morning that Canberra had given up on Orford as Bradford wouldn't release him.

HIghlands Fling

If Trent Barrett signs with the Eels, I'm putting in for the cushy job he has landed himself in Temora, tomorrow..
Trent is no longer moving back to Temora. St Anne's (the school his daughter was off to) have been told she isn't coming because he has got a job in Sydney. No hints as to what it is but I reckon he'll be coaching at the Sharks.

Maroubra Eel

Is there any more info on the rumours of Willie Mason coming to the Eels? Or what about Thurston?

Would the cowboys release Thurston after his latest antics?

cgee221

Is there any more info on the rumours of Willie Mason coming to the Eels? Or what about Thurston?

Mason has signed with HulL KR and Thurston is subject to a board meeting that has been postponed.

boxhead

Mason has signed with HulL KR and Thurston is subject to a board meeting that has been postponed.

Thanks.

There's no way the Cowboys will ever sack Thurston, unless he does something completely moronic and humiliating for the club.....

parra pete

Trent is no longer moving back to Temora. St Anne's (the school his daughter was off to) have been told she isn't coming because he has got a job in Sydney. No hints as to what it is but I reckon he'll be coaching at the Sharks.

Well I'll be....I'm off to Temora...:lol:

Former Wagga Kangaroos junior Cameron Breust will be heading to Sydney next year to play with Parramatta Eels, after signing with the Eels to play in their under 20 NRL team.
The next few months will be busy for the 19-year-old who was selected in the Australian University rugby league team for its overseas tour in November.
Breust has been named as five-eighth in the touring side which will play representative games in France and England.
I spoke with the up-coming halves player, while he was relaxing at home with his family, about his move from Canberra to Sydney and his new club the Eels.
http://www.abc.net.au/local/audio/2010/09/06/3003791.htm?site=riverina&section=sport

http://www.abc.net.au/local/audio/2010/08/23/2990713.htm?site=riverina

NSW Blues player Trent Barrett, is looking forward to returning to his home town of Temora after being away for 16 years.
The 31-year-old former Illawarra, St George Illawarra and Wigan (Super League) star, who has announced his retirement from playing at the top level, talks about why he has called it quits and his decision to return to Temora to focus on family.

mrpwnd

No way in hell would cowboys do something that stupid.
He could go around raping people and still be in the club, that's how important he is for the Cowboys.
But if he does get let go, I say throw everything at him.

boxhead

Just curiously boxhead, how old are you?

Why do you ask? I hope I didn't offend you with that comment, if I did sorry. :)
My age varies by the way :sarcasm:

No way in hell would cowboys do something that stupid.
He could go around raping people and still be in the club, that's how important he is for the Cowboys.
But if he does get let go, I say throw everything at him.

Yes and yes. Not to the raping, but yes.

A rumour on the other site is that Craig Gower will be announced to have signed next week with the Eels, and management will decide between Trent Barrett and Matt Orford as well; the preferred option is Barrett, and we are waiting on him telling us if he will come out of retirement, and if not we will sign Orford.

Interesting rumour, but as always, don't believe till you see pen and paper from management.

Originally Posted by boxhead
Our confirmed signings for season 2010/2011 include;

Carl Webb - Cowboys Prop
Brad Murray - NYC Roosters Halfback
Paki Afu - NYC Bulldogs Prop/2nd Row
Manase Manoukafoa - Qld Cup Cowboys Prop
Marmin Barba - NYC Bulldogs Fullback/Utility
Reni Maitua - Un-signed (drug ban)

Signings that are very likely to happen;

Phil Graham - Roosters Winger/Centre

Rumoured signings (recently; one's that have legs on them) include;

Cooper Cronk - Storm Halfback
Cameron Bruest - NYC Raiders Halfback - Confirmed apparently, will update when report comes out.
Braith Anasta - Roosters Lock/Five-Eighth - Strange rumour, at this stage it's only a "we approached him" rumour.
Jordan Atkins - Titans Winger
Grant Rovelli - Cowboys Halfback/Five-Eighth
Craig Gower - One of those "us or Canberra" rumours.
Trent Barrett - Out of retirement.

Re-signed (can people please confirm some of these; obviously more of them);
Daniel Mortimer
Jacob Loko
Ken Sio
Luke Burt
Justin Horo
Eric Grothe Junior

The coach position has a lot of rumours, varying between Anderson, Kearney and Stuart.
Thanks again to all of our sources and friends, this list wouldn't be possible without you guys!