Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

halves for next year?

ParraFan09

if that failes i hope that Kearney gives
6. M. Barba
7. Murray
a go next year even if its just for a game or 2.

Schiltzenberger

Who knows?
Kearney might try Humble at 5/8, or Murray at 7.
Maybe we sign Orford.
Anything can happen.

6. Humble/Morts
7. Orford??/Murray/Robson

Although, if we start round 1 with Morts and Robson I'll feel like stabbing myself in the eye with a rusty knife.:(
If that's our halves pairing for the majority of the year then Kearney will be earning his money, and we will struggle again.

boxhead

if that failes i hope that Kearney gives
6. M. Barba
7. Murray
a go next year even if its just for a game or 2.

I think Marmin Barba has not even debuted in Toyota Cup yet, whilst I can't wait for him to come into first-grade unfortunately it will be a few years at least before he gets a shot at first grade, but then again Jacob Loko is apparently already being primed for an NRL debut next year.....anything is possible I guess.

Who knows?
Kearney might try Humble at 5/8, or Murray at 7.
Maybe we sign Orford.
Anything can happen.

6. Humble/Morts
7. Orford??/Murray/Robson

Although, if we start round 1 with Morts and Robson I'll feel like stabbing myself in the eye with a rusty knife.:(
If that's our halves pairing for the majority of the year then Kearney will be earning his money, and we will struggle again.

We aren't guaranteed to struggle if Mortimer and Robson are the halves, they turned it on in 2009 didn't they? They have proven they can do the job, whether they can do it again of course is the $850,000 question.

If we don't get Orford, I'm thinking that if you stick Daniel Mortimer at five-eighth, you need someone experienced and natural at the halfback role; Casey Mcguire fits the bill perfectly.
Ditto for Brad Murray at halfback, we will need someone experienced with him at five-eighth, again Mcguire or Maitua (when he comes back) can fill this role, or Hayne if really necessary....

Depends on what Kearney wants to do and whether or not we get Orford. The good thing about recruiting Casey Mcguire is that we have a very good option for depth or for being our halfback if Orford gets injured or doesn't sign.

ParraFan09

We aren't guaranteed to struggle if Mortimer and Robson are the halves, they turned it on in 2009 didn't they? They have proven they can do the job, whether they can do it again of course is the $850,000 question.

If we don't get Orford, I'm thinking that if you stick Daniel Mortimer at five-eighth, you need someone experienced and natural at the halfback role; Casey Mcguire fits the bill perfectly.
Ditto for Brad Murray at halfback, we will need someone experienced with him at five-eighth, again Mcguire or Maitua (when he comes back) can fill this role, or Hayne if really necessary....

Depends on what Kearney wants to do and whether or not we get Orford. The good thing about recruiting Casey Mcguire is that we have a very good option for depth or for being our halfback if Orford gets injured or doesn't sign.
If we do go with robson & morts hopefully Kearney will play robson at 7 and morts at 6 like it was in 09, and i agree with what you said about mcguire, although i think he will be our hooker next year. but i disagree about maitua at 5/8 if murray is played at half i would have mcguire or robson outside him, we have a fair few options in the halves for next season when you think about so hopefully hayne doesnt have to play 6!

Maguire is a utility who is probably past it. Matua is a lock backrower with the ball skills to play 5'8th when he was at his peak, but let's face it it would be a miracle if he comes back and plays regularly first grade let alone plays the type of footy he did in '04 to '05. He'll be lucky to nab a bench spot for next year. No way should anyone be hopeful of him coming back and being our starting 5'8th cause it's not going to happen. If not Orford, the four hats thrown into the ring will be Robson, Humble, Murray, and Mortimor. I wouldn't be overly confident of any guarenteeing to do the job, but form can change quickly.

yy_cheng

1. Reddy/Humble
2. Burt
3. Tahu
4. Humble/Reddy
5. Grothe
6. Hayne
7. Robson unless Murray can really prove himself in the preseason and trials but I would not give him a run at the start of the season
8. Poore
9. Macguire
10. Fui
11. Hindy
12. Smith
13. Horo/Shackleton

14. Mitchell
15. Webb
16. Mannah
17. Shack/Horo/Reni

I reckon Humble would be like when Kenny played in the centres.

I know he plays fullback as well but he was dreadful in the game he played fullback.

Sorry Daniel no room mate.

boxhead

If we do go with robson & morts hopefully Kearney will play robson at 7 and morts at 6 like it was in 09, and i agree with what you said about mcguire, although i think he will be our hooker next year. but i disagree about maitua at 5/8 if murray is played at half i would have mcguire or robson outside him, we have a fair few options in the halves for next season when you think about so hopefully hayne doesnt have to play 6!

I can agree with that definitely.

Maguire is a utility who is probably past it. Matua is a lock backrower with the ball skills to play 5'8th when he was at his peak, but let's face it it would be a miracle if he comes back and plays regularly first grade let alone plays the type of footy he did in '04 to '05. He'll be lucky to nab a bench spot for next year. No way should anyone be hopeful of him coming back and being our starting 5'8th cause it's not going to happen. If not Orford, the four hats thrown into the ring will be Robson, Humble, Murray, and Mortimor. I wouldn't be overly confident of any guarenteeing to do the job, but form can change quickly.

I do see what you mean, I'm just being a bit over-positive you might say; Maitua and Mcguire are just options we may use.
I know what you mean, sadly we will have to find a halves combo to start with in the trials that Kearney wants and thinks will work and stick with it, this year sadly proved that changing the halves all the time for the better doesn't bring success :(

1. Reddy/Humble
2. Burt
3. Tahu
4. Humble/Reddy
5. Grothe
6. Hayne
7. Robson unless Murray can really prove himself in the preseason and trials but I would not give him a run at the start of the season
8. Poore
9. Macguire
10. Fui
11. Hindy
12. Smith
13. Horo/Shackleton

14. Mitchell
15. Webb
16. Mannah
17. Shack/Horo/Reni

I know he plays fullback as well but he was dreadful in the game he played fullback.

I like that side, however I think if you don't start Webb immediately and let him prove himself, the bench may be 14. Mitchell, 15. Horo, 16. Mannah, 17. Shackleton which allows a lot of flexibility as well, as the Shack can play prop and second row and Horo can play second row, lock and centre.
Depends on what you want I think, I believe Webb has the potential to be a great buy, but at the same time I know it could go either way.....

The problem I think is what happens, we have so many options next year for our 14 spot, with Mcguire, Mitchell, Maitua, Robson, Mortimer, Humble, Murray, etc.....it's crazy.

mrpwnd

6. Humble/Barba
7. Murray
9. Mortimer(I say give him a crack, he did better than MK)
14. Mitchell - comes in after Morts has soaked up the opposition attack at the end of each half.

I can't say i'm expecting Murray to come in and be able to structure and guide the team around the park straight off the bat, but it'll be interesting to see the development over a mid-length period.

mrpwnd

1. Reddy/Humble
2. Burt
3. Tahu
4. Humble/Reddy
5. Grothe
6. Hayne
8. Poore
9. Macguire
10. Fui
11. Hindy
12. Smith
13. Horo/Shackleton

14. Mitchell
15. Webb
16. Mannah
17. Shack/Horo/Reni

Still at it huh? :p
I'd like to see that if we do poorly with another halves combo after the pre-season.

84 Baby

6. Humble/Barba
7. Murray
9. Mortimer(I say give him a crack, he did better than MK)
14. Mitchell - comes in after Morts has soaked up the opposition attack at the end of each half.

I can't say i'm expecting Murray to come in and be able to structure and guide the team around the park straight off the bat, but it'll be interesting to see the development over a mid-length period.
He's yet to play Toyota Cup yet everyone reckons he'll be starting 5/8th.
I've barely seen him play but from what I have seen and heard he could be the next Benji Marshall (after his brother).... in 5-10 years time.
Also his brother is an atrocious defender, Marmin is even smaller, does anyone honestly think he'd be less of a turnstile?

forward pass

We just can't have enough of these threads !!!!!!:roll:

lol at people putting Barba and Murray as halves !!!:lol:

Utey

We just can't have enough of these threads !!!!!!:roll:

lol at people putting Barba and Murray as halves !!!:lol:

Barba yes, but Murray hasn't been nabbed to play reserves I think. He will figure during the trials no doubt.

The Engineers Room

Again this forum seems to like to look with rose coloured glasses at the junior players. Barba no way, Humble needs more time at Wenty and I am unsure about Murray.

I think Robson/Mortimer is the best we have but they were good enough in 09 so maybe we just try and play like 09 with more running options for them and look for second phase.

Djay

Let's be honest here, I cannot imagine Robson and Mortimer doing what they did in 09 again. It's simple it was all off the back of Hayne. Even Todd Lowrie was playing excellent and I remember before the magical run how bad he was playing. Unless Hayne does that again and sparks the team like he did in 09 we are going to have a very gloom year if Robson and Morts are our halves.

Also I'm not a fan of chopping and changing our halves, I think Kearney has to decide in the trials who he wants as our halves if we don't get Orford and stick with it.

fish eel

The Murray love is pretty funny.

He wasn't even mentioned on here until we signed him and now he is starting half back