Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Robson Eels No.7

caylo

So the accusers of man-love for Mortimer, i.e. lingard, WOE and caylo can't accept it when they are accused of man-love for Humble by Springs, et al, and vice-versa?

This is a hilarious discussion :lol: "your wrong, no your wrong, shut up, no you shut up".
None of ya's can agree, stop acting like you know facts; i.e. " If Humble had been given as much of a go at first grade as Mortimer, we would be saying "Daniel who?"" How do you know that? It is biased claims like that which make both sides of the argument sound completely invalid.

First and for most, you have the biggest man crush on Mortz and as they say "those who live in glass houses shouldn't throw stones".

My comments weren't so much about humble as they are about Mortimer. If we had Barrett, Anasta, Mullens or Campese in our squad do you think I would want Humble in the number 6 jersey. ATM I think our two options at 5-8 are mortimer and humble and I am of the opinnion that Mortimer performances this season were at the standard of a Bundy Cup player and I think humble would be the better option.

People misinterprate chosing one player over another as man-love but it more or less who you think is better suited. At the end of the day this is a discussion forum and we are here to voice our opinnion, if you don't like it well don't read it.

boxhead

First and for most, you have the biggest man crush on Mortz and as they say "those who live in glass houses shouldn't throw stones".

My comments weren't so much about humble as they are about Mortimer. If we had Barrett, Anasta, Mullens or Campese in our squad do you think I would want Humble in the number 6 jersey. ATM I think our two options at 5-8 are mortimer and humble and I am of the opinnion that Mortimer performances this season were at the standard of a Bundy Cup player and I think humble would be the better option.

People misinterprate chosing one player over another as man-love but it more or less who you think is better suited. At the end of the day this is a discussion forum and we are here to voice our opinnion, if you don't like it well don't read it.

I don't mate, trust me. That is an assumption by people because I was sticking up for Mortimer all year. In reality I have not made a serious discussion in this topic for months. Each of my posts has been saying "good luck to whoever are the halves"? Yes the post sounded a bit rude, but really I'm just making a joke of the whole discussion (not the people mind you).
My post was again another light-hearted take on the matter, because really, this discussion has degenerated into a topic of "I'm right, no I'm right".

I'm happy for whoever the halves are really, sure I came off as a Mortimer man-lover earlier in the year but I'm not really. I like Mortimer as much as Robson, Hayne, Smith, etc. My favourite is and always will be Burt, really.

mrpwnd

Let's just all concede that despite Morts and Robson being given the start in the halves it could easily change throughout the season based on performances.

Whoever steps up in the 6 and the 7 has my complete support.

boxhead

Let's just all concede that despite Morts and Robson being given the start in the halves it could easily change throughout the season based on performances.

Whoever steps up in the 6 and the 7 has my complete support.

100% agree, the halves aren't guaranteed and whoever steps up gets my support :)

Wise Old Eel

Not only his effort but his all round skills.

I reckon he will be pushing for an origin spot this season and possibly a kangaroo jersey.

:lol: That's very funny!

I suppose we are all taking it a little too seriously at times but, when you are as passionate about your footy team as we are, it is difficult not to.

We all have our opinions but, in the end, we are all Parramatta Eels supporters and will cheer on whoever plays where ever.

From my point of view, I just hope players who are not performing do not get a free ride all season (ala 2010 with Mortimer).

WOE

So the accusers of man-love for Mortimer, i.e. lingard, WOE and caylo can't accept it when they are accused of man-love for Humble by Springs, et al, and vice-versa?

This is a hilarious discussion :lol: "your wrong, no your wrong, shut up, no you shut up".
None of ya's can agree, stop acting like you know facts; i.e. " If Humble had been given as much of a go at first grade as Mortimer, we would be saying "Daniel who?"" How do you know that? It is biased claims like that which make both sides of the argument sound completely invalid.

Young boxy, welcome to the forums!

I think Mortimer is one of the few who can hold their heads high after last season. Along with Horo and Fui and of course Hindmarsh and Hayne.

Ben Smith? No?

Hmm. Seems like I'm the only one who thinks he was awesome for us in the number 12. *shurgs* Oh, well.

mrpwnd

Ben Smith? No?

Hmm. Seems like I'm the only one who thinks he was awesome for us in the number 12. *shurgs* Oh, well.
Damn said it before me.
Now I look like the anti-Ben Smith here.
P.S. He needs to get all those sh*t penalties out though.

I agree that Mortimer had a shocking 2010. I like him because I admire blokes like Robson and himself - blokes who may not be the next Immortals, but they give 100% every time. I agree he shouldn't get a walk-up start unless pre-season form warrants it.

But IMO he does have some skill. It is true it has been showcased scarcely in his year and a half at the top level. But I have seen some glimpses of skill here and there that show me, at least, that he does have some skill. I hope Kearney can help him refine it.

I thought Benny was outstanding. Not just defensively - he was making strong runs on the edges and looking dangerous. He's our next Hindy IMO.

Anyway - I'm going to try and not go insane waiting for the footy to start. As bad a season as we might be in for, I'ma glutton for punishment.

mrpwnd

I thought Benny was outstanding. Not just defensively - he was making strong runs on the edges and looking dangerous. He's our next Hindy IMO.

Anyway - I'm going to try and not go insane waiting for the footy to start. As bad a season as we might be in for, I'ma glutton for punishment.
Too bad he somehow always pulls a stupid penalty from his ass.
He's definitely a much better back rower than in 09, runs better holes and VERY solid defense.

Too bad he somehow always pulls a stupid penalty from his ass.
He's definitely a much better back rower than in 09, runs better holes and VERY solid defense.

Totally agree. I hope he sorts his penalties issue out. He's developed into a very handy back-rower for us!

boxhead

Daniel Mortimer was speaking on FoxSports News in an interview, whilst at a Christmas charity event.

Key points;
*He said his preferred position is halfback but because he knows his main success came at five-eighth he will play where the coach tells him to.
*Says he believes he will use his lacklustre (he basically said that of himself) 2010 to dramatically improve his game, and he says he is working extremely hard on his passing, kicking and general halves play.
*He says he has regained a lot of confidence and it sounds like he believes he needs to step up for us to succeed (he sure does).
*Said that the coaching structure and the way the team will play suit him a lot more, he also mentioned (moreso was asked really) that he looked forward to being protected in defence by bigger players (in 2010 his side was a weakness in the defensive line, being paired with Mateo and Tahu).

He is very positive as always, and really sounds like he believes he can drastically improve his game.
Good luck to him, and good luck to the Eels in 2011. They are definitely going to need it.....

Daniel Mortimer was speaking on FoxSports News in an interview, whilst at a Christmas charity event.

Key points;
*He said his preferred position is halfback but because he knows his main success came at five-eighth he will play where the coach tells him to.
*Says he believes he will use his lacklustre (he basically said that of himself) 2010 to dramatically improve his game, and he says he is working extremely hard on his passing, kicking and general halves play.
*He says he has regained a lot of confidence and it sounds like he believes he needs to step up for us to succeed (he sure does).
*Said that the coaching structure and the way the team will play suit him a lot more, he also mentioned (moreso was asked really) that he looked forward to being protected in defence by bigger players (in 2010 his side was a weakness in the defensive line, being paired with Mateo and Tahu).

He is very positive as always, and really sounds like he believes he can drastically improve his game.
Good luck to him, and good luck to the Eels in 2011. They are definitely going to need it.....

Thanks for the updates, boxy.

I'm not surprised with Morts' attitude. It's that same attitude that convinces me he'll be a success.

mrpwnd

Thanks for the updates, boxy.

I'm not surprised with Morts' attitude. It's that same attitude that convinces me he'll be a success.
To be fair, I don't believe in things such as talent or untapped hidden potential.
As a violinist for 15 years I've always been a major believer that hard work and optimized training is the best.
Just this once, I'll pass this year off as a major shocker in form for Mortimer and who knows, with the right coaching and his current mentality something could happen.

To be fair, I don't believe in things such as talent or untapped hidden potential.
As a violinist for 15 years I've always been a major believer that hard work and optimized training is the best.

Just this once, I'll pass this year off as a major shocker in form for Mortimer and who knows, with the right coaching and his current mentality something could happen.

What do you mean? Surely talent and gifts play a part. Jeff Robson could train his heart out, but he'd never be able to develop the skills of Joey Johns. Similarly, some people arte naturally gifted to become brilliant guitarists or say painters, whereas others try as they just don't have those natural gifts.

mrpwnd

What do you mean? Surely talent and gifts play a part. Jeff Robson could train his heart out, but he'd never be able to develop the skills of Joey Johns. Similarly, some people arte naturally gifted to become brilliant guitarists or say painters, whereas others try as they just don't have those natural gifts.
Who knows? Maybe the way Joey developed as a kid was much more efficient than the way Robson developed. Personally, I just don't believe that there's anything people are born with beyond genes that would give them a massive edge over others.
Of course, Robson is way past it to be doing anything brilliant imo haha.

Snoochies

Jarryd Hayne I believe is one of those people who have a natural gift or ability that gives him the edge. Just my opinion.

I have a baseball background and some guys can throw 90+ miles and hour and some can't, it's not something you can train to do, you either can or you can't.