Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Your starting lineup for 2011

Alex28

I would have thought the shoulder reconstruction would fix that shoulder he supposedly will have to "nurse". Obviously they aren't going to play him until the shoulder will be right, however the naysayers can't really use this one as an excuse not to play him.

How about we see how he actually plays before casting judgement on the guy.

Yosh

I think everyone is entitled their own opinions. I mean nobody on this forum agrees with what I say either. I've had some beef in the past with some members but in general I we all get along. (right guys?)

Why did you have to go make enemies with everyone here Coast? What is your true aim? Are you really just a troll? Do you really have nothing better to do?

League_God

where does pete matutai fit into all of this is my question? will he ever play first grade. And will ethan cook crack first grade this year?

macavity

Cookie will definately play FG - though probably not for a year or two.

Same for Josh Ailomai.

Make or break season for Pete - all the talent in the world, but he had a pretty ordinary season last year, to say the least.

Is the consensus opinion amongst Knights fans that Kyle O'Donnell is going to be a first grade contributer this season or is he living off his big brothers good name?

I note in this thread half have him in the 17 and half have him omitted altogether?

Which is it? Being in Perth I haven't seen the kid play.

macavity

Is the consensus opinion amongst Knights fans that Kyle O'Donnell is going to be a first grade contributer this season or is he living off his big brothers good name?

I note in this thread half have him in the 17 and half have him omitted altogether?

Which is it? Being in Perth I haven't seen the kid play.

He is on the fringe - hence the 50/50.

He looks the real deal at u20s - plays a lot like his brother, but is bigger and more athletic.

Given a natural churn of players over the year he will probably get a run at some stage - whether he stays up or goes back down to work on his game depends on his performances, the performances of others in the rotation, and whether the coach is concerned about overloading him.

I reckon he will probably get 1-5 games this year.

Serc

On paper at least, he is certainly not living off his brother's rep...have been lots of reports from reputable sources that suggest he could be something special. And many have seen him playing as well, and looks very impressive - managed to play for the Junior Kangaroos last year so no doubt is featuring in a lot of people's minds.

FootyLegend

all your teams are well and good, besides, what if in Round 6 stonie is no longer there ?
and another thing for the knights to focus on is getting a half and 5/8 combination happening, then build a team round them not make a team and hope the combination is okay.
my team would look something like this;
1. Kurt
2. Uate
3. Doogs
4. Sau
5. Likilik
6. Mullen
7. Henry
8. Costigan
9. De Gois
10. Edwards
11. Houstan
12. Taia
13. Taufua

14. Hilder
15. Faas
16. Kaufusi
17. Mika

FootyLegend

McManus, hasnt performed to standard in a few seasons, once its gone i dont think it will come back, with Likiliki his young and talented, and could do a better job.
Edwards, has a great defending ability and can get good hard metres done, from the 4 games of FG he played last season, he stood out and performed better some off the other props, and he seems to have a good attitude towards games. so i would choose him over tui.
Paterson, struggled last season to perform, once he has performed then yes he should take mikas place.
Hilder, is an impact player, !

McManus, hasnt performed to standard in a few seasons, once its gone i dont think it will come back, with Likiliki his young and talented, and could do a better job.
Edwards, has a great defending ability and can get good hard metres done, from the 4 games of FG he played last season, he stood out and performed better some off the other props, and he seems to have a good attitude towards games. so i would choose him over tui.
Paterson, struggled last season to perform, once he has performed then yes he should take mikas place.
Hilder, is an impact player, !
big fat no and WTF @ the bold. Edwards illustrated about as much ability to cart the ball forward effectively last year as i did. he does have heart, and i appreciate that... and yes it looks like he'll be a pretty decent defender. he's got acres of work to do before he's a starting NRL prop, though. off what we've seen so far i couldn't say if he'll get there or not... but he seems like a pretty plain-jane forward that doesn't mind getting his hands dirty in D.

if Paterson underperformed last year then Mika must have evaporated out of existence altogether. to say Paterson performed below his best for most of the year is a fair assessment. I'd like to hear about how Con Mika is a better option, in football terms, not genius terms. he does absolutely stuff all except put on the odd big hit. Pato has about 1000 more strings to his bow at this stage and sh*tloads more first grade experience to go with it.

in short - pato with 1 shoulder still showed more than Con Mika.

and if i haven't already - welcome to the forum.

AB129*

I watched Beau Henry shred O'Donnell's Sharks last year, and he was easily the best on the field- in fact, Henry was simply far too developed for the u20s.

From a Sharks fan's perspective, I'd say KOD is a good prospect but I wouldn't have him in your best 4 or 5 2nd rowers, at least not yet. He's a good athlete, but he's only really been in the forwards for a season or two are shifting from the centres/wing and hence lacks a bit of the grunt you need in a forward. He's certainly not as tough as his bro, put it that way. Don't put too much pressure on him.

But Henry... he's quite like Hodkinson. And imo, he's a better option than either having Rogers at 5/8th or McDonnell at fullback. He should be your 7 asap.

I watched Beau Henry shred O'Donnell's Sharks last year, and he was easily the best on the field- in fact, Henry was simply far too developed for the u20s.

From a Sharks fan's perspective, I'd say KOD is a good prospect but I wouldn't have him in your best 4 or 5 2nd rowers, at least not yet. He's a good athlete, but he's only really been in the forwards for a season or two are shifting from the centres/wing and hence lacks a bit of the grunt you need in a forward. He's certainly not as tough as his bro, put it that way. Don't put too much pressure on him.

But Henry... he's quite like Hodkinson. And imo, he's a better option than either having Rogers at 5/8th or McDonnell at fullback. He should be your 7 asap.
thanks for the insights, mate. interesting to hear that from a Sharks fan about O'Donnell, many others i have spoken to want to suck his dick off. i'm not stressing about him, he's a good buy in one position that is very strong for us already. we won't need to rush him in. would i be wrong in saying that his development as a forward has been extremely rapid for an outside back? he's just such an epic physical specimen.

when i've seen Henry play it has been exactly the same. he was too good for his opposition and made it look very very easy. he was already too good for NYC in '09. i was very envious of the Dragons watching him play at the time. question marks over his defence aside (which halves don't have question marks over their defence?) he's an exciting prospect to be sure. hopefully his recent injury doesn't hold him too far back and he comes into first grade fit and ready to impress.

Noname36

Our problem though is that we don't have the luxury of having a good front row like the Sharkies do. If we did, then we wouldn't have to consider playing players like Costigan and Houston (who are much better backrowers imo) up front. If we had a solid frontrow, then I'd say with a backrow rotation of Costigan, Paterson, Houston, Taia and Hilder, KOD wouldn't even be considered for the top grade for ages.

The problem is though, as we may need to force Costigan and Houston up front, that requires us to look for more backrowers. Others than those I just mentioned, we really only have Ciraldo (who's been terrible), Mika (who's workrate is terrible), and a bunch of NYC backrowers who although are freakishly talented in some cases (i.e. Ethan Cook), they're still a year or two younger than KOD, and much less ready physically.

FootyLegend

thats a fair call, we all have our own oppinions, and if you belive that then so be it :) .
good point, but we need someone to take the place off pato till he gets back into form, and i could only think off con, so find someone else yeh ?
and why is Hilder, is an impact player bolded ?

Pika

This what I would like to see. It will not happen though!

1 Gidley
2 Uate
3 Doogs (Tonga to step straight in when the old legs go)
4 Sau
5 Niquama (K)
6 Henry
7 Mullen
8 Tui
9 Degois
10 Kafusi
11 KOD or Patto (tough to split them right now)
12 Zeb
13 Costigan

14 Fuss
15 Mark T
16 House
17 Hilder

Jim unlucky to miss out on the wing. Rate him highly but Kev is Aku 18 months ago. Everytime the ball goes near him you hold your breath. Something is going to happen. Could be bad, but it could be brilliant. Players like that is what makes footy exciting.

Henry is a pure speculator. I have no idea what he is capable of. He has the confidence of the team though so they must see something in him.

KOD would be ahead of Patto right now. Patto is catching as his shoulder gets back to 100% though.

the only way i can fault that team, Pika... is you have either Pato or O'Donnell as starting 11... but then have neither on the bench? that selection surely must take up a bench spot too, can't carry 18 men mate. lol.

i would say Mark T would have to get the chop, with House playing prop from the bench, surely?

rnb11

Nice team Pika. I'd start Pato and put O'Donnell on the bench in Taufua's spot. Houston can either come on and play front row or Hilder can go into lock and Costigan moves into the prop rotation. There's several different ways Stone could go about it, looking forward to see what he does.