Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL Team up with Bon Jovi for 2011 theme song

I call it as I see it mate. Read his posts. He's a sharks fan who idolises Gallen so what does that tell you? He's a miserable f**ker!

miserable?

hahaha
you lying wanker...you don't read my posts at all.

If you did you would have known that my gallen sig was just taking the piss.
I have had it since he got caught doing something stupid on the field.

Dopey fuggers just like you seem to have missed the joke.

legend...hahahaaha.....more like dumb fug.

the song sucks .

snoozer

it sucks big time.

if bunniesman likes it, it cannot be good.

as far as what song they should use-

closer - nine inch nails
anything by tool or rage against the machine
butchy boys - jimmy and the boys
funkytown - psuedo echo
goodbye yellow brick road - elton john
the chicken dance song

Because I don't agree with your opinion, makes me stupid?

Sorry oh ignorant one.

It's not an opinion it's an observation. Opinions are irrelevent as results will show, whether this idea works or not. It may or may not. In your 'opinion' it will fail because people on other forums (not associated with sport) already think it will. But the fact is it has already succeeded in one way because you've admitted people on the various non sports related forums visit are discussing the NRL advertising campaign.

That is publicity in itself and is doing exactly what the NRL wanted to do by hiring a big name band, and that is get the attention of non league fans and create a talking point. If you cannot understand that then stupid is a very valid word to use.

Desert Qlder

I've always thought Rugby League could do something epic with 'Heroes' by David Bowie. Perhaps the NRL could do the cheap version (as is their want) and get the rights to The Wallflowers version.

Spark Plug

hahahahahaha

how the fug is a bon jovi song that has never been heard before ...apart from an NRL add gonna tap into any sort of market?

We are the only ones who will give a fug.

There is a reason that they didn't put it on an album.

They are probably pissing themselves laughing.
The NRL have paid them for a song so sh*t that even they wouldn't include It on an album full of not as sh*t songs.

wrecking ball by peabody wouuld be my absolute only choice.

watch/listen to it you dare
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jz1L-_qfrC0

the singer is apparently a huge footy and parra fan...and an aussie.

Totally agree mate,great local band Peabody. I used to often see Bruno (the singer) at the Townie in Newtown in his retro Parra jersey

I've always thought Rugby League could do something epic with 'Heroes' by David Bowie. Perhaps the NRL could do the cheap version (as is their want) and get the rights to The Wallflowers version.

Nah. If the NRL got the rights to a Bowie song it would be on the cheap. So some crap from his painful Tonight or Never Let Me Down albums from the mid 80's would probably get a run.

It's not an opinion it's an observation. Opinions are irrelevent as results will show, whether this idea works or not. It may or may not. In your 'opinion' it will fail because people on other forums (not associated with sport) already think it will. But the fact is it has already succeeded in one way because you've admitted people on the various non sports related forums visit are discussing the NRL advertising campaign.

That is publicity in itself and is doing exactly what the NRL wanted to do by hiring a big name band, and that is get the attention of non league fans and create a talking point. If you cannot understand that then stupid is a very valid word to use.

Yep, just like using the word ignorant.

The people that are making the comments, are unable to understand how the band/song, has anything to do with the NRL. Its not going to make them want to attend a game of footy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kjvDLlmNxug

been done...Good song .

the NRL's best campaigns have been when they have used an old classic.
It works .
Poetry...never heard before songs... and songs by talent show contestants don't work.

Yep, just like using the word ignorant.

The people that are making the comments, are unable to understand how the band/song, has anything to do with the NRL. Its not going to make them want to attend a game of footy.

And neither is Thomas Keanneally reciting poetry and stating 'blow that whistle ref' and no song or band is going to do what you just expected. That's not the point.

Y2Eel

Maybe if you bothered to read the actual thread you would see a list of very well known bands and songs I had already suggested .

FTR ...The peabody song " wrecking ball" was just a song I personally reckon would be a great rockin song that would suit NRL footage.

IS sh*t :lol:

Cant believe you have wasted 22 years of your life.....

IS sh*t :lol:

Cant believe you have wasted 22 years of your life.....

Funny, coming from a parra fan.
Considering that the bloke who wrote and performed the song is a mad parra fan.

dunno what you are getting at with the 22 yrs bit though.

sting

carcharias, all your suggestions are out of touch and absolute rubbish. Same goes for snoozer (surely taking the piss) and whoever suggested rammstein, metallica, lol. You clowns would've blown up over simply the best as well.

This is spot on imo.

carcharias, all your suggestions are out of touch and absolute rubbish. Same goes for snoozer (surely taking the piss) and whoever suggested rammstein, metallica, lol. You clowns would've blown up over simply the best as well.

This is spot on imo.

all my suggestions out of touch?...and absolute rubbish?

Wes Carr...was in touch?

clowns?

Look I am using history as evidence here.
Get a song everyone knows.
A classic.
Up tempo ...some sort of correlation to footy would help.
Rock n roll suits the aggresion and physicality of the game.
The bee gees "How deep is your love" probably wouldn't.
Wes car did not ...it was a pitifully annoying song .

Rose Tattoo's ...we can't be beaten would blow that unheard of Bon Jovi song away.
So would ...
The Oils Power and the Passion ( not that they would let the NRL use it )
TNT by acdc or anything of theirs.
Take a long Line from the angels also would....the bloody intro to that song would set up the whole addvert.
"This is it folkes , over the top".

You obviously don't know anything about me.
I see live bands all the time
I have played in live bands for over 20 years.
Those songs I mentioned are something I actually wouldn't listen to...but they would appeal to a wide range of people.

How I rate past campaigns
1) boys are back in town
2) simply the best
3) whats my team
4) Friday on my mind from friday night footy

then what?

wes?
old tom?

It is an advertising campaign ...not video hits.

Sleep

The song was a b-side for a reason. It just happened to come in handy for Bon Jovi when he was running out of $100 bills to use as toilet paper.

If the song hadn't already been done to death on other highlights packages Requiem for a Tower by Clint Mansell would be great.

Either way, it doesn't really matter. We'll see the ad a few times before the launch of the season and then it'll disappear like the rest.

snoozer

Either way, it doesn't really matter. We'll see the ad a few times before the launch of the season and then it'll disappear like the rest.
especially if the major players in the ad get charged with serious crimes.