Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Confirmed Signings - 2012/13

DoggiesBro

I spose it also comes down to personal choice, i would rather a solid halfback that might not pull crap out his ass like sandow can. I would rather a hornby, wallace, pearce, hodkinson, walsh type halfback who can just be solid without being spectacular. Then one who will either win u a game or play like absolute shit. More often then not the later.

In saying that after u go outside prince (not based on 2011 form), thurston, cronk the quality in a halfback goes right down to mullen and pearce and then again down to the next bunch. in my opinion anyway.

I bleed blue & gold

I spose it also comes down to personal choice, i would rather a solid halfback that might not pull crap out his ass like sandow can. I would rather a hornby, wallace, pearce, hodkinson, walsh type halfback who can just be solid without being spectacular. Then one who will either win u a game or play like absolute shit. More often then not the later.

In saying that after u go outside prince (not based on 2011 form), thurston, cronk the quality in a halfback goes right down to mullen and pearce and then again down to the next bunch. in my opinion anyway.

Out of those players i'd take Pearce for sure. I reckon he will get better and better in the coming years. On Roberts, i have always been a fan of him. He can be a very crafty player. But, i fully understand why people bag him as he can also be very poor. Lacks consistency. Hopefully a change of clubs will do him the world of good, i think it will but we shall find out soon.

Also, Roberts > K. Keating. But my opinion on that could change around 5 rounds into the year :lol:

MrT

I don't think it i know it. I'm not saying keating is good, for crying out loud he sucks. But it says something if roberts was continually held out by keating and not just that if u watched roberts the past 5 years or so. He has that potential to have a OUTSTANDING game like he did when eh shwoed up lockyer in 2009 however that is one game. the rest are ruined with stupid plays, idiotic kicks, dead kicks, horrible passes, stupid runs etc etc. drop balls. he is very very very average. Bloody hell i watched most nsw cup games and he was deadset one of our worst more then he was one of our better.

He had one good season and i've said this since he was a regular with us and that was with kimmorley. The reason being is kimmorley did all the important stuff and all the organising all roberts had to do was run out wide link with morris and run now and then and he did that very well however in 1 year out of 5-6 the rest were utter garbage more often then not. It says enough. If you ask most dog fans do u rate keating the answer is NO, if you ask if you think roberts is better the nanswer is HELL NO. I will be glad when we finally have someone worth having in the 6. The last one was anasta for f**k sake.

You know jack. You make excuses for Dogs players inept performances all the time. "Oh Barba drops the ball because he doesn't get protection" etc etc, what a load of rubbish.

I've see more KK games than you ever have. KK is a Daniel Mortimer, only slightly faster. KK's kicking is average at best, has no vision, passing is ordinary and non-existant.

I wonder why Josh Morris and Goodwin were so poor on that left side for last 2 years. Would it have anything to do with Roberts not beiong in the team??????

Love to hear based on FACTS why KK is better than Roberts. Go ahead please, for the laugh

DoggiesBro

You know jack. You make excuses for Dogs players inept performances all the time. "Oh Barba drops the ball because he doesn't get protection" etc etc, what a load of rubbish.

I've see more KK games than you ever have. KK is a Daniel Mortimer, only slightly faster. KK's kicking is average at best, has no vision, passing is ordinary and non-existant.

I wonder why Josh Morris and Goodwin were so poor on that left side for last 2 years. Would it have anything to do with Roberts not beiong in the team??????

Love to hear based on FACTS why KK is better than Roberts. Go ahead please, for the laugh

Barba is a young gun and besides a few games it was a media beat up. Those few games he was shocking but in his first year at fullback he did very well. If people don't play the game they don't understand the whole protect the catcher idea. If you did play football beyond under 6's you would understand its a basic thing and most good clubs do it very well. We didn't.

I've never said keating is good...

I've got no intention of ever saying those words either, however he is less shit then roberts.

Roberts was in nsw cup for a reason and if you watched the games you would know after 5 years he belongs in there.

DoggiesBro

Out of those players i'd take Pearce for sure. I reckon he will get better and better in the coming years. On Roberts, i have always been a fan of him. He can be a very crafty player. But, i fully understand why people bag him as he can also be very poor. Lacks consistency. Hopefully a change of clubs will do him the world of good, i think it will but we shall find out soon.

Also, Roberts > K. Keating. But my opinion on that could change around 5 rounds into the year :lol:

Fair comment and personal choice, i think by the end of the year you will see what i mean from roberts especially if you watch him all year and he does what he usually does but hey you never know and as u said a change of clubs may just be what he needs.

I bleed blue & gold

Fair comment and personal choice, i think by the end of the year you will see what i mean from roberts especially if you watch him all year and he does what he usually does but hey you never know and as u said a change of clubs may just be what he needs.

Oh i will be watching bro! :cool:

I bleed blue & gold

Sure its better days ahead for you blokes either way with tonga boys back and hoppa following eventually. Even mataui will be better next year i think. Who knows if sandow and roberts can do an average job i guess hayne can do the rest ;)

Yeah mate. I think 2012 will be alot better than 2011 :). Fingers crossed anyhow.

MrT

Barba is a young gun and besides a few games it was a media beat up. Those few games he was shocking but in his first year at fullback he did very well. If people don't play the game they don't understand the whole protect the catcher idea. If you did play football beyond under 6's you would understand its a basic thing and most good clubs do it very well. We didn't.

I've never said keating is good...

I've got no intention of ever saying those words either, however he is less shit then roberts.

Roberts was in nsw cup for a reason and if you watched the games you would know after 5 years he belongs in there.

media beat up BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH just when i thought you you couldn't do better BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

Yes it was Josh Moussoud's and Dean Ritchies fault everytime Barba dropped a bomb.

In all my time reading forums, you take the cake.

Hey I heard the CIA in America could be responsible for Barba dropping bombs. Sorry if I beat you to it

DoggiesBro

media beat up BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH just when i thought you you couldn't do better BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

Yes it was Josh Moussoud's and Dean Ritchies fault everytime Barba dropped a bomb.

In all my time reading forums, you take the cake.

Hey I heard the CIA in America could be responsible for Barba dropping bombs. Sorry if I beat you to it

what are u on about, way to ignore what other people just said agreeing with me too.

anyhow barba had 2-3 shockers where he couldnt catch a cold and half the time didnt even try. before that and after that he had no problems. as i said clueless. watch footy and less shit talk.

aqua_duck

Again you can say all that crap but besides wallace in that list the others have been expected to be the dominate half aswell. Not to mention wallace when lockyer is out. As for attacking ability in the doggies outfit take out morris and barba and there isn't exactly a list of attacking guns in the backs? Bunnies have Inglis, Merrit, Sutton, Farrel who looked pretty good. I'd say the bunnies had it over them overall bar Barba in the backs.

As for how can Sandow lose you a game? Do you watch football honestly? Him and Roberts will make u want to break ur tv with some of the stupid plays, penalties, kicks dead, kicks on 3rd or 2nd that are just an out and out brain snap. Not to mention the stupid shoulder charges he always trys and 1/100000 works, or the fact he is a speed bump and will be a huge liability especially if you consider him to be replacing the best defense halfabck in robson. You will see what i mean. I'm not saying that the eels have bought bad buys. I'm saying i wouldn't rate them as the best buying team. If they got will hoppa this year too maybe with the tonga boys. However i'm glad to see the back of roberts although i will be glad to see the back of keating too. I wouldn't be happy with my club paying 400k-600k whatever the real figure is in between there for sandow either.

Hoppa and either tonga boys are awesome signings. The eels picked up the best halfback they could on the market right now although for that coin they should of waited for cronk or maloney or someone worth that
money.

In saying this i think the sharks have recruited better is what i was saying. I also think the titans have.
surely you didn't watch John Sutton play this season? He's park football standard

aqua_duck

Thanks goldthorpe. after looking at that list i think the sharks have recruited the best by far, you could say im biased but i honeslty think given our current form the club has done extremely well

Yeh but losing Snowden and Douglas takes abit away from it. It's not easy to replace two rep quality front rowers

Wato

Fafita Gibbs Ross they will do ok.

Honestly dodged a bullet with snowden IMO. Neck injury not good.

Snowden injury is not as bad as Cronulla thought more to do with miss management at Cronulla. He will be sweet for 2012 and back to orgin and aus by seasons end imo.

DoggiesBro

I agree sutton was crap this year but he has shown more over his career then sandow in my opinion. He shouldn't be a 5/8 anyhow.

Agree snowden and douglas are huge loss.

Although snowden didn't look like a SHADOW of what he was the year before. Perhaps his injury is worse then most think.

I agree sutton was crap this year but he has shown more over his career then sandow in my opinion. He shouldn't be a 5/8 anyhow.

Agree snowden and douglas are huge loss.

Although snowden didn't look like a SHADOW of what he was the year before. Perhaps his injury is worse then most think.

When ever? He's the worst half I've ever seen

Ausguy

Wato his neck injury requires surgery. Not something to be discarded. Oh and he is lazy we dodged a bullet big time