Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Victory over the Sharks - thoughts

bottle

I blame Prior!!!

Oh wait, what, we won!?

We seem to get a different crew in here each week depending on whether we win or lose lol. Where's BBC with his relentless whinging??? Oh and possm to give his same 2 cents over and over regarding team changes???

But seriously, great win today! Very gutsy!

F*ck I love beating Cronulla!

Go the Mighty Dragons!

possm will be happy because Kyle got a run in the halves, but will be gutted at what happened subsequently.

The other rabid hyperventilator has claimed he's upping stumps and outta here (one can only hope), but I'm guessing he's only the next loss away from posting gleefully.

bottle

What is it up to now? 45, 46, 47 years and won f**k all. I've been singing it for so many years now I've lost count.

You're a cruel man, I wasn't about to mention anything like that to a guest. Some hospitality please.

No. I was more interested in the relative number of Premierships rings Todd and Jamie possess as a result of their head to head confrontations in that arena.

64 Dragon

I hate to blow my own trumpet, but I have been saying for weeks, "SWAP BMOZ and NIGHTY". It worked didn't it? Pricey must have been visiting our forum.

(If you don't believe me check my posts)

bottle

Actually, I thought I heard Pricey mumble something about '64 Dragons' when asked on The Roast today about the positional swap. This isn't 'official' though, so I could be mistaken.

W.Smith

ha ha, nice to read some positives on here again after a win

i thought it was a really good game, not just coz we won and it was over the Sharkies but i just thought it was a great game of footy and to dismiss either is crazy, like this comp !!

im heaps biased as i have a huge manluv for Mez but i thought he was our best today, i love seeing a front rower play like that and big thumbs up to Moz - i EFFING love watching him score runaways, also loved Flo and the Skipper, i really thought Hornby had a crakka today and Coops defence was solid as, especially late in the game and Mitchy Rein looked to worry the other mob

still some errors and discipline issues in us and Beauie was killing me with those dumbass drops he forced on Hunty and Flo for passes that werent even on

Sharks looked good to me to, Wade Graham just seems to get better every week and im really enjoying watching him develop and we had some luck go our way with a couple calls that usually go either way with this bunch of refs

but plenty of guts with 16 blokes for most the game and 1-5 second half penalty count and more importantly the big Dubbaya to give us another 2 points and just one win off the playoffs with Souths, Easts and Melbourne upcoming and if we can jag the 3 of them we'll be in this up to our nuts

looks like the Telecrap will be out for Pricey too as Steve Jansomething has a yarn on the Tele site now having a dig at Price for throwing up a little FU to critics - which he probably didnt really need to do anyway coz winners are grinners 'eh and it is always cooler to look like youve been here before :)

TheRev

- Merrin seems to be using the Dave Taylor Playbook lol..
- Price said ""Anyone who doubts our character and our spirit amongst our footy club certainly got their pants pulled down today" and the media were beating it up as a 'savage attack on the media', deadset, he could not have stated the obvious in a more non-confrontational way, its just not 1000% politically correct for a change. He's entitled to say a lot more since every interview/article has him out the door.

i thought it was a high standard game. We had high completions and good periods but you guys were defensively strong enough against us.
You guys made a few errors. but were highly committed and had an attitude that had you taken that into more games you wouldnt be at the fringe of the 8 you would be well in it. you certainly would have threashed canberra had you played with the same commitment.
i thought rein was very good.
you took opportunities provided. we did not.

both teams were down on key players. we were coming off the MNF and had a few players with the flu. you lost a guy 5 minutes in which was unfortunate.

it was odd to be on the end of a tough loss TBH.
the last few years theres been 2 derby results. a thrashing in which we were in the contest until the kickoff, or a close win in which we dominated but not on the scoreboard.

St George will be there in september if they play like they did yesterday. its all very close.

as for the calls and what not.

for me the bad oneone was hornby. he knocked it on. but so did carney..

we passed it forward for topou. i would have been shitty had it been the other way and been a try.

the one off cooper..i mean you could call that. you could not. he didnt have control, and whenever ive played thats been a factor.. however we just stood there didnt play the whistle so. whatever. should not have left that giant hole in the middle of the field.

Godz Illa

Losing Soward and then Stanley were huge obstacles. The team overcame those hurdles with style. Gutsy, enjoyable stuff. The forwards in particular were outstanding - dominant in fact.

jenninga

I hate to blow my own trumpet, but I have been saying for weeks, "SWAP BMOZ and NIGHTY". It worked didn't it? Pricey must have been visiting our forum.

(If you don't believe me check my posts)
What about all of us screaming for Kyle to play at 6,i am gutted for him.In such a short time the few touches are fairly clear that there is potential to have him in the halves.I hope he makes a quick recovery.

KiamaSaint

Nicely said RCB. I thought the pass for Tupou's try was definitely forward and on first look Cooper look like he had knocked on but on video review it would have been difficult to reverse that decision. Hornby's from the drop out was a knock on every down of the week.

Flanagan was not too happy about the refs.

Minh

I thought we had the rub of the green with the refs for almost the first time this year, we were the better side anyway.

A completion rate of just 24/35 would normally mean we get spanked.

So given that, plus overall possession of only 46%, it was a gutsy win.

Dragons Footy.

Owen Da Saints

A completion rate of just 24/35 would normally mean we get spanked.

So given that, plus overall possession of only 46%, it was a gutsy win.

Dragons Footy.

Add to that the fact that we made about 80 more tackles and still made more metres and with 16 men and a substitute kicker for the substitute kicker for soward !

Hopefully Kyle is ok. Felt sorry for the guy. He finally got to play in his favoured position but only got to do it for 5 mins.

Great win by the boys !

st.phil

Fein and Hornby may well be the worst halves combo in the comp...but we did enough to get the win. Thought Nightingale added spark from the back and Rein, Merrin and Morris were superb. The stupid errors still there and from the same offenders, and I cannot for the life of me workout how Miller is playing ahead of Latimore or even Au Mau...but gutsy win and If they continue to play with the attacking spirit showed yesterday who knows maybe we can roll one or both of the storm and bunnies and start a run.

jenninga

Fein and Hornby may well be the worst halves combo in the comp...but we did enough to get the win. Thought Nightingale added spark from the back and Rein, Merrin and Morris were superb. The stupid errors still there and from the same offenders, and I cannot for the life of me workout how Miller is playing ahead of Latimore or even Au Mau...but gutsy win and If they continue to play with the attacking spirit showed yesterday who knows maybe we can roll one or both of the storm and bunnies and start a run.
Miller for me adds more energy in hitups and defence.Latimore has been good for us,but i am happy for Miller to get more matches.AhMau is too slow ,we need more mobility and he adds nothing.

Dakink

I liked seeing Scott get angry. Also really enjoyed the way vidot ran the ball back at the line. At full pace and with energy, that extra little impetus at the start of a set can make a world of difference.

Slippery Morris

It's like the Saints have a Porsche parked in the garage but are waiting for the rego to run out on the Ford before they can use the Porsche. Kyle was awesome in those 5 minutes. I really can't wait for Hornby to retire so they can finaly use Kyle there fulltime.

Kyle may end up like Benji in the injury department. Get a heap of injuries early in his career then get a few full seasons without injury. I hope so anyway.

Flanagan whinged about the decisions. What about the one Carney got away with when he got a hand to a pass and knocked the ball forward only to be called a Sharks scrum. That was deep in the Dragons half. Sharks had enough ball to win but got held out by great defense. What a tool. Give the opposition some credit you idiot.

Losing Soward and Kyle after 5 was a good effort attack wise as they created a few good chances, made a few linebreaks and heaps of 2nd phase play. They were great in attack and good to see them look unpredictable with the ball.

Chase Stanley did well with his kick for goals. Creagh had his best game of the season. If Nighty got the Carney pass he would have been run down thank god BMoz was there. BMoz and Flo will stay where they are I gather. Both were great except of Nighty in the first 5 seconds of the game. What was he thinking.

Rein, Merrin, Scott and Creagh were outstanding in the forwards.

Souths will be tough this week.

Elias1983

With the amount offlaods and ball movement there was yesterday, something tells me that if soward were there he would have carved up.

The second phase play is Sowards domain because he has speed and loves the broken field play.

If soward was there yesterday we potentially score another 1-2 ries IMO.