Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Charity Shield

Fire

I love souffs fans, I really do.

Watching them is like stepping back in time to the 70s or 80s - the souffs jersey tucked into jeans lol, the RSL sunburn on their noses lol, the mullets lol.

I didn't want to go to the Charity Shield to be honest, felt like just putting my feet up and having a beer and watching it on the TV...can't stand the commute out to Homebush. But, a mate got me tickets so I'll go with him.

I've duly explained "lol@souffs" to him, so it'll be a fun day lol

mmap dragons

Yes your correct, we earn approx $1.2million per year plus a share of gate taking when crowds exceed 10,000. We also earn a nice $500k by playing in Perth lol, and an additional 250k each time we play in Gosford. Our membership is the biggest in the NRL at around 23000, which brings us approx $4.5m per year, we have the largest sponsorship revenue outside of Brisbane and we were the highest selling club for merchandise and footy paraphernalia in 2012. So yes we are successful, I'm sorry if that offends you, so how's your chook raffles been going lately.

No offense taken Big Marn. $ouffs would be wrapt in your financial portrayal of the club.

On my command, Unleash..........The Big Marn!!!!!

Johnny-b-Goode

Yes your correct, we earn approx $1.2million per year plus a share of gate taking when crowds exceed 10,000. We also earn a nice $500k by playing in Perth lol, and an additional 250k each time we play in Gosford. Our membership is the biggest in the NRL at around 23000, which brings us approx $4.5m per year, we have the largest sponsorship revenue outside of Brisbane and we were the highest selling club for merchandise and footy paraphernalia in 2012. So yes we are successful, I'm sorry if that offends you, so how's your chook raffles been going lately.

Wait a sec... Your the loser that told us we sold out and now your boasting how your club has dumped it's supporter area for money.....

To bring you how many titles.... Hahaha go away troll! You have no idea...

Big man

Wait a sec... Your the loser that told us we sold out and now your boasting how your club has dumped it's supporter area for money.....

To bring you how many titles.... Hahaha go away troll! You have no idea...

Big business little boy, go back to your monopoly board and don't get involved in things that you don't understand.

Big man

I only came over to your forum because 'Fire' was trolling our forum and being a pest but I like you guys now and enjoy your hospitality.

Fire

Big man, I have a question for you.

I saw a picture of the souffs marching, with a man holding a sign saying "The People's Team."

My question is, what does "The People's Team" mean please?

Hehehe but at least we didn't sell our soul and fold like an origami at the first smell of extra cash, am I right St Merge steelers. WE ARE SOUTH SYDNEY !!!

If you did your history homework you'd know that the club were referred to as the 'Illawarra Men' as far back as the 1920s and 30s, and have always had strong links with the Illawarra. But I guess you have your work cut out constantly looking back to 1971....:cool:

tumbidragon

I saw a picture of the souffs marching, with a man holding a sign saying "The People's Team."

I believe it has something to do with North Korea (Democratic People's Republic of Korea):lol:mad: irony of that title. I think Kim Jong-Un bought out Rutys shares and is now working towards creating a souff sinny side comprised of Bunnies of Mass Destruction, or BMD's for short :lol:

tumbidragon

I believe it has something to do with North Korea (Democratic People's Republic of Korea):lol:mad: irony of that title. I think Kim Jong-Un bought out Rutys shares and is now working towards creating a souff sinny side comprised of Bunnies of Mass Destruction, or BMD's for short :lol:
hahahhahv.jpg

:( Never mind.

Big man

We use the phrase to show what it means to be at South Sydney and what it means to be a South Sydney supporter: This is the people's club across Australia, the people on the street support Souths Sydney, people from all parts of our country, people from all walks of life, no matter if your a toothless hobo or a wealthy super star actor, our club brings all people together in unity for the common cause of supporting our club. Our club was borne from the streets of Redfern, from ordinary street merchants selling skinned rabbits to the local community. These men were hardworking honest salt of the earth people, who would park their struggles and hardships at the front gates of redfern oval to play a game of footy in their green workman overalls covered in rabbit blood from a hard days work, hence our red and green jerseys with a rabbit emblem. how can you not love this club and its humble beginnings and its pure idealism of "for the people by the people".

TruSaint

Big Man, nice intro and you are obviously passionate about the history of your club.
May i suggest for you that the game of rubgy league has always been the made up of the people you suggest. Just give credit where credit is due. Saints and the gong region have a bond and connection going back decades. That is documented. We saw the writing on the wall, and made a move to maintain our brand, and we did that. Many of us, me included, wanted to stand alone, but i know what would have been. It was a natural alliance and a healthy one.
The history books didnt stop in 1999, you cant wipe the name Saints, Dragons, etc from the game.
Keep being passionate about Souths, that a great trait, but show our history what it deserves.
Go the Mighty Dragons.

Big man

Big Man, nice intro and you are obviously passionate about the history of your club.
May i suggest for you that the game of rubgy league has always been the made up of the people you suggest. Just give credit where credit is due. Saints and the gong region have a bond and connection going back decades. That is documented. We saw the writing on the wall, and made a move to maintain our brand, and we did that. Many of us, me included, wanted to stand alone, but i know what would have been. It was a natural alliance and a healthy one.
The history books didnt stop in 1999, you cant wipe the name Saints, Dragons, etc from the game.
Keep being passionate about Souths, that a great trait, but show our history what it deserves.
Go the Mighty Dragons.

TruSaint, I agree with your sentiments and I meant no disrespect to your great club, I was only taking the mickey out of a few red v posters, it's charity shield week after all and we are all getting pumped up for the battle.

Minh

If you did your history homework you'd know that the club were referred to as the 'Illawarra Men' as far back as the 1920s and 30s, and have always had strong links with the Illawarra. But I guess you have your work cut out constantly looking back to 1971....:cool:

BunniesMan

Rationale, Bunnies Man ?
Well our recent track record in trials is pretty poor. We haven't beaten an NRL team in a trial in the Maguire era.

And also this situation reminds me of the Charity Shields of several years ago but the other way around. Back then the Dragons were the perennial finals contenders while we'd be more likely to be bottom half of the ladder. So as a result we'd take it more seriously because it would be the highlight of our year while the Dragons being contenders meant the result of the trial didn't mean as much to them.

Now it's the other way around. I can see it meaning less to us this year and that's why I reckon we'll lose.

saints4ever

We use the phrase to show what it means to be at South Sydney and what it means to be a South Sydney supporter: "This is the people's club across Australia, the people on the street support Souths Sydney, people from all parts of our country, people from all walks of life, no matter if your a toothless hobo or a wealthy super star actor, our club brings all people together in unity for the common cause of supporting our club. Our club was borne from the streets of Redfern, from ordinary street merchants selling skinned rabbits to the local community. These men were hardworking honest salt of the earth people, who would park their struggles and hardships at the front gates of redfern oval to play a game of footy in their green workman overalls covered in rabbit blood from a hard days work, hence our red and green jerseys with a rabbit emblem. how can you not love this club and its humble beginnings and its pure idealism of "for the people by the people".

Wonderful. Just wonderful. It could also be argued that the dragons 11 straight inspired hundreds of thousands of salts of the earth as to what could be achieved with hard work, dedication and a love for your team mates. Every team has their origin and stories of success. To each his own, but South Sydney are not the People's Team in my opinion. Redferns team sure. The battlers team, why not. The image souths used to have spoke to many, but not all.

Now souths have the smell of money and have become the wanabe snobs of the comp. They believe, as do some fans it seems, that everyone should appreciate souths...because they're souths.

Case in point, you say at least you didn't sell your soul? Please tell me what Russel Crowe was doing with his millions in 2006?

TruSaint

Absolutely, Big Man. This is healthy stuff.
Here's to a great game this week.
Hope we get an awesome crowd.
Footy is back Big Man.
Enjoy.