Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Charity Shield

TruSaint

Well our recent track record in trials is pretty poor. We haven't beaten an NRL team in a trial in the Maguire era.

And also this situation reminds me of the Charity Shields of several years ago but the other way around. Back then the Dragons were the perennial finals contenders while we'd be more likely to be bottom half of the ladder. So as a result we'd take it more seriously because it would be the highlight of our year while the Dragons being contenders meant the result of the trial didn't mean as much to them.

Now it's the other way around. I can see it meaning less to us this year and that's why I reckon we'll lose.

Interesting stats BM.
I thing i know, it will be brutal. Both sides dont hold back on this, albeit a trial game.

Johnny-b-Goode

Well our recent track record in trials is pretty poor. We haven't beaten an NRL team in a trial in the Maguire era.

And also this situation reminds me of the Charity Shields of several years ago but the other way around. Back then the Dragons were the perennial finals contenders while we'd be more likely to be bottom half of the ladder. So as a result we'd take it more seriously because it would be the highlight of our year while the Dragons being contenders meant the result of the trial didn't mean as much to them.

Now it's the other way around. I can see it meaning less to us this year and that's why I reckon we'll lose.

The other way around..... Hahahaha because you make your first final in 60 years and we miss one in 15 years....hahaha

Old_Timer

........ Our club was borne from the streets of Redfern, from ordinary street merchants selling skinned rabbits to the local community. These men were hardworking honest salt of the earth people, who would park their struggles and hardships at the front gates of redfern oval to play a game of footy in their green workman overalls covered in rabbit blood from a hard days work, hence our red and green jerseys with a rabbit emblem.....

Get it right Big man. Your club was born on the streets of Redfern, Waterloo, Zetland, Alexandra et al. The merchants as you called them pushed a single axle wooden barrow with a hessian bag cover crying out, "Rabbito" as they went about their business. A goodly portion of merchants as you call them, were female. How do I know, because I saw them plying their trade as a child in the 1930's. And it get's worse, my late father played grade for your mob (oh the shame of it all). But as a club back then, you had some real true blue district history. AS for today well ..............??

Old_Timer

[/B]

The other way around..... Hahahaha because you make your first final in 60 years and we miss one in 15 years....hahaha

Johnny you are wildly off the mark with this one. I hope it was tongue in cheek. They have won more premierships than us (about 20 or so I think) and their last was in 1971.

Fire

We use the phrase to show what it means to be at South Sydney and what it means to be a South Sydney supporter: This is the people's club across Australia, the people on the street support Souths Sydney, people from all parts of our country, people from all walks of life, no matter if your a toothless hobo or a wealthy super star actor, our club brings all people together in unity for the common cause of supporting our club. Our club was borne from the streets of Redfern, from ordinary street merchants selling skinned rabbits to the local community. These men were hardworking honest salt of the earth people, who would park their struggles and hardships at the front gates of redfern oval to play a game of footy in their green workman overalls covered in rabbit blood from a hard days work, hence our red and green jerseys with a rabbit emblem. how can you not love this club and its humble beginnings and its pure idealism of "for the people by the people".

Hmmm, I disagree, but fair enough. You obviously love your club so I'd feel slack putting shit on you. Enjoy CS week.

Johnny-b-Goode

Johnny you are wildly off the mark with this one. I hope it was tongue in cheek. They have won more premierships than us (about 20 or so I think) and their last was in 1971.

Come on mate, a little credit..... Certainly! Just havin fun with the trolls, as they said it is charity shield week!

Old_Timer

Well if that was a Bunnies troll attack, it had all the gusto of a rampaging butterfly.

Bit like their footy team really, LOL.

big pat

You mean that premiership we won this decade in this century in this millenia Jenn? ;). Hey Big Marn you should chuck on your last premiership DVD... I mean VHS... I mean Betamax... O wait- never mind. I'm sure your elders pass down great premiership victory stories from the long long time ago from generations past though ;-)

the last time souffs won a comp, they had the movietone news on before the game,( the old timer would understand that one.)

Old_Timer

the last time souffs won a comp, they had the movietone news on before the game,( the old timer would understand that one.)

Yes one of them manual camera crank handles as well. Nah that waz in the 30,s. They were dynamite then.

Hutty1986

A souffs thread wouldn't be complete without Bunniesmong embarrassing himself. The bunnies have one good season in the past 30 and they're suddenly premiership heavyweights, lol.

jenninga

Yes your correct, we earn approx $1.2million per year plus a share of gate taking when crowds exceed 10,000. We also earn a nice $500k by playing in Perth lol, and an additional 250k each time we play in Gosford. Our membership is the biggest in the NRL at around 23000, which brings us approx $4.5m per year, we have the largest sponsorship revenue outside of Brisbane and we were the highest selling club for merchandise and footy paraphernalia in 2012. So yes we are successful, I'm sorry if that offends you, so how's your chook raffles been going lately.
Win your first comp in 42 years and you might impress me.