Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Redneck Redfaces

POPEYE

According to the ladder Melbourne are safe and Souths are only 2 points in front of Roosters/Manly/Knights who are therefore supposedly equal. That's just one way of interpreting the ladder and if I was a one-eyed supporter of any of the top 7 teams after this week I reckon I could come up with a convincing argument why they can't be dismissed.

If anyone wants to think impartially they have to consider who, when and strength of the opposition their team has faced to arrive at this point. Points on the ladder mean sfa unless your team doesn't have enough to catch up. Even the Warriors can't be written off because they have been playing better than some of the teams above them but without the luck.

POPEYE

Monday night footy has been my favourite game of the week since it's inception but I agreed to watch last night only when there was no-one on stage at The Voice, should have known better. I missed Penrith possibly progressing from composite to component and allowing for the opposition they actually looked as though they knew what they were doing.

Someone needs to explain to Stuart that if you intend to use 2nd phase only intermittently you have to at least keep the opposition guessing as to when, 'telegraphing' is a no no. Sandow lets personal satisfaction overcome common sense and Hayne plays without the required amount of desperation. The big question is which will be Vai Toutai's next club, he looks as though he may be out of place at Parramatta.

Walsh is definitely a confidence player and if Cleary's grand plan is to infilrate journeymen with young hotshots he looks to be on the right course. Hayne's vacuum between the ears let him become unsettled by Moylan who is still on training wheels and somehow Penrith looked nothing like the team we thought would turn up . . . methinks the new young blood won't let them regress too far.

POPEYE

On paper most games this weekend look lopsided, starting with Brisbane even though they are at home to Souths still can't match them in the halves. Rabbitohs' biggest problem is overcoming complacency and the Broncos are adept at winning when the opposition think their shit doesn't stink.

As much as I'd love to see a Tiger victory . . .

Let's see if Melbourne can be even scrappier than last week and win against the Raiders, seems they either like playing cat 'n' mouse or they really do need to lose to snap out of the lethargy that may become addictive. Rabbitohs, Roosters and a losing Manly were all more impressive in round 7.

With NQ's inability to perform without humidity a game that should be another walkover may be yet another Parramatta occasional revival . . . is 44 against them enough of a spark or will they wait for a 50.

Warriors will beat GC, that is of course if a home game, the footy gods doing their f**king job and injuries to the opposition make a difference. Then there is always the fact that 8 of their 9 lives are ratshit to spur them on.

If Benny's right his shit hot team should have no trouble with the Sharks, that is if you believe him when he said the GC injuries contributed little to their loss. Knights need to win this one if they want to retain credibility.

Another lay down misere for the Roosters against Panthers, unless the latter do the unimaginable and get better after a win . . . much better a necessity I'm afraid. Never know though when one team is expected to win against a team sporting a whole new look.

Expect Manly to kick arse, they treat a loss with far more disdain than do the Dragons. While on Manly, I thought Taufua was one cool customer with his poker face but turns out his demeanor is just that of a f**king meathead . . . loves it the way Matai drops 'em. You could turn the clown upside down and vacuum Brookvale Oval

POPEYE

Touch of bias, something I try hard to dismiss, but imo Will Chambers is the second best centre in the game. Centre is a position well served at the moment and unlike half or 5/8 there is no dearth of talent. Lyon is the most competitive and would take a bullet to help his team win and Chambers' defence and ability to make the right decision gives him an edge on the rest.

A very important signing for Melbourne indeed and he's probably another good example of why clubs need to develop players rather than procure them. A pity it may be as far as I'm concerned is the re-signing of Tolman by the Dogs but since I've claimed from the start he's the best value for money forward in the joint it's no surprise . . . can't beat a good Aussie.

POPEYE

Will be of added interest this weekend if not the next to see who will be the first referee to send a player off, surely one of them won't be able to resist the opportunity to make a name for himself. The question is will it be knee jerk, pedantic or justified, will it tell us more about the referee than the offence. Let's hope when it happens we all can say 'about time' and not 'what the f**k'.

If we scream wtf that means there will be an enquiry and possible judiciary 'no further action' and the refs will go back to being gun-shy. Wouldn't hurt if once in a while a referee came up with his own interpretation of an incident without waiting for a precedent to cause demand.

Fa'aso knew how desperately Manly wanted to beat Souths at Brookvale and after all he's only a bench player, still gets paid on a suspension that a win would have made worthwhile. He might have thought twice had Inu been marched and he knew there was a chance he may have left Manly with 12. Players shouldn't feel comfortable about referee reaction, a degree of uncertainty would be a better harness

POPEYE

Q; Would Carney fit in at your club?

If you mean Melbourne I think there may be other coaches that still might be able to do something with him before sending him to the Master. He would have to come cheap, Bellamy doesn't pay overs for ring ins.

POPEYE

If anyone harboured a doubt that Maguire wasn't going to use what he learnt at Melbourne it should have been dismissed tonight. Playing two 40 minute games is a Bellamy signature, evident in the Manly game and stood out like dog's balls tonight, particularly effective after a hard game the week before. Get through the first 40 with as little damage as possible and see what can be orchestrated at half time.

Griffin knew the Rabbitohs were going to be leg weary and a try or two more before half time would have got them home imo. Nevertheless Souths did what they were expected to do whereas the Broncos showed us more and they are going to be in the mix come pissant cup

POPEYE

Worrying signs of an impending epidemic last night when in the 8th minute Wallace took a dive to test the water. He couldn't be sure Reynolds' arm got around him before the shoulder contacted so why not let the video have a look on the offchance. Problem is once committed to staying down he left his team short at the finish of the set and not until Reynolds dropped the ball in the next set did play stop.

In the interlude we had Nine's three amigos postulating on the toughness of Wallace who carried on as though nothing happened . . . and it didn't. Later again Jack Reed was obviously miffed about getting hit with a good tackle from Everingham, which technically was 99.9% shoulder. Jack did a superb job of sitting on his arse hoping for a favourable outcome which didn't eventuate.

The point is that players know when they've been stopped by a shoulder no matter what other part of a body was involved. Expect many more stoppages and possible game changing decisions after players, who are within their rights, take it upon themselves to instigate the use of the video. Imo players who don't expect and prepare for shoulder charges to the body should be playing soccer.

Shoulders to the head of a player compared to the body are as foreign as black and white, it's going to be a black f**king day when diving becomes second nature. Maybe then we'll need barbed wire to separate rival spectators and fire extinguishers for the flares.

POPEYE

Can't think of anyone other than the Raiders I'd like to hand Melbourne a loss, would have been a travesty if the Storm had of snagged a try and great to see the best team win. Vibes told me it was going to happen in the immediate future, Melbourne have been dishing up rubbish for weeks. Let's hope Furner takes the finishing team on the paddock next week, Milford has to push McCrone to #9, preferably the bench. The Raiders looked great can't wait til they play again.

POPEYE

Again, I hope Sticky takes the finishing team to the next game, great effort by the Eels and there's nothing like pressure on positions to keep players in the right frame of mind. If they can reproduce the same effort week after week Stuart might finish out his contract. Michael Morgan does not have the passing game needed to get the Cowboys out of the rut they're in, he's a real momentum killer.

POPEYE

Garry Jack, renowned for being a tightarse and not the sharpest tool in the shed, reckons Inglis should replace Slater as Qld fullback. Of course that means Billy wouldn't have a place in the team and they would have to come up with someone to replace the best centre on the planet when he plays in that position.

Jack ran out 17 times for NSW and scored only one try according to Wiki, and I vaguely remember his selection was contentious on many occasions, so he's well qualified to tell Meninga who should play fullback. Reminiscent of playing Gallen in the front row, Jack's f**kwit ideology of robbing Peter to pay Paul is typical of the attitude that NSW need to discard.

As a duo Slater and Inglis have scored 25 tries for Qld, whether or not Inglis has surpassed Slater doesn't matter a tuppenny f**k, Jack should stick to selling real estate

POPEYE

Bonza round of League, just need Price to get over Toovey tonight to top it off. Wouldn't be Elliott for quids but fmd I was happy for the bloke, he's got to exorcise some of the 'Benji' out of Johnson if he wants to retain his hair but it's a start. If it wasn't for his kicking game I would move Johnson to fullback and let Godinet or Henry have a go in the halves. All this mob needs is a cool head in the second 40.

They must have heard me in Newcastle abusing Carney for not practicing field goals and the Sharks now know Gallen may be the Viagra but there is a more important ingredient to producing results, and it can be done without him. Knights have a way to go before claiming Manly/Rooster status and beating a depleated GC was premature ejaculation.

Believe it or not I was rapt in Raiders/Warriors/Sharks victories and along with the Titans and Cowboys are my wish list for the pissant cup. Titans have the better vibes imo but wins right now are imperative for the other four to make the 8. Storm need to stop coasting to win the Shield as the Rabbitohs/Roosters are powering on and Manly will always be Manly.

Just to add, loved Flanagan's response to the press when asked how Lewis's neck was after the game. ' . . . he's a tough cookie' was the reply. No coincidence the Sharks needed to hold up play at that precise moment and Luke is an expert, although he could have made it a little less obvious.

Big Tim

Hey Popeye, what are your thoughts on Golden Point?

As a spectacle, and as a way to determine the winner of the game?

POPEYE

Hey Popeye, what are your thoughts on Golden Point?

As a spectacle, and as a way to determine the winner of the game?

Depends if the added chance of injury to tired players, possible influence on a result if next week for one team is a short turnaround and disregard of applying rules by the referees is worth establishing a clear winner. If you're asking me what is to be gained by Golden Point I imagine it has something to do with hangers-on rather than players so I say to hell with it.

POPEYE

Can't wait to see if politics again rears its ugly head in NSW Origin selection. In the past it hasn't mattered about form, more about appeasing power brokers and the reason why I'm one of many who follow Qld that shouldn't. The obvious selection is Pearce/Maloney because of their combination but that would put a chicane in the Roosters road to glory, something Nick won't be enthused about.

Imagine the money and prestige to be gained if Souths win the Shield, immeasurable in the cup build-up, not helped if they have to do without Sutton who should be on the bench and Merritt who should at least replace Morris if he's not 100%. Souths are the pin-up team so expect them to only lose Inglis.

If true to form NSW will spread the team amongst clubs so the better performing or more influential of them don't suffer too much whereas Qld will pick players who they think are the best for the job and stick with them until they prove otherwise.

Bandwagon

Would be interesting to see if Sutton reverted to previous form, playing against GI rather than with him, if of course I was a Qldr.......

POPEYE

Another chance to soapbox the value of coaching above all else, including players old mate. Imo Inglis has virtually sfa to do with Sutton finally hitting his straps, he's just one of many who was in need of a supercoach. Over a bourbon or two you and I could no doubt compile a list of players who could have amazed us if they were given the direction they missed out on.

The big difference for Sutton is that his game has been simplified. He no longer has the burden of steering the team around. Souths no longer rely on his kicking game as heavily and he is not burdened with trying to create for others. It's obvious Madge has just told him to focus on his running game. Now when you watch Sutton, all he does is hit the line. He's not trying to ball play or get the repeat set. He is simply trying to poke his nose through the line with every carry. If the opportunity presents for second phase or an outside ball he will take it but his first thought is to hit the line. It's this simplification of his game and the focus on his strength which is benefiting him.