Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Vote Yes / No: Promote Groat

pinkmoon

I don't think Groat is worthy of his own thread yet...pinning our hopes on a guy that has played 17 first grade games in 4 years simply because he has a large physique is taking things a little far. Let's see him play some footy for the Cutters first.

Thanks PM.

But I've seen quite a bit of this kid and think you all underestimate his potential. When the the Tigers threw him in at the deep end (the Tigers do that), he was a young firebrand, who ran at the defence, and tackled ferociously without fear.

His confidence may be lacking right now, but he's big, young, and a prop. We need props. We bought him as a prop. Doesn't he deserve a run?

If I had my choice, I'd put Merrin back at prop, and let him mentor Groat.

What do you guys think? Should Price promote Groat?

I vote Groat!

jenninga

I don't think Groat is worthy of his own thread yet...pinning our hopes on a guy that has played 17 first grade games in 4 years simply because he has a large physique is taking things a little far. Let's see him play some footy for the Cutters first.

Agree,he looked lacklustre couple of weeks ago against average opposition.It's Alomai who I want given a go,very similar game to Sam Moa, something we don't have atm.

I think the Dragons should give the kid a start. He was underdone at the Tigers when we threw him into first grade and he looks to have toned up a fair bit and lost that puppy fat. He was performing well above NSW Cup level when he played for us last year.

vanilla gorilla

We have purchased some "big boppers" to be utilised in the forwards let's use them. Note to the coaching staff STOP PICKING PLAYERS OUT OF POSITION" For example second rowers are not prop forwards and as was witnessed by all and sundry during the Charity Sheild any side with a decent forward pack are just going to roll over the top of our undersized pack. Put Groat and Alomai in the front row let them show us what they can do. They should have been used in the trial to show their wares against one of the best, if not the best packs in the competition. I know it's early days but I fear unless they do this now we are in for another horror season.

TruSaint

Thanks PM.

But I've seen quite a bit of this kid and think you all underestimate his potential. When the the Tigers threw him in at the deep end (the Tigers do that), he was a young firebrand, who ran at the defence, and tackled ferociously without fear.

His confidence may be lacking right now, but he's big, young, and a prop. We need props. We bought him as a prop. Doesn't he deserve a run?

If I had my choice, I'd put Merrin back at prop, and let him mentor Groat.

What do you guys think? Should Price promote Groat?

I vote Groat!

Agree, he's worth a go.

If he had potential as a youngster, then its other factors that are letting him down. Give him a shot in the Red V, as we have nothing to lose. We are light up front as it is.

I will judge him after I see him play for us.

Soward was a reject at the Chooks. He now has a premiership ring. You never know, new club, second chance etc, the kid could lift.

Godz Illa

Aioli is ahead of Groat imo.

I dont see major personnel changes in he forwards having much effect tbh (aside from hooker). The issue is coaching. They are not working together as a unit at all. An apparent lack of size need not be a death knell. The coach just needs to utilise them differently. Unfortunately Price seems to have no clue how to do this

TheRev

If he didnt get a start on the extended bench on the weekend, then Price has already ruled him out, Price does that.. makes a decision pre-season then buries his head in the sane for 3 months.

But dont stress, im sure game time for the cutters wont do him any harm, he will be back to first grade in a jiffy if his form warrants it, or our pack is struggling.

Father Ted

I dont see major personnel changes in he forwards having much effect tbh (aside from hooker). The issue is coaching. They are not working together as a unit at all. An apparent lack of size need not be a death knell. The coach just needs to utilise them differently. Unfortunately Price seems to have no clue how to do this

The thread should be promote Garvey yes/no because this year he seems to be our only current hope at hooker.

Cagey Mac

Agree absolutely!

Are you still a fan of Merrin at lock Godzy? Especially in defence? Or do we need him up front?
What centre / back row combos do you think would work best; particularly in defence but in attack as well?

Godz Illa

Agree absolutely!

Are you still a fan of Merrin at lock Godzy? Especially in defence? Or do we need him up front?
What centre / back row combos do you think would work best; particularly in defence but in attack as well?
Mate, I think Merrin at lock still has merit, but not under this coach. His growth in the role has plateaud, even regressed. A move back to prop is inevitable unless we upgrade the coach.
The centre backrow combos I'd leave as they are. Give them time to grow and develop as a unit.
The props and middle men to run in numbers and pass before the line to shed defenders.

Dump the hooker asap.

big pat

a couple of people mention aioli on sat, does anyone know how he went in the cutters.

Cagey Mac

Mate, I think Merrin at lock still has merit, but not under this coach. His growth in the role has plateaud, even regressed. A move back to prop is inevitable unless we upgrade the coach.
The centre backrow combos I'd leave as they are. Give them time to grow and develop as a unit.
The props and middle men to run in numbers and pass before the line to shed defenders.

Dump the hooker asap.

I'm late to this point of view but definitely agree now!