Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumoured/Confirmed Signings and More Crap XX

Joshuatheeel

I doubt any of it would count against the cap.
If he got a neck injury to the degree he would retire, and require the payment, then he is officially off the books for his (hypothetical) $80k salary. The club can pay anyone anything they want to pay them, it only becomes a salary cap issue when they step on the field.

That's why Burt is our kicking coach isn't it? He took unders for years, and was (allegedly) rewarded with a coaching gig at the end of his playing days. Can't retroactively count the coaching money against our cap of years gone by (if indeed some arrangement was sneakily made)

Didn't the storm get investigated or something about Robbie Kearns taking a job post footy with the storm?

Stagger or anyone else.
Was told recently that Foran's contract was $700k + $500k 3rd party per season + captaincy.
Anyone closer in on the know have any news on Foran's contract?

If this is true, then we can see why we are now competing with the Roosters, Dogs and Storm for ascendancy. Our cap will now have far more breathing space to produce a fantastic winning culture.

Wonder what Hoppa will be purchased for, if he is extending his contract a further 3 years?
Hopefully $500k per season max as our long-term centre.

Wow . It appears everyone has a sauce. But each sauce is saying something different . Rugby league has had the star factor since when ken thornett was playing and we all want to spread some info from a sauce frm within or close to the club.

It's my opinion. I stand by it.

A lot of people were against Watmough's signing, too.

I still think James Tamou is a tampon - especially considering the vast array of people who agree with that opinion.

As I mentioned initially, I was told Tamou wants to move back to Sydney, and we are interested. And I think it would be a shame to mess up a lot good work hitherto done with our pack to bring in this bloke.

And the concept that he's a First Grade frint-rower and ergo isn't a cat holds no water with me. Blokes of Tamou's size and skill should be dominating every week.

You may well be right, but I wouldn't dismiss him out of hand. Regardless of what people think a a bloke 'should be doing', if they get the job done at 80% of their potential....they get the job done, however annoying they are. I obviously wouldn't advocate paying 'best prop in the game' wages. I reckon BA would get some juice out of him.

Casper The Ghost

Wow . It appears everyone has a sauce. But each sauce is saying something different . Rugby league has had the star factor since when ken thornett was playing and we all want to spread some info from a sauce frm within or close to the club.
Agreed, is why I don't talk much about sauce anymore - it ain't worth it.
Only those in the know (1st parties) know - all else is mostly 3rd party speculation. Is why I asked the question to Stagger and to anyone else closer in on the know.

It seems that our growing winning culture now attracts players on less $$$ and 3rd party sponsorship in association with our club has improved and overall we're now able to compete against the $$$ might of the Roosters, Dogs, Broncos, News-Limited-Storm, etc.

Am just keen to know how the actual design work of Foran's contract looks. To see how it reflects our new winning culture - assuming there is no brown paper bags involved.

You may well be right, but I wouldn't dismiss him out of hand. Regardless of what people think a a bloke 'should be doing', if they get the job done at 80% of their potential....they get the job done, however annoying they are. I obviously wouldn't advocate paying 'best prop in the game' wages. I reckon BA would get some juice out of him.

You may be right, mate - if I had to back any coach to get the best out of Tamou, it'd be Arthur.

TheRam

Look we are just beginning to get a quality white man pack, I'd hate to see the balance go the other way again with signings like Tamou coming on board. He is exactly the type of mental softness we have been suffering from for years. Why risk it?

I still stand by my opinion, you particularly can not have to many Islanders in your pack, except in rare circumstances. It is a cultural thing, they are just to laid back and chilled and generally don't like the CONSISTANT hard grind that the NRL demands for success.

Of course there are great CONSISTANTLY good forwards of Islander descent, but not enough of them, yet at least. So when the balance goes their way in numbers at a club, then you are unwittingly flirting with unexplained sub par performances and much inconsistency.

Having quality players like Mannah, Peats, De Gois, Wicks, Watmough, Gower and Lussick has been the real reason behind our pack being able to mix it with the best of them. Sure we are still a little inconsistent as a team, but that will eventually come, especially if we can add some real strike power out wide to capitalise on any platform our forwards give us or half chances that may come our way.

Now you add to those guys, the only consistently good islander in our club Ma'u, (and maybe Junior when he comes back) and we have the makings of a consistently good set of forwards.

The remainder of the forwards in Joseph Paulo, Peni Terepo, Tepai Moeroa and Pauli Pauli, have yet to show that consistent quality in their play. Special mention for Kenny Edwards, he is almost there, but still has some to go. But being in a European dominated pack prevents them from zoning out with their bros and teaches them effort, on effort, on effort.

Just my two cents worth, don't shoot the messenger.

I can't stand props who have his size and skill, but who don't use it to physically impose themselves.

Fui was way smaller, but at his best, he was devastating.

Fui weighed about the same despite being maybe four inches shorter. Tamou is a tall and lean middle forward. His game isn't power based like the stockier guys.

TheRam

Fui weighed about the same despite being maybe four inches shorter. Tamou is a tall and lean middle forward. His game isn't power based like the stockier guys.

Stop making excuses for a mentally soft gorilla who should be in the top 3 front rowers in the NRL for the majority of his career, based on his size, skill, footwork and what he can deliver at his best. And don't start me on some of his defensive lapses.

The guy is a joke. Would coach Arthur be able to sort out his mental weakness, who knows? So is he worth the risk? Only if he cam for around $250-300k. Anything more then that he isn't value for money considering the quality we already have at the club in the forwards.

Would he come for that sort of money? I doubt it, so for mine, he ain't worth it.

Delboy

Agreed, but only if he was willing to take a substantial pay cut and only for two years.

That's a sure fire way to signi a rep player, tell him to take a paycut, don't think it works like that

Ram, I think we are glad BA looks after signings :)

That's a sure fire way to signi a rep player, tell him to take a paycut, don't think it works like that

Ram, I think we are glad BA looks after signings :)

Pretty sure you said DA handles recruitment ? Anyway BA or DA is way better than RAM.

TheRam

Oh and while I'm at it, I expect John Folau to be found out big time this week by the tigers. What he showed me last week was that sure he had a decent game for only his second game in first grade, but considering other then Inglis and Johnston, the other outside backs are hardly anything to write home about.

But what was most telling, was that in his positional play in attack, he was found wanting twice when if he was running onto the ball from a little deeper he would of scored. And attack is supposed to be his strength. Now don't give me the line that he was playing out of position, he has played enough on the wing in the lower grades, so should of known and anticipated the unfolding events. It was wing 101 basics.

Those Tiger outside backs with nice quick balls from Farah, Brooks and Moses, should sort him out real quick.

He is not a footballer or an athlete, he is just a bulldozer with a step. He has heaps to learn. I'm not sure if he will make it long term.

Yes, I, know, I know, it's only his second game, I am being to harsh, but I just have a feeling. Lets hope he turns into our version of Idris, same kind of player, but gets away with what little talent he has as a pure footballer or athlete, with sheer size and brutality.