Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

Michael Chammas twitter
What was Greg Inglis doing at Wests Tigers training?
Wearing WT’s colours?
smh.com.au
—————-
Can’t copy the whole story, but apparently his main role is to mentor Bula through his meteoric rise to stardom. Might come in handy for other duties as well?

Michael Chammas twitter
Wearing WT’s colours?
smh.com.au
—————-
Can’t copy the whole story, but apparently his main role is to mentor Bula through his meteoric rise to stardom. Might come in handy for other duties as well?

Wow i really this one

Ron's_Mate

By Michael Chammas and Emma Lawrence
January 30, 2024 — 6.40pm

Greg Inglis has been spotted wearing Wests Tigers gear at the club’s Concord headquarters over the weekend.

The former South Sydney captain, who hasn’t held an official role with the Rabbitohs since 2020, has been brought into the fold at the Tigers as a mentor to boom fullback Jahream Bula.

The club insists Inglis has not accepted a role with the club’s coaching staff or been brought in to help the football department, but rather as a confidant to the young fullback.

Inglis has been tasked with assisting Bula off the field as he deals with the adjustment and pressure of going from a relative unknown to a rugby league star within 12 months.

Inglis watched on at training over the weekend, sporting the black and gold for the first time. He’s expected to continue working with Bula, who recently signed a $2.7 million-$2.8 million extension to stay at the Tigers until the end of 2027.

The final year of his deal is a mutual option. If Bula takes up the option he is guaranteed $800,000 in 2027, but if the club takes up the option it will be for $900,000.

Inglis is managed by Rich Digital, the company part-owned by new Wests Tigers chief executive Shane Richardson alongside his son, Brent.

Richardson was responsible for luring Inglis to South Sydney from the Melbourne Storm ahead of the 2011 season, and has formed a tight bond with him.

The Tigers boss is also involved in Inglis’ Goanna Academy – a program aimed at improving mental health for vulnerable groups across Indigenous communities.

Also attending the training session over the weekend was Australian tennis player Jordan Thompson.

The world No.44, who is a Tigers fan, was invited by club officials who recently learnt of his love for the club. He was put through his paces alongside the players as they gear up for the season.

The Tigers have endured a turbulent off-season following the resignation of former chief executive Justin Pascoe and the dismissal of the entire football club board, including the principal of major sponsor Brydens Lawyers, Lee Hagipantelis.

The club also parted ways with winger David Nofoaluma after agreeing to a $300,000 payout following a series of off-field incidents.

Nofoaluma still had two years to run on his contract worth about $500,000 a season but settled for $300,000 after he was hit with two breach notices within a month.

The club, however, is optimistic about its future following the high-profile signing of Panthers superstar Jarome Luai on a five-year deal worth more than $6 million from next season.

Pre-season: I know we can,
R1: I'm sure we can:)
R7: I think we can,
R10: I'm not sure we can,
R15: f**k, not again:(
Next year hahaha

Remembering, 2025 is our 20 year anniversary.

Michael Chammas twitter
Wearing WT’s colours?
smh.com.au
—————-
IMG_0667.jpeg

From the Koori knockout?
Who knew, only Richo, by the looks.
The man’s truely impressive.

Are there still positions that we need upgrading for 2025 to cover injuries or poor form. Players numbers are probably wrong as I haven't given it too much thought.

1. Jahream Bula/?
2. Charlie Staines/Alex Lobb
3. Justin Olam/Solomona Faataape
4. Starford To'a/Brett Naden
5. Junior Tupou/Solomon Alaimalo [only signed for 2024?
6. Jayden Sullivan/Latu Fainu
7. Jarome Luai/Lachlan Galvin
8. Stefano Utoikamanu/
9. Apisai Koroisau/Tallyn Da Silva
10. David Klemmer/Jordan Miller?
11. Isaiah Papali'i/Samuela Fainu
12. John Bateman/Justin Matamua
13. Fonua Pole/Kit Laulilii
14. Alex Seyfarth
15. Jake Simpkin
16. Sione Fainu?

Fullback problem:
Are these guys available or up to NRL standard...
Zane Camroux
Israel Ogden
Tony Pellow
Starford To'a has played at the back but not ideal.
AD, if fit, could play at fullback but he's failed at that position before and with his knee at risk I doubt it...he may be released anyway.
Solomon Alaimalo [is only signed for 2024 and has only super rugby experience at the back]

Am I missing someone?
Also I feel if we are to upgrade any forwards then reluctantly it could be Alex Twal and Asu Kepaoa that could be the ones to make way for a top bookend.

Mason might be a smokey for back up fullback.

Zane Camroux went back to Newcastle didn't he?

You're missing Twal from your line up there too unless you're assuming he will be moved on (didn't he just resign for another three years?)

AD is gone after this year, the club will not keep him on. He's cooked.

Michael Chammas Twitter:
‘No conflict of interest’: Tigers boss denies wrongdoing after signing player managed by son for the company he part owns
——————
Not sure what this is about? This is an article in the SMH, which I can’t open.

Looks like the honeymoon is over hahaha

Nutz

Mason might be a smokey for back up fullback.

Zane Camroux went back to Newcastle didn't he?

You're missing Twal from your line up there too unless you're assuming he will be moved on (didn't he just resign for another three years?)

AD is gone after this year, the club will not keep him on. He's cooked.
Mate it's a pretty weak post on my part. I had Twally in as a middle but took him out thinking he's not the best middle and forgot to paste him as a reserve.
I like Alex but really, the fact that he's only scored 1 try in ten thousand games indicates his running style is sus. These days any forward must offer more than great defensive attributes, you have to have a complete game.
I think you may be right about Camroux but as usual we still have him in our KOE list on the WT website.
I think everyone agrees with you ref AD.
The biggest problem I have learnt about ACLs, or any ligament tear, is scar tissue. The more you tear the ligament the greater the scar tissue and scar tissue does not stretch it tears when stretched.
After reading heaps about ACL tears I also learned that manual stretching past the point of normal stretching is required to prevent it from tearing again. The problem is the game is often a stop start affair and it's the sudden acceleration or decelaration that tears the ligament when it cools down.
I could have just said....AD is cooked. :)

Michael Chammas Twitter:
‘No conflict of interest’: Tigers boss denies wrongdoing after signing player managed by son for the company he part owns
——————
Not sure what this is about? This is an article in the SMH, which I can’t open.

Looks like the honeymoon is over hahaha
Richo's son is a player manager. Tigers have signed Faataape who is managed by him.

We wouldn't be signing him if Benji didn't want him, and the kid is quite good.

NBWT twitter
Solomona Faataape turned down a 16 week train & trial at the Broncos before joining WT (SMH)
—————
That’s interesting, and a pat on the back to the club, I guess?

Edit: @The Charlatan has explained this, but agree, he seems to have good potential and Benji is no mug, spotting player talent.

Mate it's a pretty weak post on my part. I had Twally in as a middle but took him out thinking he's not the best middle and forgot to paste him as a reserve.
I like Alex but really, the fact that he's only scored 1 try in ten thousand games indicates his running style is sus. These days any forward must offer more than great defensive attributes, you have to have a complete game.
I think you may be right about Camroux but as usual we still have him in our KOE list on the WT website.
I think everyone agrees with you ref AD.
The biggest problem I have learnt about ACLs, or any ligament tear, is scar tissue. The more you tear the ligament the greater the scar tissue and scar tissue does not stretch it tears when stretched.
After reading heaps about ACL tears I also learned that manual stretching past the point of normal stretching is required to prevent it from tearing again. The problem is the game is often a stop start affair and it's the sudden acceleration or decelaration that tears the ligament when it cools down.
I could have just said....AD is cooked. :)

Haha no worries, I wasn't picking you apart, just noticed Twal was missing and I know Camroux has bounced between us and Newcastle.

Twal to be fair yeah his running game isn't strong and he'll never be that bullocking front rower you can depend on to crash over the line, but he does get through a fair bit of work on the ball and he works like a dog in defence. You need workhorses with stamina in every team, they can't all be impact players.

NBWT twitter
Solomona Faataape turned down a 16 week train & trial at the Broncos before joining WT (SMH)
—————
That’s interesting, and a pat on the back to the club, I guess?

Edit: @The Charlatan has explained this, but agree, he seems to have good potential and Benji is no mug, spotting play talent

LOL at the Broncos sulking about conflicts of interest when those merkins have a third party consortium at pinkys length for years ensuring they get any player they wanted.

Nutz

Haha no worries, I wasn't picking you apart, just noticed Twal was missing and I know Camroux has bounced between us and Newcastle.

Twal to be fair yeah his running game isn't strong and he'll never be that bullocking front rower you can depend on to crash over the line, but he does get through a fair bit of work on the ball and he works like a dog in defence. You need workhorses with stamina in every team, they can't all be impact players.
Absolutely mate, I love my Lebanese assassin but when we get into the red zone we have to have every available option open to us.
Alex and Stefano;s running style makes it easy for the D to gobble him up. If your big men aren't bending the line then your halves are going to be under pressure.
I'm not going to defend Brooks here but our lack of attacking options have really cruelled us since the days of a complete footballer like Gareth Ellis.

Ron's_Mate

‘No conflict of interest’: Tigers boss denies wrongdoing after signing player managed by son
By Michael Chammas
February 1, 2024 — 6.00am

New Wests Tigers boss Shane Richardson recently signed a player managed by his son for the company he part owns but says he declared all pre-existing interests to the club’s board before accepting the job in a bid to head off accusations of conflicts.

Richardson, who recently accepted a six-month interim role as Justin Pascoe’s successor as Wests Tigers chief executive, is the co-founder and shareholder of Rich Digital – a consultancy firm that also has NRL player agent accreditation.

The accreditation is held by Richardson’s son Brent, who recently helped secure the Tigers’ last development contract for the 2024 season for his client, Solomona Faataape.

Faataape, one of Easts Tigers’ best players in the Queensland Cup last year, turned down a 16-week train-and-trial deal with the Brisbane Broncos to move to Sydney and play under new coach Benji Marshall.

It was Richardson’s first signing at the club before Christmas, raising questions of a potential conflict of interest, which has been a topic of conversation in certain rugby league circles since.

New Tigers chairman Barry O’Farrell, talking to this masthead from India on Wednesday night, said it was Marshall and general manager Matt Betsey who negotiated directly with Brent Richardson.

This masthead also approached Shane Richardson on Wednesday to clear the air over Faataape’s signature. The former South Sydney chief executive said all the relevant declarations had been made to the board prior to him accepting the position.

“There’s no conflict of interest,” Richardson said.

“I don’t have a licence to do player negotiations. That all stands with my son and always has done. At the end of the day, everything was declared, Wests Tigers are well aware of all the situations and nothing has been hidden from anyone whatsoever.

“Brent sent a tape to the Tigers four or five months ago. When I got involved with the club, I asked the question about it and Benji had not even seen it.

“No one had passed it onto him, so I passed it onto him. So when Benji saw the video, he told me we need to get this guy. So we brought him down and Brent did the deal with Benji and Matt Betsey. It’s as simple as that. Everybody is well aware of it. It’s clean as a whistle.”

Rich Digital, a company that specialises in brand building, digital innovation and talent management, has also signed on as a consultant to Wests Tigers to help the club grow its brand and drive profitable results.

It has a similar arrangement with the South Sydney Rabbitohs, NSWRL, Brisbane Tigers (Queensland Cup) and the Central Coast Mariners (A-League).

Rich Digital also manages Greg Inglis who, as revealed by this masthead on Tuesday night, has begun mentoring young Tigers fullback Jahream Bula and was seen wearing the club’s gear at training last weekend.

O’Farrell, who has taken over as chairman of a new-look Tigers board from his predecessor Lee Hagipantelis, said he had no qualms about the potential for a conflict of interest involving his chief executive.

“In the time that I’ve worked with Shane in the role, if there’s any interest to be declared at a director level or CEO level, they have been declared in a timely finish,” O’Farrell said.

“Shane has operated with the highest integrity since starting in the CEO role at the Wests Tigers. As a professional, he ensures he stays within the appropriate limits, and if there are any issues or conflicts, he declares them.

“The key recommendation of the Crawford-Barnier report was to improve governance. From day one, directors and CEO have ensured that has been a part of the principle of reform.”

As part of Richardson’s contract, he sought permission from the Tigers to continue as an unpaid ambassador for the Goanna Academy – a program aimed at improving mental health for vulnerable groups in Indigenous communities.

The Tigers chief said Inglis was not getting paid by the club to mentor Bula.

“GI met him at an Indigenous program and quickly became friendly with him,” Richardson said.

“Benji and I decided he would be a good mentor for Jahream. He’s not paid by the club, he’s just a mentor for Jahream to check on him and help him with the mental health side of things.

“It’s really a mentor role. He’s not here to tell him how to play fullback, it’s a genuine mentoring role about what’s required off the field to be a good first grade footballer on the field. There’s nothing untoward going on in any way, shape or form.”

The NRL has not received a complaint and declined to comment on the matter at this point.

Ned Kelly

For me the interesting part is that neither of our recent recruitment officers thought it was worth pursuing this guy.

Richo to the rescue once again.