Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

08 :: R15 Fri :: Dragons 13 Panthers 12 @ ANZ

Round 15 Result :: Dragons v Panthers

mxlegend99

The only game what would have been in doubt was the storm game other then that the dragons would have beaten Broncos , Penrith no matter whether who was playing for them.
That right there is bullsh*t.

You only beat Penrith last night with the help of our referee, and we were missing our two best backs in Michael Gordon and Michael Jennings, ontop of a few of our favored forwards in Tony Puletua, Adam Woolnough, Joseph Paulo, Josh Bateman and ofcourse our first choice hooker, Luke Priddis.

Hutty1986

Look I have no problem with Dragons fans being happy that they have won 5 in a row.. good for them. What I do have a problem with is morons (Gaba) who come here and say their team is the almighty and claim other teams are lucky when that smacks of hypocrisy...

Thats bullsh*t, even if Gaba had have said those things, he'd be the vast minority in doing so. We're going along okay, though last night was a poor performance. But hey, good teams still manage to win when they're not at their best (look at Brisbane last night too).

We beat Manly at home when they were full strength, beat the Roosters at full strength in a season-turning performance, beat Brisbane, who still had internationals in their team and beat the Panthers (likewise) who are a danger team to anyone on any given day.

We didn't f*cking make the draw mate, sure we've been a bit fortunate but that's the way it goes.

Hutty1986

That right there is bullsh*t.

You only beat Penrith last night with the help of our referee, and we were missing our two best backs in Michael Gordon and Michael Jennings, ontop of a few of our favored forwards in Tony Puletua, Adam Woolnough, Joseph Paulo, Josh Bateman and ofcourse our first choice hooker, Luke Priddis.

Priddis, Jennings Gordon were the only players of note who were missing. And yes, some calls were pathetic, but they didn't lead directly to points. You failed to put us away and we were good enough to put back-to-back tries on you and sneak home. End of story.

You only beat Penrith last night with the help of our referee.

Oh come off it. Maxwell (got it right this time :fist:) practically wore a jersey in the first half - given the opportunities provided Penrith should have been 18-0 or 24-0 up... and injuries aren't an excuse when you've still got a forward pack that boasts plenty of international caps - Civ, Pritchard and Waterhouse all having played Test matches in the past or present.

Whinging about the ref or injuries last night? :lol:

Hutty1986

Bicey, get off it. Penrith still have Wesser, Jennings, Lewis, Civ, Pritchard, Waterhouse... they've got a few missing through injury but it's still a decent footy side and they put up a good fight to another good footy side - the Dragons. They're obviously playing good football at the moment - they'd have to be to be sitting pretty in 6th spot. You play the hand you're dealt and Saints have done so and are sitting well. The two points is what matters at the end of the day, and Saints have a larger collection of those wins now.

It's more than luck, it's improving together as a team and they did that, irrespective of who their opposition was.

Spot on.

abpanther

Bicey, get off it. Penrith still have Wesser, Jennings, Lewis, Civ, Pritchard, Waterhouse... they've got a few missing through injury but it's still a decent footy side and they put up a good fight to another good footy side - the Dragons. They're obviously playing good football at the moment - they'd have to be to be sitting pretty in 6th spot. You play the hand you're dealt and Saints have done so and are sitting well. The two points is what matters at the end of the day, and Saints have a larger collection of those wins now.

It's more than luck, it's improving together as a team and they did that, irrespective of who their opposition was.

Ah Jennings was out and Wesser played about 10mins.

Big Pete

Thats bullsh*t, even if Gaba had have said those things, he'd be the vast minority in doing so. We're going along okay, though last night was a poor performance. But hey, good teams still manage to win when they're not at their best (look at Brisbane last night too).

We beat Manly at home when they were full strength, beat the Roosters at full strength in a season-turning performance, beat Brisbane, who still had internationals in their team and beat the Panthers (likewise) who are a danger team to anyone on any given day.

We didn't f*cking make the draw mate, sure we've been a bit fortunate but that's the way it goes.

Internationals? Clinton and Carroll? :lol: To call our side anything but depleted is a joke.

Dragons have been fairly lucky but at the same time, they've risen to good form. If I spot any Panthers fans complaining I'd love to give them a back hand or two considering their draw so far.

Bicey_18

Thats what I said.. Most dragons fans are pretty decent, with the odd exception

mxlegend99

Spot on? He listed Michael Jennings as playing and he didn't, and Rhys Wesser was injured 10 minutes into the game.

Basically for 70 minutes of that game, we were missing our 3 best backs.
For the entire 80 minutes of that game, we were missing our best hooker, and a number of our impact forwards.

Up against a practically full strength team.

Hutty1986

Internationals? Clinton and Carroll? :lol: To call our side anything but depleted is a joke.

Dragons have been fairly lucky but at the same time, they've risen to good form. If I spot any Panthers fans complaining I'd love to give them a back hand or two considering their draw so far.

:lol: Fair point. We're going okay, still plenty of improvement to come imo.

Hutty1986

Spot on? He listed Michael Jennings as playing and he didn't, and Rhys Wesser was injured 10 minutes into the game.

Basically for 70 minutes of that game, we were missing our 3 best backs.
For the entire 80 minutes of that game, we were missing our best hooker, and a number of our impact forwards.

Up against a practically full strength team.

So you should be relatively proud of your team then.. still managed to push us all the way!

Gaba

Look I have no problem with Dragons fans being happy that they have won 5 in a row.. good for them. What I do have a problem with is morons (Gaba) who come here and say their team is the almighty and claim other teams are lucky when that smacks of hypocrisy...

When have i came in gloating i didnt even say anything about last nights game , all i have done is responded to someone saying the dragons would have lost against Brisbane and Penrith.

All i went on are the previous clashes between them where the dragons finish on top in the last few years against both of them. So you cant say the dragons would have definely lost those games if the broncos or panthers were at full strength thats what i was commenting on.

I have never said the dragons will always win by 30+ every game they play so get your facts right , so its ok by you that every one is allowed to say how a team was lucky to win except for me talking about hypocritical

choc_soldier

You have to laugh at them bagging the Dragons for attempting a field goal, trying to take the lead is "negative" play.

I laughed at that too - it's a legitimate play, and Soward took the opportunity.

I reckon if we took it, Gould and co would have said that we were "edging ahead" or something like that.

After all, we were only hanging in, and the Dragons should have put 40 on us by that time if they "respected" us more.

Hutty1986

I laughed at that too - it's a legitimate play, and Soward took the opportunity.

I reckon if we took it, Gould and co would have said that we were "edging ahead" or something like that.

After all, we were only hanging in, and the Dragons should have put 40 on us by that time if they "respected" us more.

I watched this game with a mate of mine (a huge penrith fan who went to St Doms) and we burst out laughing when Gus goes "The Dragons look ominous here!" They'd done SFA up until then!

Bicey_18

When have i came in gloating i didnt even say anything about last nights game , all i have done is responded to someone saying the dragons would have lost against Brisbane and Penrith.

All i went on are the previous clashes between them where the dragons finish on top in the last few years against both of them. So you cant say the dragons would have definely lost those games if the broncos or panthers were at full strength thats what i was commenting on.

I have never said the dragons will always win by 30+ every game they play so get your facts right , so its ok by you that every one is allowed to say how a team was lucky to win except for me talking about hypocritical

First I didnt even mention last nights game.. Im going by your previous comments.

You say that nobody can say the dragons would have lost if they played the sides full strength? But at the same time you couldnt say they would have won either..

Didnt you say Dragons would beat Newcastle 30+ a few weeks ago?
Didnt you say the Dragons would beat Parramatta 30+ a few weeks ago?
Didnt you say that the Dragons are a top 4 side and that they will come 3rd?

When you are the one that comes on and says teams are lucky (e.g in a manly thread when the dragons have not even been mentioned), then of course there will be people who retaliate.

All I'm hearing is whinging... here are the facts - Penrith wasn't good enough to win last night, irrespective of referees or injuries. As I said you got the rub of the green in the first half and didn't take as much advantage of it as you perhaps should have. At the end of the day you lost, by a point... which is as good as losing by any margin. Back up next week, see if you can snot the Broncos at home.

Someone in the army should make a banner "I'd rather be at Kogarah".

I must say, I particularly enjoyed the trumpet falling silent in the second half.

Personally, while I find the trumpet a good aid to a supporters group, surely if drums are banned, so should other loud musical instruments?

Godz Illa

Bicey_18.., either you're following Gaba around everywhere or you are easily baited. Try the ignore function, dude. Save yourself the headaches.