Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

09 R2 :: Sat :: Panthers 26 Bulldogs 28 @ CUA

Round 2 :: Panthers/Bulldogs

Game_Breaker

One of the Doggies clearly knocked the ball on or made a forward pass. Hard to tell whether he was trying to bat the ball on or control it. Either way it left his hands forward and shouldn't have been a try.

You're talking about the Stagg try. No, there was no knock on.

It seems like you're looking for an excuse to disallow the try, if you cant succeed with the knock on, the forward pass is your next excuse. But it wasnt forward either

Just a bullsh*t decision. Our player is running forward with momentum. What reason is there to call held? Why not just call held the second the opposition has a hand on a player? That's essentially what happened there. Although i didn't even hear them call held. I just heard us get penalised for a fair dinkum try.

That was the match winner right there. I knew once we got penalised for that it would change the game.

I dont agree with when he called held, but the fact is he did.

mxlegend99

It seems like you're looking for an excuse to disallow the try, if you cant succeed with the knock on, the forward pass is your next excuse. But it wasnt forward either
Absolute bullsh*t considering at that time Panthers had two tries disallowed under very similar circumstances. Yet the Doggies one was never even sent to the video referee.

The ball clearly left the hands forward though. IMO it looked like a knock-on, but could have easily been batted on as a pass that went forward. Either way, it shouldn't have been a try.

Had Penrith done the same thing, it would have been sent to the video referee. Considering almost exactly the same thing happened not long before and it was sent to the video referee to be disallowed. It should have been BOTD as there was no evidence to suggest we didn't score.

mxlegend99

my tv isn't big enough so i can't see everyone on the field lol, need to get a bigger tv.
As skeepe mentioned Eastwood went on the field to celebrate the match winning try, not sure about losing points but possibly be fined.

happened to brisbane when they scored. they lost the points but won it on appeal.

the points will only be taken away if both players had a hand in the try...not sure which player was referred to as the 14th, eastwood or ryan, because i could see ryan coming off the field at one stage and down in backplay.
If it was just after the try then it's no big deal really. Can see a minor fine, but nothing more happening. Without sound at the local club, i wasn't even aware of this incident. After hearing about it... it sounds like pretty much a non-event.

Game_Breaker

Absolute bullsh*t considering at that time Panthers had two tries disallowed under very similar circumstances. Yet the Doggies one was never even sent to the video referee.

The ball clearly left the hands forward though. IMO it looked like a knock-on, but could have easily been batted on as a pass that went forward. Either way, it shouldn't have been a try.

Had Penrith done the same thing, it would have been sent to the video referee. Considering almost exactly the same thing happened not long before and it was sent to the video referee to be disallowed. It should have been BOTD as there was no evidence to suggest we didn't score.

No, they wernt the same circumstances

There was NO knock on. I saw the replay, nobody touched the bomb, it bounced back

and it didnt go forward, there is no way it went forward. You're seeing things.

THE Bulldogs produced a thrilling Houdini-like comeback against Penrith last night, but it all might count for nothing after allegations they fielded 14 men late in the game.
The NRL has either fined or docked teams premiership points for fielding an extra player in previous seasons. Video footage appears to be inconclusive but the NRL will investigate.
In a night of drama, Penrith were howling after a controversial no try cost them victory.
There was also a flashpoint moment after the final siren with Penrith captain Petero Civoniceva confronting Bulldogs hooker Michael Ennis on the sideline.
Fighting back from 20-12 down at halftime, the Bulldogs were lifted by new buys Greg Eastwood and David Stagg.
But it was the post-match scuffle between Ennis and Civoniceva that had that had fans talking.
The former Broncos team-mates had to be separated by team-mates as they shaped up after the siren.
The normally reserved Civoniceva played down the incident, while the Bulldogs escorted Ennis away from media after the match. A Bulldogs spokesman said Ennis was suffering a head knock and was unable to be interviewed.
Ennis copped a battering from the Panthers' chasers throughout the match and was felled by Civoniceva as he tried to kick the ball just before the altercation.
He was also the victim of an ugly lifting tackle in the 46th minute by Penrith hooker Masada Iosefa that could attract scrutiny from the NRL.
When told no-one had never seen him so riled as he was with Ennis, Civoniceva claimed: "You haven't seen me around my kids. The game had finished I'd felt ... one of our guys was hit on the sideline, and that's what it was. I'll leave it at that.
"The game has finished, we're over and done with. We're focused on next week.''
Bulldogs coach Kevin Moore said he didn't see the incident.
He also played down the prospect of losing the points after it was alleged Eastwood entered the field of play from the interchange bench to celebrate Ben Roberts' last-minute try.
Fox Sports last night claimed the Bulldogs had little to be concerned about, believing Eastwood had no effect on play.

"There was some confusion down on the bench. Obviously at that stage of the game when you're coach and you're down by four, and you put on a match-winning play, there's a bit of confusion on the bench,'' Moore said.
"We've got no further comment to make until we check the film, and if the NRL mention anything about it we'll obviously have to have a look at it.''
Moore praised Eastwood's contribution after he arrived at the club on Monday and took on the Panthers after just two training runs under his belt.
"I thought he was outstanding,'' Moore said.
"He put a try on for us in the second half just when we needed something and then he scores a try off Mick Ennis,'' Moore said.
"You wouldn't expect him to be 100 per cent match fit, but he's obviously done a great job individually, which is a great credit to him.''
The Panthers looked set for victory when Trent Waterhouse snared his second try in the 66th minute, but the Bulldogs' tenacity proved too much.
"I was proud of the boys,'' Panthers coach Matt Elliott said.
"I know we're being dismissed and we're not even being looked at, but I feel immensely confident that if we put in that amount of effort our cohesion will come.''

mxlegend99

No, they wernt the same circumstances

There was NO knock on. I saw the replay, nobody touched the bomb, it bounced back

and it didnt go forward, there is no way it went forward. You're seeing things.
No mate. You're just not seeing things. The ball clearly travelled forward during that passage of play, and at the very least deserved to be sent to the video referee. Every Panthers try was sent there... except for the Sammut one which was disallowed on the spot. (only because no video referee could have disallowed that. it was clearly a try).

Game_Breaker

No mate. You're just not seeing things. The ball clearly travelled forward during that passage of play, and at the very least deserved to be sent to the video referee. Every Panthers try was sent there... except for the Sammut one which was disallowed on the spot. (only because no video referee could have disallowed that. it was clearly a try).

Firstly, you cant rule on forward passes with the video ref.

At first I thought it was forward, but after looking at it with non panthers bias glasses on, I saw that it travelled backwards. He even caught the ball behind him ffs

scottyeel

Firstly, you cant rule on forward passes with the video ref.

At first I thought it was forward, but after looking at it with non panthers bias glasses on, I saw that it travelled backwards. He even caught the ball behind him ffs
And you definitely wouldn't have blue and white glasses on would you?

Don't see what arguing the toss is going to achieve, Bulldogs 28 Penrith 26. The ref was sh*t in both directions, I spotted a good 5 or 6 penalties that should've been awarded, a few each way that were just blindness from the refs.

abpanther

The refereeing was pathetic, having said that the Panthers had plenty of chances to win the game, our last tackle options were pathetic, our halves can't kick for sh*t.

choc_soldier

Heartened by a much better performance from the Pennies this week. I'll echo the sentimonies of a number of previous posters that the refs were duds. That aside, we had more than enough ball to put them away, just like we did against Cronulla - our execution in attack within the 20 is just shocking. Sammut still has that glory hunter aspect in his game, going for short grubbers for himself when perhaps spinning the ball further wide was the best option.

Interestingly, the 14 man issue was mentioned at the midnight bulletin on Fox Sports News, but was not mentioned in the 9am one this morning. But it would appear that reading the Sun Herald this morning that it will still be investigated.

If the 2 points are stripped (highly unlikely), us Panthers fans would be living on false hope if we're thinking that we'll get them - I don't think it's never happened (happy to be proven wrong). The worse will probably be a fine.

Caged Panther

Didn't want to say anything until after I saw the replay but having seen the call against us when sammutt went over was rubbish.

The ref never called held he said two. Even if you take the call of two to mean held it came after the moment where sammutt had his knee on the ground and the only place sammut could have gone to ground after he called two was over the tryline.

Totall bullsh*t call that cost us the game.

Sleep

Disappointing finish to the game. Sammut's no try should of been a try. If he was on halfway he hits the deck and gets up and plays the ball.

On the footy show just now they replayed the footage and held was never even called.

Having said that though the Panthers last tackle options are absolute balls. They should of wrapped it up earlier last night.

I thought he should've been called held earlier as well, but the penalty was surprising nonetheless.

murraymob

funny thing is channel nine just showed it.The ref clearly called 2 not held.Then after sammut crosses line and is falling calls a clear held.All channel nine panel say its a try.But it will not be in the paper today so we move on and look to next week

Caged Panther

.All channel nine panel say its a try.But it will not be in the paper today so we move on and look to next week

Of course if it had happened to the Roosters or Manly, any of the so called glamour teams, we'd be hearing about it for the next few days.:roll:

Yes, everyone's out to get Penrith :lol: F**k me.

Dogs cleared of 14 men btw.

Flapper

Yes, everyone's out to get Penrith :lol: F**k me.

Penrith seem to get a lot of 50/50 calls go against them when they play at home. Gavin Badger and Jason Robinson (someone who actually lives in Penrith) being the main two culprits.

I say this as someone who goes to all the CUA games, but is a Tigers fan.