Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'10 | R2 | Sun | Eels 24-20 Sea Eagles | Parramatta

Result: Eels v Sea Eagles

The 110m Tahu try started by Hayne was just replayed on Fox 2.

**** the refs and **** Manly. Parra deserved to win for that one try alone.

effnic

If we were playing nrl street on xbox i would agree, but you dont get extra points for style. But yes was a fantastic try.

mave

Good stuff champ, maybe we should start handing out premierships based on 40 seconds of magic. Great call.

Look out Gallop.

Jason Maher

It has nothing to do with momentum.

It has to do with the fact that the play came in the 75th minute, and Manly were leading by 8.

The correct call is made, Manly get a scrum feed and get to work it down the field, kick it over the sideline, and Parramatta have 3 minutes to score 2 tries and they are 90m away from the Manly tryline.

The fact that the try was awarded meant that Parramatta got the ball back again from the kickoff, allowing them to charge down the field and maintain their momentum, which you are talking about.

So let's bring it back to that - had Keating's pass been correctly pulled up, there is definitely the possibility / probability that Parramatta heads would have gone down at having blown a good chance to score and get right back into the match with 5 minutes to go ...

We can't sit here and speculate on what definitively would have happened ... but we can sit here and say that Manly lost the match by one try, and one of Parramatta's tries in the last few minutes came as a result of a blatantly incorrect call by the referees.

Take from that what you will.

The exact same argument could be applied to our win against the Dogs last year. Only the rough call didn't even leave them 3 minutes to make amends.

Good stuff champ, maybe we should start handing out premierships based on 40 seconds of magic.

You mustn't have been at the '97 Grand Final. I was. It's a game of inches mate; 40 seconds is all it takes.

All I'm saying is there's a lot of hate around here for Parra and Hayne, and it seems to be because of the media hype and people wondering why.

The Tahu try is why. People don't want to see Manly or Melbourne grind their way to premierships; they want to see exciting teams.

That's why Parra are premiership favourites despite having nothing in the halves.

mave

You mustn't have been at the '97 Grand Final. I was. It's a game of inches mate; 40 seconds is all it takes.

All I'm saying is there's a lot of hate around here for Parra and Hayne, and it seems to be because of the media hype and people wondering why.

The Tahu try is why. People don't want to see Manly or Melbourne grind their way to premierships; they want to see exciting teams.

That's why Parra are premiership favourites despite having nothing in the halves.

I was at the 97 GF. Manly should have won that game by 20 easy, but for the heart and guts (and roids) of the knights, and the inabilty of Manly to put the game to bed.

From memory, Manly scored something like 102 - 4 in the 3 finals games they played to win the comp in 2008 (Dragons, Warriors, Storm?). Doesn't sound like Manly "ground" their way to a premiership, seemed pretty exiciting to me?

You're right Manly should have won that grand final by 20 - they were the best on the day and by far the best team all season.

But after a couple of soft Robbie O'Davis tries it all came down to 10 seconds of Andrew Johns magic; Manly scored dozens of tries in 1997 but none as amazing as that one.

Doesn't sound like Manly "ground" their way to a premiership, seemed pretty exiciting to me?

Points scored have nothing to do with grind; you can grind your way to a big win. That's all about field position, completion rate and possession.

Excitement (for the neutral and the media) is all about the kinds of tries you score.

Springs

What a bunch of whinging manly fans. Yes your team got ripped off, yes that was a forward pass, but no, you didn't deserve to win the game. I think Watmough summed it up perfectly after the game, he didn't complain about the forward pass, he just knew that they can't let leads go like that, they couldn't stop the momentum, and the bounce of the ball went Parramattas way in the second half. Who is to say that if the pass had been pulled up then from the resulting scrum Manly throw an intercept or knock it on and Eels score straight after? It's not set in stone that Manly would have been down the other end and Eels have to score 2 tries in 3 minutes like some are suggesting. If Manly had really deserved to win that game they would have stopped that last try and halted the momentum, but ya didn't, so too bad. There has been plenty of instances where Manly has got over the line based on ref decisions, the Sharks game last year is an example.

skeepe

yeh fair enough mate - every fan will have different perspectives on their teams games. i thought manly were going to flog us at half time but i kept hoping they would lose some control like last week. just sucks games get decided on sh*t decisions etc but thats footy

nah didnt see that aye but thats ridiculous, concentrate on this year aye lol commentators love doing that though give them even more time to rant and rave about bullsh*t

I've figured it out... you're the Parramatta version of Gaba.

natheel

I've figured it out... you're the Parramatta version of Gaba.

lol come one mate im not THAT much of a wanker, i i said some dickhead things in this thread today but meh im sure everyone has before, plus i never said manly didnt deserve to win or werent ripped off i wasnt biased towards parra at all. so how am i coming off like gaba? lol

natheel

Im over it i was expecting to lose that game by at least 30 before the start of the game, im proud of how we played today showed we will be in the 8 come finals time. Whinging about the forward pass wont get us the 2 points back, so all thats left to do is dig in next week and play the FULL 80 mins.

:thumn

skeepe

lol come one mate im not THAT much of a wanker, i i said some dickhead things in this thread today but meh im sure everyone has before, plus i never said manly didnt deserve to win or werent ripped off i wasnt biased towards parra at all. so how am i coming off like gaba? lol

I never said you were a wanker. Gaba isn't a wanker, he's just a bit special.

renouf

Im over it i was expecting to lose that game by at least 30 before the start of the game, im proud of how we played today showed we will be in the 8 come finals time. Whinging about the forward pass wont get us the 2 points back, so all thats left to do is dig in next week and play the FULL 80 mins.

Manly won't make the 8, especially now that Stewart is out for most of the season.

effnic

Oh yeah cause you said that in your previous post. How silly of me even though u were one of many bagging the sh*t out of Orford when he did play for us but now hes gone we suck pffft. f**k your a tool, but a tool that thinks he can tell the future aswell. Can we be friends? Your awesome.