Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'12 | 2nd QF | Sat 5:45pm | Storm 24-6 Rabbitohs | AAMI

Qualifying Final Winner: Storm v Rabbitohs

LESStar58

Souths got schooled in finals footy. storm looking good. And they did it missing arguably their best prop and their best centre...both who will be welcomed back in a fortnight. Take that Sydney media you scummy pigs.

Went on and on about Storm relying too heavily on their big 3...yet failed to realise how much Souths relied on just one GI.

Ryles? Our best prop?

Hoggy

Put $50 on Hoffman to score first try, and $50 on him to score anytime.

$1500 in the kitty...

LESStar58

Hoffman really went up a gear. I think if anyone has a point to prove it is him. I reckon he would have taken the stripping of premierships harder than the others and is desperate to get one back.

My biggest concern out of tonight is that we only managed a further 6 points in the 2nd half. Storm seem content to defend their lead rather than add to it. It might be viable against a team like Souths but we'll get taken apart by the Bulldogs or Manly. Attack needs to improve. Defense, on the other hand, was outstanding! 3 times in the 2nd half Farrel and Everingham were snuffed out by the defense for 2 going in to touch and the 3rd being held up. Still room to improve but tonight was probably our best showing against quality opposition since the Dogs in April.

Fonua, well, I had doubts about him under the bomb but he did a splendid job tonight! And for him to get over the line too!

Souths were their own worst enemy. They had all the ball and territory on the back of their first set of six and then pissed it away through poor last tackle options, errors, or just too-dam-good Melbourne defense. Ingliss was nuliffied to the point he was ineffective but don't know how he was expected to perform seeing as his forwards were more interested in fighting (Crocker, as much as I like him, has let his temper go out the window. If he was still at Melbourne and carrying on like that Bellamy would rip him a new arsehole. Taylor was not much better either) and pissing and moaning to the referee about being hard done by.

Ron's_Mate

Big Dave Taylor should join the Sea Eagles; would fit right in with those dumb grubs. What are they thinking?

"I'll race up and take this blokes head off - that'll intimidate them!"
followed by
"Bloody ref penalised me again - what's the go with that?"

Here's my two cents:

Melbourne Storm were strong all over the park and their experience in finals was the factor. They shut down Sutton and Reynolds and gave them nothing and the big forwards of Souths were handled with ease in the middle of the ruck.

Hoffman played a blinder and led from the front, Slater took half chances and set the momentum for the night and Fonua is growing in confidence match by match.

Souths got schooled in finals footy. storm looking good. And they did it missing arguably their best prop and their best centre...both who will be welcomed back in a fortnight. Take that Sydney media you scummy pigs.

Went on and on about Storm relying too heavily on their big 3...yet failed to realise how much Souths relied on just one GI.

The best thing that could have happened to Storm was that injury to Slater, Chambers mid season etc.

It has forced other players to stand up and be counted and IMO the depth has increased across the park which was a big factor last night. Widdop was prominent last night as was Waqa and this would not have been the case earlier in the season.

azza29

The best thing that could have happened to Storm was that injury to Slater, Chambers mid season etc.

It has forced other players to stand up and be counted and IMO the depth has increased across the park which was a big factor last night. Widdop was prominent last night as was Waqa and this would not have been the case earlier in the season.

Absolutely right. At the post-match presser Bellamy said that one more injury would have seen us using one of the guys who hasn't played a first-grade match yet. It wasn't our first 17 out there but you wouldn't know it from how they played. Great effort all round.

Well...that was painful. A lot of our players just had no idea what finals intensity is like.

Hopefully it makes them better for it and manage to learn from it for next week.

But i thought the Rabbits "tanked" so that they could play the Storm as it was the "easier" game rather than play the Dogs

I thought souths would go better then that but really look at the facts:

Souths haven't beaten a top 8 team since round 10
They had the best draw of any team in the comp
Souths only played 1 top 6 team twice and every team that missed the 8 twice (except the warriors)

They are flat track bullies who are falsely positioned on the ladder. Really they are an average team plus one absolute superstar.

Tonight they were 100% full strength against a team missing FIVE of their starting 13 and still got their arse handed to them.

Evenflow

And I'm just glad our halfback isn't one that suffers stage fright. Will make a big difference for us at this time of year.

Plenty can go wrong, it won't be Adam choking though

So Bran, in all seriousness what the verdict on Reynolds last night? Did he just have an off night? Was it because he well contained by the Storm? Or did the big occasion just get to him? i.e Did he just have a good old fashion choke? I highly doubt you'll say the latter given your staunch defence and belief he wouldn't choke but it'll be interesting to hear your thoughts all the same.

Also just read all the posts from when the game was on. Massive lulz at Bunniesturd and his incessant whingeing :lol:

I thought souths would go better then that but really look at the facts:

Souths haven't beaten a top 8 team since round 10
They had the best draw of any team in the comp
Souths only played 1 top 6 team twice and every team that missed the 8 twice (except the warriors)

They are flat track bullies who are falsely positioned on the ladder. Really they are an average team plus one absolute superstar.

Tonight they were 100% full strength against a team missing FIVE of their starting 13 and still got their arse handed to them.

Tonight we saw the difference between contenders and pretenders. Souths out in straight sets next week.

BunniesMan

But i thought the Rabbits "tanked" so that they could play the Storm as it was the "easier" game rather than play the Dogs
You are an idiot. If you're going to use my words against me at least get it right and find the quote before you make yourself look stupid. I said tanking would be good...TO GET FOURTH AND AVOID A TRIP TO MELBOURNE. Idiot.

Look at the outs that Storm had last night...Chambers, Manu, Ryles, Lowrie, Duffie.

That was a bloody good result.

So Bran, in all seriousness what the verdict on Reynolds last night? Did he just have an off night? Was it because he well contained by the Storm? Or did the big occasion just get to him? i.e Did he just have a good old fashion choke? I highly doubt you'll say the latter given your staunch defence and belief he wouldn't choke but it'll be interesting to hear your thoughts all the same.

Also just read all the posts from when the game was on. Massive lulz at Bunniesturd and his incessant whingeing :lol:

He is just an average player and that was shown last night

But yes the occasion definitely got to him. Early on souths had storm under pressure, last tackle and he passes to Taylor who puts in a terrible kick. Then 10 mins later he put in a shocking bomb for no reason on the 4th tackle that the backs knew nothing about. That's what happens when you are one dimensional.

bottle

Kid's a superstar. Brilliant kicking game last night.
No matter how hard I tried I couldn't kick it as accurately as he did into people's arms all night like that.
Outstanding.

Jason Maher

I wouldn't read anything into Reynolds from that game. He's a kid having his first taste of finals footy in his first season in the top grade.

Evenflow

I wouldn't read anything into Reynolds from that game. He's a kid having his first taste of finals footy in his first season in the top grade.

That was the whole point though. While i rate the kid and i think he'll only continue to get better i always thought he'd be susceptible to finals pressure his first time, especially coming up against Melbourne in Melbourne. BranVan was under the impression that just because it appeared he handled pressure throughout the regular season that he'd be able to instantly step up in finals when that is often not the case. He compared a NYC grand finals to a first grade semi when they're so far apart it isn't funny.

Maybe that naievity from BranVan comes from not seeing his team in the finals that much (or maybe never) and just thought regular season form translates into the finals. He'll be much better for the run and i'm sure he'll learn a hell of a lot, but given he's so young leading his team around the park it was always going to be a big possibility he was going to struggle at his first attempt.