Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'12 | CS | Sat 18 Feb 7:30pm | Rabbitohs 12-18 Dragons | ANZ

Charity Shield: Winners?

BranVan3000

I know you're trying to mock my post but your mate Bunniesderp said that my team were certainties for the spoon despite winning all trials and honestly I wasn't impressed by Souths at all, seemed like the only way to the tryline was through forwards jumping from 1m out. But in saying that you have Merritt and Inglis on the sidelines, two players who can find their way to the tryline well and in combination with Taylor and Burgess you guys will definitely be enjoyable to watch. Bring on round 1.

Generally speaking our tries have always been found through our starting backline, and Burgess/Taylor from the forward pack. The rest of the team don''t contribute a great deal to our scoring

2010Dragons

Nice picture.....
ma7zpj.jpg

sputneek

Generally speaking our tries have always been found through our starting backline, and Burgess/Taylor from the forward pack. The rest of the team don''t contribute a great deal to our scoring

Sorta a worrying sign when your halves don't contribute to your tries (not scoring them, setting them up).

grouch

Adam Reynolds trying to start a petulant stink after the final whistle. Looks like Souths have replaced their turd halfback with another one

hybrid_tiger

Adam Reynolds trying to start a petulant stink after the final whistle. Looks like Souths have replaced their turd halfback with another one

Good to see Luke getting involved too, like the grub only knows how. Can't wait till someone knocks that mouthy prick the f**k out.

wibble

I know you're trying to mock my post but your mate Bunniesderp said that my team were certainties for the spoon despite winning all trials and honestly I wasn't impressed by Souths at all, seemed like the only way to the tryline was through forwards jumping from 1m out. But in saying that you have Merritt and Inglis on the sidelines, two players who can find their way to the tryline well and in combination with Taylor and Burgess you guys will definitely be enjoyable to watch. Bring on round 1.

Fair enough. If you can admit your'e trolling on BunniesMan because of his outrageous swagger, I can admit I was just stalking you because of the Sharks March Premiers thread you started.

Some off season shenanigans before the real sledging begins!

I didn't actually watch the game, but a close loss doesn't seem too bad in a trial. If, as you say, Inglis and Merritt are to return that should help South's attack. I worry that their halves may not be up to it this year (all new players, even if they have loads of "potential" are up against it in such a tough competition, and halves even more so, and Sutton has yet to have a consistent season), and if that is the case Souths will really struggle. But I can see why their fans have hope- who knows, Reynolds might be the next DCE.

I have similar worries for the Roosters, as they showed a heap of potential at the end of last year, but those young forwards are yet to be really tested through a grinding season, and the NRL is very tough on young forwards as well. Pearce finally looked in control in some games too, so hopefully he kicks on from there. My mate used to drive us to Sydney to watch the footy for years and he was a Roosters fan, so I saw most of their games live for years, and developed a bit of a soft spot for them (loved the F Troop).

Round 1 clash between two traditional rivals and great old Sydney clubs should be fantastic! And people want to take this sort of rivalry out of the game :roll:

But of course, my team (not the Bunnies, as you may have gathered, but the Sharks) are also in a similar position- coming from a not so great season and hoping some young players break through.

I thought the Dragons might do it tougher this year, but again their fans have plenty to be confident about, and the trial results at least show they haven't collapsed after Bennett left. King really does look quite a prospect, hope he has better luck this year than in recent years.

I'd like to see all the clubs that struggled in recent years do well, particularly the Sydney clubs to head off talks about "reducing" the competition. The only clubs I really can't stand are Manly and Melbourne (so I've had a blast these last few years :( )

Ozzy

1. Those early trials were little more than hit and giggle and giving kids a go. The final trial is the first time anything close to a 1st choice 17 is used. We'll win tonight. Then in a couple weeks we'll pump Little Brother to begin our journey to our first top 4 finish since before I was born.

2. You'd still have more kids than a 7.30pm kick off. Not many parents want to come home with a car full of young ones at 11pm.
Little brother? :lol: We have played in more seasons than you. As for pumping, if you mean beat us, thanks for the increased chance of winning. If you mean annything else, no thanks.

Ozzy

I've been to more games than you. And I've never seen souths in a finals game? Lol fool. 2007 we made it to the finals.

Also people don't just teleport from the stadium to home. Some people travel over an hour to get there. And less parents with young primary school aged kids will go to a 7.30 game than they would to an arvo game.
:roll: Now this is onne of the reasons why people pay out on you (even some of your fellow supporters). How would you know that?

Ozzy

Very good defense. The better team for large stretches of the game. Adam Reynolds will be the real deal. Sam Burgess will reaffirm the fact that he is the best forward in the game. Souths a lock for the top 4.

The improvements to the team that Maguire has provided have already been evident. Would a better result have been nice? Sure. But trials aren't for that. Plenty of examples of teams losing trials only to go onto a successful season.

Counting down the days till we murder the spoon contenders also known as Little Brother.
:lol: What happened to 42-6 dreamer?