Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'12 | R14 | Fri | Storm 6-10 Tigers | AAMI

Round 14 result: Storm v Tigers

Refs get the Tigers home... what else is new.
Still dirty about the refs getting the Tigers home 40-0 against the Raiders last week.
We were not great,but we won,that is 2 more points,we will be better with Ellis,Farah,Moltzen and Cashmere back,I am looking forward to the finals,how about you?

Spuddicus

Seriously, though bagging out the refs should get a life. There were no real clangers in that game and refs are always going to make a mistake here and there. No way did the refs decide that game.

They got some difficult calls absolutely correct, and I'd say the standard tonight was better that it has been lately.

there were two big clangers that i saw.

Widdop being held off the ball by beau after putting through a chip.

adam blair nearly taking off ryles head when he was close to the try line.

no name

Blair grabbed him by his jersey on his shoulder, nothing in it.

The Widdop one should have been a penalty.

gronkathon

Blair grabbed him by his jersey on his shoulder, nothing in it.

The Widdop one should have been a penalty.

This.

One thing I noticed from both teams that I am not a fan of is setting up a wall of blockers for their fullback, it is classic obstruction for mine

no name

I think it mainly happens when teams pass it deep to kick, if they stand a bit shallower, the defense has to stay up, when the go deep, the blockers tend to drop back quicker.

It's not a good look but.

Evenflow

The Storm have comparatively little to offer when missing them and if Cronk, Slater or especially Smith went down with a season ending injury next week, they will struggle to make top 4 and be almost no chance to make the GF - he's that good.

and if Benji went down with a season ending injury they'd be no chance to make the GF given he pretty much holds that team together. We keep hearing ad nauseam that the Storm are nothing without the "big 3" but take the 3 (in some cases less) most influential players out of any team and off course they're going to be much weaker. Benji and/or Farah, DCE, Foran and Stewart, Reynolds, Luke and Inglis, JT and Bowen, Maloney and Johnson, Carney and Gallen, the list goes on for every team yet the only team that would crash and burn without their best players is the Storm :roll:

The Tigers are also missing Tedesco more than many fans of other teams would realise - he really is a massive talent with huge potential that few have had the chance to see.

No doubt Tedesco is a great talent but i'm not sure you can miss a player too much who's only played a half hour of first grade football.....

Widdop should have been a penalty however they got a goal line drop out and scored from that set, so they weren't disadvantaged at all by the call.

The Blair one was 100% legal an a great tackle, it just looked bad cause of the way ryles body fell

gronkathon

To go down there in those conditions and win was great.

The Storm without their Origin stars is still no easy prospect in the wet in Melbourne.

Considering we were without a few guns as well and were playing a rookie with 1.5 games under his belt at pivot I really am happy, even happier backing up for the second week on really heavy tracks.

We are not setting the world on fire or overplaying our hands but we are getting the job done. In previous years I guarantee we would have lost the games against the Titans, Eels (we tried hard to this time) Warriors and Storm sides we played. We are winning sometimes ugly and rarely hitting full stride and that is a great sign

Noa

Neither team played anywhere near their best, and were missing a number of players - especially the Storm with the big 3. Happy to take the 2 points and focus on next week.

The Storm have comparatively little to offer when missing them and if Cronk, Slater or especially Smith went down with a season ending injury next week, they will struggle to make top 4 and be almost no chance to make the GF - he's that good.

The Tigers are also missing Tedesco more than many fans of other teams would realise - he really is a massive talent with huge potential that few have had the chance to see. Add Ellis and Farah to that list, and while it doesn't stack up to the lofty heights of Cronk, Slater and Smith, it's still a trio of players that any club would gladly have.

:crazy: :lol:

Thats up there with the derpiest posts Ive read.

sensesmaybenumbed

Nah mate, you're bang on. The Storm are way better when Smith, Cronk and Slater aren't playing.

If that's the derpiest post you've ever read, then whoever taught you how to read did a terrible job.

Thanks for showing us noa has no clue.

sensesmaybenumbed

and if Benji went down with a season ending injury they'd be no chance to make the GF given he pretty much holds that team together. We keep hearing ad nauseam that the Storm are nothing without the "big 3" but take the 3 (in some cases less) most influential players out of any team and off course they're going to be much weaker. Benji and/or Farah, DCE, Foran and Stewart, Reynolds, Luke and Inglis, JT and Bowen, Maloney and Johnson, Carney and Gallen, the list goes on for every team yet the only team that would crash and burn without their best players is the Storm :roll:

No doubt Tedesco is a great talent but i'm not sure you can miss a player too much who's only played a half hour of first grade football.....

Yep, same could be said for every team, Wests Tigers included.
Show me where I suggested otherwise.

The fact is both teams were missing a few very important players - the Storm moreso than Wests Tigers.
Both teams are capable of much better footy - particularly the Storm when their spine returns from Origin duty.
No need to get so defensive when the reality of this is pointed out.

As for Tedesco, plans were made around an entire preseason - but sure, you can change the team structure to cover a major loss after half an hour of first grade football....:roll:

Spot on...even Storm with one of Cronk, Slater or Smith would have potentially beaten the Tigers last night.

The fact of last night was that Storm were also without Proctor, Manu looked short of match fitness etc yet the Tigers beat Storm by 4 and essentially were lucky to win it.

IMO the tigers would look extremely more vulnerable than Storm if Marshall got injured.

sensesmaybenumbed

Spot on...even Storm with one of Cronk, Slater or Smith would have potentially beaten the Tigers last night.

Ya lost.

The fact of last night was that Storm were also without Proctor, Manu looked short of match fitness etc yet the Tigers beat Storm by 4 and essentially were lucky to win it.

Ya lost in Melbourne to the Tigers. For the first time ever.

IMO the tigers would look extremely more vulnerable than Storm if Marshall got injured.

Ya lost in Melbourne to the Tigers. For the first time ever. Marshall played poorly. And you still lost.

The Storm are a quality team - they should be there deep into the semis if injury gods are kind, as is true with every other team.
Widdop is also quite the talent, and best of luck with Chambers getting back for 2013.

T.T

you can't just speculate like that.. potentially they would have lost with all 3 as well. you never know

With one of Cronk, Slater or Smith playing Melbourne would have won by 10.
With two of those players there Melbourne would have won by 20.
With all three players in the team Melbourne would have won by 30.

If Ellery Henley played the full 80 mins in the 1988 GF, Balmain would've won by 40.

Don't take the loss too badly, the Storm are still odds-on-favourite to be premiers.

LOL at all the bitter tears, dry your eyes mexicans....cant handle losing???

Why arent all you fortune tellers out at the races this arvo?

FMD...I can handle armchair experts, but give the ''if this'' and ''if that'' shit a break eh?