Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'12 | Rivalry (#2) R20 | Sat | Rabbitohs 36-14 Dragons | ANZ

Round 20 result: Rabbitohs v Dragons

Fire

In 2010 they struck fear into the hearts of opposition.

Sadly for you guys, its not 2010 anymore.

In saying that, we are primed for a loss in this one. Short turnaround, emotional last minute victory yesterday. Isaac Luke MIA. Inglis and Reynolds with niggling injury.

If you can't beat us this Saturday then you won't and don't deserve to play finals football this year.

Good post, can't really disagree with any of that. Yeah we need 4/5 wins from 7, so if we can't do that we don't deserve to be there Finals time, really hope they do make it though.

BranVan3000

Since round 1:

7-1 in ANZ.
10-1 in Sydney overall
7-0 against non top 8 teams

We beat them in Kogarah, we can beat them in ANZ. Yes we lose a bit of spark without Luke but we have defended very well the last few weeks, and they offer little in attack. 18 points will win this game, we can score 18 without Luke.

ANZ is really a fortress for us now. Think it'll be a big factor in the game

Jason Maher

Since round 1:

7-1 in ANZ.
10-1 in Sydney overall
7-0 against non top 8 teams

We beat them in Kogarah, we can beat them in ANZ. Yes we lose a bit of spark without Luke but we have defended very well the last few weeks, and they offer little in attack. 18 points will win this game, we can score 18 without Luke.

I think the word you were looking for was "at".

BranVan3000

Obviously you didn't watch the game on against Cronulla.

I watched it. Dragons attack wasn't impressive, one try coming off a dodgy knock on ruling and another from a Carney error. Cronulla controlled most of the game, when Dragons got in attacking opportunities they continually blew it. Played well overall though but I wouldn't be acting like that performance is a turn around on your attacking form throughout the year

Fire

I watched it. Dragons attack wasn't impressive, one try coming off a dodgy knock on ruling and another from a Carney error. Cronulla controlled most of the game, when Dragons got in attacking opportunities they continually blew it. Played well overall though but I wouldn't be acting like that performance is a turn around on your attacking form throughout the year

True. But we had less possession and were playing care-free footy. We haven't had a 'purple-patch' this season yet. Throwing the ball around may start this on Saturday as our 17 is finally becoming settled at the right time of year, but it may not. Time will tell, just looking forward to a good game of footy.

BranVan3000

True. But we had less possession and were playing care-free footy. We haven't had a 'purple-patch' this season yet. Throwing the ball around may start this on Saturday as our 17 is finally becoming settled at the right time of year, but it may not. Time will tell, just looking forward to a good game of footy.

Well I hope after you lose to us you start a nice 6 game winning streak and sneak into the finals :p Hopefully at the expense of Warriors or Cowboys, as playing Dragons in the finals would be much more interesting

Bumble

Two of Canterbury. Manly, Wests and North Queensland have to lose to this is a gigantic game for us. I'm really not confident coming off an emotional win like that (and no Luke, obviously) so it's absolutely vital that Inglis plays as well.

Souths by 1? I'll take it tbh.

Fire

Well I hope after you lose to us you start a nice 6 game winning streak and sneak into the finals :p Hopefully at the expense of Warriors or Cowboys, as playing Dragons in the finals would be much more interesting

No worries mate lol. Nah it's shaping up to be a great game, can't wait.

to_ddeath

What Mackey said, think we can get this narrowly especially with Puke suspended. Will have to be a low-scoring affair for that to happen though like the last clash was.
Waiting for when Nemesis will lose his stack in here again. That'll be fun regardless of the end result :lol:

T.

SaraSassypants

Anyone discrediting the Dragons is mad. They are a great team and after that win last week theyre going to try different things and flex some attacking spark. Going with my Dad who's a Dragons supporter so hopefully it'll be a great match (of course it'd be greatest if Souths won) :p Close one. Will only be 1-6 in it.

the dude

So often you see teams back up after an emotional win very flat. This is going to be a big test for us. I wouldn't bet on either side with any confidence but I'll go Souths by 4.

This is why I'm tipping the dragons (and cause Luke is out)

I remember a few years back and penrith had a big come from behind win against Melbourne. John Lang said that although the win was good he was worried cause the players often forget why they were down by a fair margin in the first place. He said long term a loss may have been better for them. They came out next week and got smacked. You'll notice when most teams 'get out of gaol' they lose the next week.

Playing great for 3 minutes won't win you games every week.

BunniesMan

Fair enough if we played particularly badly until the final 2 minutes. But we were good, we had a disgusting one sided refereeing performance going against us.

This year we've won 2 games late in come from behind epics which ended in us winning golden point. Both times we won the following week. So we've shown we can back up the week after a crazy finish.

And losing Luke might in a way be a blessing because we'll know the win won't come easily without one of our key players and we'll all put in.

BranVan3000

This is why I'm tipping the dragons (and cause Luke is out)

I remember a few years back and penrith had a big come from behind win against Melbourne. John Lang said that although the win was good he was worried cause the players often forget why they were down by a fair margin in the first place. He said long term a loss may have been better for them. They came out next week and got smacked. You'll notice when most teams 'get out of gaol' they lose the next week.

Playing great for 3 minutes won't win you games every week.

Every player interviewed after the game said their performance wasn't good enough, I think they are aware