Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'13 WC | Semi Final | New Zealand 20-18 England | Wembley

Semi Final: NZ v ENG

Tone83

yet it goes missing when they play us....

anyway im in a pub in manchester,sinking a few before the train to london.....

lets have it!!!
Based on when this was posted, you're starting your pre-booze 28 hours before the game starts, pace yourself mate.

I don't think Kiwi's beating aussies helps the international game at all, in fact I don't think anyone beating the aussies helps the international game. If anything it just invalidates the professionalism of the NRL and lowers it to the level of the rest of the world of RL, ultimately dropping RL on a global scale to a joke amateur sport.

When every nation is filled with nrl players, then diverse outcomes will help the international game.

Admittedly kiwis winning doesn't hurt like other countries winning would, but it doesn't help either, we don't need NZ to get more behind RL, and if they're dominating 2 world cups in a row it will just make the world at large get yawnion and league even more mixed up than they already do.

the f**k? :lol:

Go England. Smack the Kiwi pretenders. This game should be an absolute belter, cant wait for tonight

Dark Chook

Jason Nightingale is a worthy replacement for the beast!

More important is his defence & will help strengthen that side with Goodwins inexperience. If they both combine well it may challenge Vatuvei as the incumbent should the team prevail.

Alex Glenn is a solid player & to me brings versatility, big game experience with great leadership qualities. He should have been ahead of Pritchard anyway.

Both are forced changes for Kearney but I reckon the team is much better for them.

I had my doubts but following the team announcements for both sides my confidence is up there.

For England, I rate Widdop but his inclusion so late in the comp after the coach banked his confidence in Chase is a major tactical blunder. Smooth, quick execution of the plays will be mingled with hesitancy when the pressure is on.

Previously I thought Kiwi's by 7, now by 18.

:cool:

Tone83

Does Krisnan Inu have some rare kind of air-born aids or something making them keep him away from the squad? First goodwin, now nightingale... NZ deserve to lose and I hope they do.

Edit- actually first hoffman and locke, Inu should have been fullback, but to not even be in the team while numpties like goodwin and nightingale are? NZ can go f themselves.

Harrigan

I've tipped the Kiwi's, but I'd love to see England get up. Purely for the crowd next week.

Remember the WC final in 08? We got behind the Kiwi's in a loud way that night and there were probably only 10/15k English fans there.

Who ever makes the final, the team not wearing green and gold will have a very loud support behind them :D

Springs

So after 4 weeks in UK/Ireland and 3 days in London I get a tooth infection the night before the semi and have to go to the dentist that morning. FFS after a sleepless night and a likely extraction this Big Hit better be good.

shiznit

Does Krisnan Inu have some rare kind of air-born aids or something making them keep him away from the squad? First goodwin, now nightingale... NZ deserve to lose and I hope they do.

Edit- actually first hoffman and locke, Inu should have been fullback, but to not even be in the team while numpties like goodwin and nightingale are? NZ can go f themselves.

Yeah... They call it being a liability...

He does too many stupid shit to justify putting him in a big game.

You could argue Manu does too... But he has come up massive in big games for the kiwis.

I'm happy with Nightingale being in there... He's a very good winger... A bit on the small side... But an exceptional winger.

Locke... Well I thought they would stick with Hoffman but both have there different positives.

Don't be surprised if we get past England tonight Hoffman comes in for the final... I think Kearney sees them at a similar level and is taking a horses for courses approach.

Also... Don't be surprised if Locke has a massive game... He will have massive motivation tonight considering he's up against Tomkins.

I bet Matthew Elliot will deadset be watching this game.... His two fullbacks going head to head on this massive stage...

To be honest... After the way Hoffman went this season with the broncs.... I would have seriously considered putting Hoffman on the wing if Locke was gonna get the nod at fullback...

But like I said earlier... Nightingale is an exceptional winger... He won't let anyone down.

shiznit

I've got a feeling that Shaun Johnson is gonna go massive tonight...

Most of the Poms have never played against him before... So his speed and footwork might suprise a few of them.

Interestingly I also note that Joey has been in town working with them... He's always been a mentor to Johnson... And has a strong relationship with Foran through manly.

I just have a feeling Johnson is poised to break out massively on the international scene...

I'd love to see Johnson get in to open space and go 1 on 1 with Tomkins... They will be team mates in a couple of weeks.

But Johnson is quicksilver when he gets in to open space....

royce10

Yeah... They call it being a liability...

He does too many stupid shit to justify putting him in a big game.

You could argue Manu does too... But he has come up massive in big games for the kiwis.

I'm happy with Nightingale being in there... He's a very good winger... A bit on the small side... But an exceptional winger.

Locke... Well I thought they would stick with Hoffman but both have there different positives.

Don't be surprised if we get past England tonight Hoffman comes in for the final... I think Kearney sees them at a similar level and is taking a horses for courses approach.

To be honest... After the way Hoffman went this season with the broncs.... I would have seriously considered putting Hoffman on the wing if Locke was gonna get the nod at fullback...

But like I said earlier... Nightingale is an exceptional winger... He won't let anyone down.

Rubbish! When was the last time he did 'stupid shit'? He's just been typecasted from one or two games.

Goodwin's deficiencies far outweigh Inu's. Inu out does Goodwin in almost every aspect of the game, plus he has x-factor.

I wouldn't mind Goodwin's bland attacking style if he were an exceptional defender but he isn't so why is he there again?

thorson1987

So after 4 weeks in UK/Ireland and 3 days in London I get a tooth infection the night before the semi and have to go to the dentist that morning. FFS after a sleepless night and a likely extraction this Big Hit better be good.

Your turning into one of them.

images

beefstew

Inu is a 50/50 player who only gives 100% when he feels like it, with Nightingale you could chop his leg off and he's still give his all which is exactly what you want in big games. Inu basically tries more ridiculous things that occasionally come off, which is what people remember, but conveniently forget about all the idiotic stuff that cost games.

ozbash

totally agree, he'll also provide good support for Locke, which Manu doesn't really do..