Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'14 // 4N Wk 1 // Sat 7:30pm // AUS 12-30 NZ // Suncorp

4 Nations Game 2: Australia v New Zealand

shiznit

If advocating an experienced representative prop coming off his best year of club footy makes me one eyed then I am happy to wear the tag.

I just think it makes good selection policy.
But you need to remember... That prop your advocating for plays for the Warriors...

So in the selectors eyes he doesn't exist...

Got a laugh at these Poms giving it to Australia.
England nearly lost to Samoa, and would have if not for the one sided. refereeing.

Rebel

Loads of convict butthurt in here. Was a good game considering both teams were under strength. We will see a totally different Aussie team in the final.

donny donny

Got a laugh at these Poms giving it to Australia.
England nearly lost to Samoa, and would have if not for the one sided. refereeing.

:D Yeah like that Samoa try that wasn't even grounded yet the video ref gave it.

I'm looking forward to what decisions we will see from Henry Perenara next weekend.

MrAnonymous

Please get rid off Sam Thaiday the merkin is barely first grade standard anymore and he's still making rep teams. f**king fraud.

Hope England and Samoa smash us.

mxlegend99

Partial list of unavailable players:

1. Slater
2. Morris
3. Morris
4. Hodges
5. Boyd
6. Hayne
7. Thurston
8. Scott
9. Friend
10. Myles
11. Lewis
12. Watmough
13. Gallen

14. Fifita
15. Merrin
16. Gillett
17. Tamou

Aswell as losing Inglis and DCE for the entire second half. New Zealand are too good to be able to beat when youre missing an entire teams worth of players and are missing half your spine for the entire second half.

Throw in a shit coach and the result should have been expected. Australia annihilated everyone in the world cup.last year, but the side this year is nearly completely different and for the first time in god knows how long had far less experience then the Kiwis.

I think Australia will beat Samoa and thats it. The forward pack is deadset shit and as much as people want to bag Sheens for selections, there simply isnt a good forward pack available with all these injuries. There might be one or two players who could be a slight improvement, but we cant name a pack on par with England and New Zealand. Not with our 5 best front rowers out.

Please get rid off Sam Thaiday the merkin is barely first grade standard anymore and he's still making rep teams. f**king fraud.

Hope England and Samoa smash us.

The guy looks like he walked into McDonalds straight after the Broncos last game and didn't leave the place until yesterday.

Here's my two cents...the Kiwis finally kept their composure and took their chances (apart from Nightingale in the first half).

They absolutely slaughtered the Aussies in the middle of the park and I would be concerned about Woods, Thaiday and Parker matching it with Graham and co next week.

Liked the look of Blair...finally played a strong game and Proctor, Bromwich and Eastwood laid the platform which was strong.

Mansour and Walker...the jury is out on these two. Mansour got limited opportunity and Walker got shifted out of position and looked nervous and a bit out of his depth positionally.

shinobi

Can never count australia out, theyll bounce back. Felt sorry for walker playing out of position wouldve made more sense for mansour to be there I wouldve thought.

I dont get isaac luke leading the haka when he wasnt even playing.

kbw

I'm looking forward to what decisions we will see from Henry Perenara next weekend.

If anyone one can predict what good old Henry will do, without one of the teams being $ouff$, they are a genius.

TheFrog

Felt sorry for walker playing out of position wouldve made more sense for mansour to be there I wouldve thought.

Would have made even more sense not to play a clearly unfit Inglis and instead have a fair dinkum and fit fullback in the team.

Some good might come out of this. If Aust continue to play like girlymen Sheens will surely be sacked. Surely.

Galeforce

It was a dumb move to risk Inglis when he was crook. It was even dumber not having a backup option for Fullback in case he didn't make it.

Yep.
I can understand taking the risk with GI in the first place, many a player has taken the field with an ailment like this AND given the number of debutants in the aussie team , the first half the risk was OK. However there was NO real plan B , especially with the exposed forward pack named.

Perhaps Alex J , should have been named on the wing , his preferred position is fullback and he could have stepped in for GI if required. That said , those two bombs that Walker failed on , were going to test any fullback. Other than those two bombs , Walker would have had a great game , his first half was very good especially defensively.

mxlegend99

Can never count australia out, theyll bounce back. Felt sorry for walker playing out of position wouldve made more sense for mansour to be there I wouldve thought.

I dont get isaac luke leading the haka when he wasnt even playing.
I doubt he would have been much better then Walker under those bombs if at all. The team named couldn't afford to lose a half or a fullback as there was no one really capable of being moved to cover those positions.

Walker was probably the best option to cover either fullback or 5/8th. If we wanted to risk Greg Inglis, we should have had him in the centres with Matt Moylan at fullback. Although it obviously wasn't worth the risk at all, and we should have just named the fully fit fullback. Greg Inglis wasn't near his best anyway, and it left the team having to shuffle players around for the second half to cover him.

Noname36

LMAO at the dickheadd blaming NSW for this. The spine was all QLD and injuries forced them into the team they had. Name any fit QLD players tgat improve the side.

Shit depth for QLD is why theres so few QLDers in the team.

Thaiday and Parker were two of the worst on the field too. Their age is showing badly.

GongPanther

Two important points.

Thaiday was having a whinge in regards to himself playing prop on TV a few days before the game.

If I was Sheens and saw this footage,I wouldn't pick this ungrateful bastard again.

And Ingliss...why did he play at all?

The usual procedure is to isolate a sick team member from the rest of the team (bedridden) so they can contain the spread.

Won't be a surprise if watch half of the side turn up with the flu during the week.

Tommy Smith

The absence of the likes of Lillyman. Tolman and McGuire from the squad should see all necessary parties involved sacked.

How can anyone suggest that Thaiday and Papalii are better props? What an insult.

The absence of the likes of Lillyman. Tolman and McGuire from the squad should see all necessary parties involved sacked.

How can anyone suggest that Thaiday and Papalii are better props? What an insult.

Completely agree...Tolman is getting overlooked for all rep teams IMO.

Will be another Alan Tongue...

Thaiday looked overweight and slow and the Kiwis completely dominated him in all aspects. If the Kiwis owned him imagine what Graham and the Burgess boys will do to him and Parker.

KeepingTheFaith

Tolman, Lillyman, McGuire...hell, even guys like Snowden and Hannant who have been around for awhile would gave been better options. My first reaction to the Aussie squad was that they were a development team mixed with players who are on the downward slope. Truth is guys like Bird and Thaiday have been getting carried at international level for awhile now due to having superior players around them. Those players get taken away and they got exposed.

This Australian side is light on for front rowers, I think we all see that. The Kiwis took their chances, converted them and played the smarter football last night. Australia? Took too many dumb options and low percentage plays for mine. Add in getting out muscled by the Kiwi forwards is it any wonder we lost. Kiwis were just too good.

Until our selectors realise you need specialist players in specialist positions this kind of crap will keep reoccurring.

Alan Johnson

After seeing these crowd shots you've got to wonder, has there ever been an attractive New Zealand woman? Makes you realise why every kiwi has migrated the hell away from there.

That doesn't explain why the women have migrated... And it can't be because NZ men are ugly, because I can assure you most of us are very handsome.