Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'14 // R15 // Sun // Storm 46-20 Eels // AAMI Park

Round 15: Storm v Eels

Y2Eel

Parra imploding again. This looks like their 5th season in a row without finals footy. Incredible.

And Hopoate has been nothing special this year. The one bloke in that list consistently bringing it is Peats.

Come on stick your neck out..

Will we make the 8 or not yes or no...

Mate, we've never won ONE spoon, let alone two in a row. Your trophy cabinet is dangerously close to becoming a kitchen cabinet :lol:
We've also never had News or the thoroughbreds propping up our club with brown paper bags, how poor have your mob gone since talbot bit the dust????

We suck but the bronc's are still our bitches, you even lost to a Parramantta team coached by Ricky Stuart lolollololol.

Parra imploding again. This looks like their 5th season in a row without finals footy. Incredible.

You're an idiot. We got a drubbing. If that ended a season on it's own, we'd have been done after the Roosters beat us. Or the Cowboys. Or the Panthers. Except we've also beaten all those sides. We might make it, we might not, but writing us off on the back of that game really just shows how little you know about anything, you total and utter plodder. And yes, I'm aware that I shouldn't be shocked by how unbelievably geniused you are, and yet you continue to surprise me

So.....played a ripper didn't he ;-)

In all seriousness, he was outplayed by an ordinary Sandow. He played what was in front of him, and that wasn't much, but he was far from good. Surely Melbourne have a young kid you can put in over that imposter?

Evenflow

In all seriousness, he was outplayed by an ordinary Sandow. He played what was in front of him, and that wasn't much, but he was far from good. Surely Melbourne have a young kid you can put in over that imposter?

That's you opinion and you're entitled to it. I think he's been pretty good for us especially in recent weeks so he deserves to hold his spot IMO regardless of what he's done (or hasn't done) in the past. Parra fans were also very quick to bag shit out of Finchy as well for his time there but he was great for us which is all i give a shit about.

One thing i will say is thank Christ Hayne backed up today, he was near our best player i reckon.

natheel

I'll give you Peats, Sandow and I'll give you Tonga. The other two are absolute nobodies right now.

Lol if Norman was your five eight right now partnering Ben Hunt he would be forming a better combination than Hunt and Hoffman are.

Hopoate has been class for us this year. Might not be scoring many tries but he's setting up a few for Ken Sio

That's you opinion and you're entitled to it. I think he's been pretty good for us especially in recent weeks so he deserves to hold his spot IMO regardless of what he's done (or hasn't done) in the past. Parra fans were also very quick to bag shit out of Finchy as well for his time there but he was great for us which is all i give a shit about.

One thing i will say is thank Christ Hayne backed up today, he was near our best player i reckon.

It's not necessarily that I don't rate Roberts. I just don't understand him. Ability wise he is a freak, and yet he consistently plays awful, awful football....I don't know why, maybe he tries too hard. Maybe he's just not very bright. Maybe he plays for glory and flare rather than the team. I have no idea. But while he hasn't been game-losingly awful for Melbourne yet I'd be hard pressed to say he'd been good. Then again, maybe that is good for Ben Roberts

natheel

We have shown after losing by a decent margin we can turn it around pretty quickly. Got knights at Parra next week

Delboy

Are we? I don't think we've heard anything about that for weeks

Back to th refereeing, had a call from a sensible Broncos supporter (yes, there is one) in Qld too... His comment was that the Storm twist, lay over the player and get away with it as the refs don't want a delayed game. They panic when the other side even goes close to the same tactic, and this ensues the terrible decisions

It was one of the most obvious home town displays, and nothing will be done about it, it was awful today ... And probably the scum would have still won, but it would have been a better game.

Imagine if Toovey had experienced it, fun times then

It's not necessarily that I don't rate Roberts. I just don't understand him. Ability wise he is a freak, and yet he consistently plays awful, awful football....I don't know why, maybe he tries too hard. Maybe he's just not very bright. Maybe he plays for glory and flare rather than the team. I have no idea. But while he hasn't been game-losingly awful for Melbourne yet I'd be hard pressed to say he'd been good. Then again, maybe that is good for Ben Roberts

Well summed up...I don't get him either. The guy has talent and great footwork but I just think he has no confidence to confidently call and make a play.

May be he is just a guy who has moved from club to club and underachieved who has managed to play 130 odd NRL games and still get starts through bad luck or circumstances at the time.

Here's my two cents on the game...

Storm were on the ball from kick off and gave the Eels nothing around the ruck. Bromwich, Harris and Proctor shut them out and gave them no momentum.

Smith and Slater were outstanding from the early stages and Slater's ability to hit the backline moves at pace was the difference.

Kurt Mann is built like nothing yet continues to hold his own and dominate with excellent positional sense and obviously has a natural talent for the game which makes him an exciting talent.

Hayne was awful...no two ways and did not look interested.

Yes you can say that Storm won off the back of Smith and Slater but the likes of Mann, J Bromwich and Harris are starting to stand up and take on responsibility and this will make Storm dangerous if they can string some wins together and push further into the 8 in the coming weeks. Even Fonua is playing with confidence and he is a player I has serious doubts over in earlier games.