Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'15 | R13 | Mon 7pm | PAR 30-36 NQL | Pirtek

Round 13: Eels v Cowboys

Desert Qlder

This..... have they peaked to early though would be my concern for them.

Wishful thinking here.

Our form is really quite ordinary. The strength of the side is finding ways to win in the face of that.

The only game we played really well was against the drongos and we made light work of them.

Desert Qlder

Just like Broncos made light work of the Cows first time round aye

Absolutely.

But the difference is Brisbane played really well in Townsville, even getting themselves to a 12 point lead.

Can't say the same about NQ in Brisbane aye.

Snappy

Your post was extremely smug as usual. Just reminding you it's not all one way traffic

Kiwi

Wishful thinking here.

Our form is really quite ordinary. The strength of the side is finding ways to win in the face of that.

The only game we played really well was against the drongos and we made light work of them.
Not wishful thinking at all, if the Broncos don't win it I really hope the Cowboys do. I lived in Townsville for two years, if ever there was a group of fans that deserved premiershipglory it's them.

Cowboys have a great fan base and they don't have very many arrogant douche fans, you shouldn't feel the need to over compensate for that.

natheel

We have so much potential if we can play for the full 80. I blame Rhyno for this for going off too early. Wanker

blaza88z

Absolutely.

But the difference is Brisbane played really well in Townsville, even getting themselves to a 12 point lead.

Can't say the same about NQ in Brisbane aye.

We had to make an extra 80 tackles in that game, that's not playing really well

Desert Qlder

Not wishful thinking at all, if the Broncos don't win it I really hope the Cowboys do. I lived in Townsville for two years, if ever there was a group of fans that deserved premiershipglory it's them.

Cowboys have a great fan base and they don't have very many arrogant douche fans, you shouldn't feel the need to over compensate for that.

Settle princess, instead of getting defensive and personal, let's talk footy. What makes you think we are "peaking"?

We are allowing teams to dominate and lead for long stretches of matches, our right side defence has a black hole that opposition coaches have an eye for and there are players in our side that are genuine passengers.

I think you are looking at the win/loss column and assuming too much. The fact is the Cowboys could play so much better. Hardly peaking too early.

Canard

Unlike the Broncos.

Desert Qlder

We had to make an extra 80 tackles in that game, that's not playing really well

They started the game with an intensity we could not match, and the shifts across field were too much for us to contain. I thought it was one of the best first twenty minutes from a club this season.

True that it probably took a toll and eventually fatigue allowed us to get a roll on. But that is only because our side has learnt to weather those sorts of onslaughts. It was not a comparable performance to the slop offered up by NQ in round 3.

beave

The reason why Brisbane had to make 80 extra tackles is because we barley made any mistakes in the whole game.

But that's apparently not considered 'playing well' it seems........:roll:

DQ is probably the least smug Cowboys fan on here. None of us are getting ahead of ourselves either. We are winning but playing like shit. That used to be the sign of a good team.......... Seems that ethos may have changed as well???

Kiwi

Settle princess, instead of getting defensive and personal, let's talk footy. What makes you think we are "peaking"?

We are allowing teams to dominate and lead for long stretches of matches, our right side defence has a black hole that opposition coaches have an eye for and there are players in our side that are genuine passengers.

I think you are looking at the win/loss column and assuming too much. The fact is the Cowboys could play so much better. Hardly peaking too early.

haha more than happy to talk footy, remember you were the one who came off as arrogant in the first place.

Anyway, like I said nothing against the Cowboys and would love to see them lift the trophy if my team doesn't.

The Cowboys haven't been playing as bad as you might like to make out. Against the Eels it was certainly a tale of two halves, but lets be honest here, that game was a freak of nature.

Lets say for arguments sake the Cowboys haven't peaked, it can still go one of two ways for them in the later part of the season. They can start to click more and more and keep the wins rolling along, kick it up a few gears and take the whole damn thing ( certainly the way I hope it goes for them ), but it can also go the other way quite easily, they start to get a few loses, lose 2 or 3 in a row and suddenly their confidence is shot, they struggle to pick it up and fade away. It's not like the Cowboys have a proven track record of doing anything but the later, lets be honest here, history tells us the later is more likely.

Kiwi

The reason why Brisbane had to make 80 extra tackles is because we barley made any mistakes in the whole game.

But that's apparently not considered 'playing well' it seems........:roll:

DQ is probably the meast smug Cowboys fan on here. None of us are getting ahead of ourselves either. We are winning but playing like shit. That used to be the sign of a good team.......... Seems that ethos may have changed as well???

It's your own fan saying you guys aren't playing well. I personally think they are. Against us they were damn near perfect, if it wasn't for our good defense Cowboys could have put 50+ on us easily. Our defense was great, but our attack was patchy in that match, brilliant one minute, ordinary the next. Of the two teams that night the Broncos have more improvement in them, and still do.

Kiwi

They started the game with an intensity we could not match, and the shifts across field were too much for us to contain. I thought it was one of the best first twenty minutes from a club this season.

True that it probably took a toll and eventually fatigue allowed us to get a roll on. But that is only because our side has learnt to weather those sorts of onslaughts. It was not a comparable performance to the slop offered up by NQ in round 3.

Cowboys played an almost perfect game, they were amazing that night, while we may not have played as poorly as the cowboys did against us at Suncorp, we were far from our best attack wise. It was on for the first 20, but for the rest of the game it was very patchy and it cost us big time.

Hutty1986

Winning's a pretty bloody good habit to get into, and the Cowboys aren't at their best yet imo.

They get thru the rest of SOO period okay, stay relatively injury-free and they will finish top 4, if not top 2. I don't think travelling is a concern anymore, but their starts at the business end of the season will need to be much better. Everyone talks about the bullshit calls against them in the finals, but to go down 30-nil in a sudden death game is not acceptable.

Still, the season is only 13 rounds old and a lot can happen between now and then.

I can definitely see what you're saying re. peaking too early Kiwi, but good sides stay consistent and they stay mentally strong. Losing in heartbreaking circumstances 3 (?) years straight will have them steeled for a big finals series this year I reckon.