Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'16 | R7 | Mon | SYD 16-20 PEN | Allianz

Round 7: Roosters v Panthers

Cockosh

I really can't pick it but think we are a bit more desperate and showed some positive signs in last few games. Panthers are the bogey team though. Easts in golden point. Looking forward to getting out there, reckon it will be a good game.

Meapro Ham

Why so much confidence from Panthers fans? They are 1 from 3 in their last 3 games, same as the Roosters. And that includes a loss to spoon favourites the Dragons.

Roosters have improved massively. They are not the same side that was getting pounded in the early rounds. Think Panthers fans expecting a walkover will be disappointed.

TheFrog

There is no spoon favourite. Betting companies do not run a market on the spoon ever since the NRL started deducting points from salary cap cheats. There is sometimes a market of "least wins" but even that is suspended due no doubt to the likely impending points deduction to Parramatta.

Anyway, the rank outsider both to win the comp and make the finals is Newcastle, next line of betting is Titans and then the Dragons. The Dragons started favourite in the game at Wollongong. They are a different proposition down there.

Losing heavily to Brisbane and North Queensland just means you aren't in the top 2. It doesn't mean you will run last.

The Roosters might give the Panthers a game here, but they've got an awful lot of inexperienced players in their side, especially the spine. Penrith have a nasty habit of losing games they should by rights win though. With two wins from 6 games despite having generally performed well, if they can't get it done here they might as well start looking at end-of-season-trip travel brochures.

The complete confidence by most Panthers fans here is confusing. They point to the fact that they have performed well in most their games albeit only winning 2. Well the roosters can say the same thing with the exception of rounds 1 and 3. Had Jackson Hastings been kicking goals we would have won in round 2 and 4 and have a 3-3 record. The warriors were probably the better team on the day but that game went to golden point which is a lottery.

Anyways, I am by no means saying the roosters will win but I expect this to be close with neither side scoring much more than 20 points. If the roosters keep the week on week improvement we have seen in the last 3 weeks they are a massive chance despite their 3 best players on the sideline. SST is a massive blow up front though.

TheFrog

You guys have beaten the 8th placed team and had a close game with the 7th. That's it. You've also lost by 32 and 40 points.

We've beaten 1st and 3rd, and had a close game with 2nd, 5th and 7th. The most we've lost by is 8 points in Round 1. We've had a much harder draw in the first 6 weeks too.

There is a gulf between the performances of these sides that is not really reflected on the table. That is why Panthers supporters are confident.

Anyway, games are won on the field, so may the better side win.

ACTPanthers

You guys have beaten the 8th placed team and had a close game with the 7th. That's it. You've also lost by 32 and 40 points.

We've beaten 1st and 3rd, and had a close game with 2nd, 5th and 7th. The most we've lost by is 8 points in Round 1. We've had a much harder draw in the first 6 weeks too.

There is a gulf between the performances of these sides that is not really reflected on the table. That is why Panthers supporters are confident.

That's why SOME of the Panthers supporters are confident, the smart ones still hold doubts :thumb

Penrith are quite rightfully favourites and their season thus far has looked better than ours. Add the loss of SST and you can see where Pennies fans' confidence comes from but sh1t happens and so often does.

pantherz9103

I'm rarely ever confident in a Penrith victory. It would be typical of them to drop this game in past seasons despite producing strong performances against the form teams. As for this season I'm not yet convinced with Griffin and his ability to get the side's attitude right for the more winnable games (i.e. Dragons).

Munky

I assume Penrith will lose every game.

I'm not sure how any of our fans can ever be confident.

In 2004 as reigning premiers we got towelled by Souths.

f**king 2004 Souths

Frankus

Only as good as your last game mate. How did we go against the Cows?

Blade23

I don't understand why Roosters supporters are getting cocky for. They were 0/5 last week and the joke of the league. All they have beaten is Souths who were without Reynolds. Add GI wobbling around on the field with a walker and any side would have a golden chance of a beating them.

footy75

I just feel like the chooks just needed that first win...I think they start rolling now and make the 8.

Close game, chooks just.

I don't understand why Roosters supporters are getting cocky for. They were 0/5 last week and the joke of the league. All they have beaten is Souths who were without Reynolds. Add GI wobbling around on the field with a walker and any side would have a golden chance of a beating them.

No roosters fan has been cocky on here. All we are saying is that we will put up a good fight and panthers are deserved favourites.

Blade23

No roosters fan has been cocky on here. All we are saying is that we will put up a good fight and panthers are deserved favourites.

You might not be you response has been fair. But all week I have put up with commentators, ex players and turds at work talking them up after one win.

Tommy Smith

Panthers by 8.

We'll keep it close but they'll get there by 6-12 pts in the end.

The absences of Pearce, JWH, Cordner AND SST are just too much.

Exsilium

If the Panthers are honest with themselves about being there in September they have to put teams like a depleted roosters outfit away and convincingly so.

It's one thing to be in every game competitively against far superior opposition but to not put teams away that are missing such key players is unforgivable.

TheFrog

The Roosters have 8 or 9 of the 17 who won the minor premiership last year. But they are missing their 1, 6 and 7. The Panthers, on the other hand, are closer to full strength than they've been in a couple of seasons. Only Dean Whare would be certain to make the squad if fit. It's not often the Panthers are able to say they've got it all over the Roosters on paper, but that certainly looks the case here. It has to be turned into an on-field performance though.

The Panthers have an opportunity to sneak into the 8 here. They would have to win by 28 points, and cover Wests Tigers winning margin should they beat the Storm by a huge margin today.