Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2003 Grand Final Discussion

Dragon

Congrats Panthers! Truly the most deserved premiers and sent chills up my spine when i saw your boys celebrating. So much determination and never gave up. True champions.

ParraMatt

Great Win Boys, I was Partying for the Panthers and had a great night at a Girls House watching the footy and enjoying her company.

Up the Panthers!

WINNERS ARE GRINERS & LOSERS CAN PLEASE THEM SELFS :D YOU CHOOKS GOT SMASHED :lol: IM A RICH MAN TODAY THANKS BLACK CATS ;-)

salivor

Great stuff Penrith. I was barracking for them last night almost like they were the Broncos. For me, this is leagues high since the Super League war. In such an even year it needed an underdog to take out the title and bar Souths or the Cowboys winning the comp you couldn't have picked a bigger underdog at the start of the year. Truly sensational images last night for Rugby League and the Penrith region.

On the game, I think a hell of a lot of credit has to go to the Penrith outside backs. The likes of Lewis, Girdler, Rooney and Wesser were well positioned all night and made plenty of metres out of dummy half. Add in the great work of Priddis and Gower and Campbell who managed to out kick their opponents and you had the making of a great performance. The Roosters haven't been dominated in quite the same way all year and what a time for the Panthers to pluck that performance out of the hat.

downsouth

Congratulations Panther Fans.
One of the best GF's I've ever seen regardless of the result.
People undermined the Panthers all year. How wrong we were.
That should silence Gould for a while.
Enjoy the win. You deserve it.
Try not to destroy the Mulgoa Rd area!!!!

Slugs

Thanks Walkout................you did what comes naturally...........STUFF UP BIG TIME.....and all the Penrith Supporters and the rest of Sydney (especially South Sydney) are laughing in your face

Go and try out in a Soapie....maybe you won't have to catch a ball there :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Slugs

Mr Parra Eels said:
As for Walker , Souths fans would be in 7th heaven, and he was better off waring a Penrith jumper tonight, his ball handling skills are awesome :lol:

You had better believe it.....................it was worth the price of admission alone................sucked in Walkout :lol: :lol:

Big Mick

thanks guys, we appreciate that.

Take nothing away from the roosters, they played a great game as well.

Morley, flannery and hegarty were outstanding

Bomber

Congratulations Penrith - a fine win totally appropriate to the occasion!

It's always great to see Stuart and the Roosters bite the dust but I can't think of a more deserving team to knock them down.

Anyway, well done and have a drink for me.

Bomber

P.S. John Lang is a legend

Slugs said:
Thanks Walkout................you did what comes naturally...........STUFF UP BIG TIME.....and all the Penrith Supporters and the rest of Sydney (especially South Sydney) are laughing in your face

Go and try out in a Soapie....maybe you won't have to catch a ball there :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
It's true... Slimy Slugs do come out after a big downpour. You will no doubt enjoy basking on the back of Panthers glory.

Your team must be feeling good for next season seeing that they have a huge start in the offseason preparations.

Rylesy

Good on the Penrith Boys! :D

they fully deserve it. Great win and they played really well. I was so happy to see the Roosters cry........ :lol:

The best team won on the day! Congrats to Penrith Management Staff and of course John Lang! :D :D :D

Slugs

Catatonic_Omnivore said:
Slugs said:

It's true... Slimy Slugs do come out after a big downpour. You will no doubt enjoy basking on the back of Panthers glory.

Your team must be feeling good for next season seeing that they have a huge start in the offseason preparations.

.....and chooks continue to run around in the rain with their heads chopped off :lol: :lol: :lol:

How does it feel to be two times losers.....Claytons Cup last year and just plain old losers this year...........Ricky Stuart came out in the press and said you had something to prove this year..........and guess what you did.............you proved to be two times losers :lol: :lol:

Doctor

tdcockers said:
Original_Chook said:
1997, 2001, 2003 - Another win for the battlers and huge underdogs.

i reckon you could include 1999 in there, too :)

Ahh, sorry but I don't include Melbourne's win in the list.
Melbourne may well have been underdogs - but someone has to be, both sides can't win the GF.

I'm talking about massive underdogs, where a side has dominated all year and where the eventual winners are given no chance of winning except by a small handful of people.

Chook

Congratulations on the win Penrith, you were just too good for us on the night and played a great game of footy.

Enjoy your the feeling.

Chook.

old chook

Congratulations Panthers, it was a great win. Even though I am a Chook supporter, I live in the Penrith area. I remember going to Penrith games in the early 70's. It cost 20c to get in, we would sit on the hill and Dad would drink 2 bottles of beer. You could bring your'e own back then.

For the second year in a row, the atmosphere at the game was fantastic. The Panther supporters were great.

Caged Panther

Well here I am after a magnificient panthers GRAND FINAL victory and partying at panthers until they kicked me out (mind you they we're closing when I got the boot :lol: ) and all I can say is I feel elated and relieved.

There have been times in the past tweleve years when I wondered if i would ever see such a day. But it has arrived and it feels wonderful the spirt at the celebrations last night was wonderful. Hell I was even sharing drinks with long time mortal enemies.