Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2014, will the game turn around?

Canard

Joely01

Ok, so there are no problems with the game. Joely say, "move on".

Stop trying to turn s**t. You said SOO lost it's pulling power, the facts say a completely different story.

The only negative origin has for the comp is what we all already know is that it weakens the comp for that 8 or so week period

magpie4ever

magpie4ever

Stop trying to turn s**t. You said SOO lost it's pulling power, the facts say a completely different story.

The only negative origin has for the comp is what we all already know is that it weakens the comp for that 8 or so week period

I said casual and interstate viewers - and I haven't seen any figures that prove otherwise. Cannot's link showed shit.:x

Diesel

9 continue to show the same teams every week, fans will switch off. The ones that can afford Pay TV will switch, the ones that choose not to get PTV will find other ways to get their footy fix.

I've stopped watching the delayed games on Nine as they are unwatchable & tuned into digital radio for my fix or online.

9 are the cause for much of the drop off

Hello, I'm The Doctor

What factors caused this?
Disappointment at ch9 and fox providing same old same old?

Obviously, but thats not to say that people have stopped watching all together. Theyve been shovelling the same shit for year, the difference now is That we have another option; the NRL Live app.
One might guess that viewers that used to pay ridiculous amounts just for the Fox Sports channel have moved over and by proxy taken their eyes off the FTA coverage (SD, delayed and chockers with ads doesnt scream "watch me").

Lack of decision on expansion to ignite some new interest and energy?

Excitement that would last maybe a year; hardly a long term strategy, excitement wise.

Brisbane, wests, st George, warriors etc not at the top of the tree?

Getting warmer. Everyone seems to pine for the 2005 season as what the NRL should strive for. But a high average is always going to happen when the last placed team (the knights) averages 23,000.
What im saying is, when you base youre crowds on a "luck of the draw" appraoch, more often than not its going to end badly.

Fixed scheduling?

No. A fixed schedule may not help crowds, but it sure as shit doesnt hurt them like a floating schedule would.
Having said that, im not completely against a floating draw, but one run by the ARLC not the TV excects.

Poor fixture choice by fta?

the thing is, friday is not actually the best night to go to the footy. So a poorly chosen schedule can actually be a good thing for the NRL (in terms of crowns and not your own personal tv pleasure).

More weeknight games?

This would be a good thing.

SOO driving people away from club games?

Yes. Im personally in favour of a mid season break. Not only to get rid of the rounds minus Origin players, to get rid of the mid season lull.

If you take away peoples football teams for 5 weeks, they really start to miss it and dont take it for granted. The largest crowds are always the beginning and end of a season; imagine if you could have that twice in one season.

I dont know if this will all turn around in 2014, but to say that if it doesnt then everyone incharge is failing is dumb. The ARLC and DSmith are looking long term and their performance should be treated as such.

Joely01

I think the SOO has lost a lot of its pulling power; plus many comp games are boring to the general public - 5 hit ups and kick to the corner; wait for a mistake.

So m4e, this is saying you think SOO has lost it's pulling power. But you didn't say that did you?

Diesel

What qlder wants to watch them? (Other than brisbane fans)

I would love to see the ratings difference between a broncos v out of state team, a cowboys v out of state team, and a titans v out of state team. I don't reckon there wouldn't be much in it, the first game up here will rate regardless of who's playing as long as its a good game. Last year was f**king painful watching a limp wristed
Broncos every f**king friday.

I wouldn't be surprised if Queensland wide, NQ out rated Brisbane in the tv ratings but it's all about metro ratings so all QLDers are forced to watch an average team week in, week out. If the Broncos were the team they were in the 90's and early 2000's I wouldn't have a problem but this team has finished 8th and 12th on the past two seasons.

magpie4ever

And you claim to not be a Union troll?

Is that the best you have? Night Vision; attitude adjustment required.

A number of questions were raised - I raised a point that the game has lost many casual (non-core) viewers due to the robotic nature of the modern game and that SOO has lost it pulling power to the casual and interstate viewers. But no, let's not discuss; just call the poster a union troll. Real mature, f**kwit.

Gotta laugh at the SA and WA figures and Perth want an NRL side.

I would like to see game 1 and 2 (plus 3) figures broken down to each region in each state.

I reckon Mr Red will fire up.

Put the fcking game on ch9 and advertise it, not buried on gem with zero promotion and you would get much bigger audiences. Don't blame Perth for sht TV covg. Having said that 110k is still more than some afl games and every western force or Perth glory rates.

I wouldn't be surprised if Queensland wide, NQ out rated Brisbane in the tv ratings but it's all about metro ratings so all QLDers are forced to watch an average team week in, week out. If the Broncos were the team they were in the 90's and early 2000's I wouldn't have a problem but this team has finished 8th and 12th on the past two seasons.

One of the reasons why brisbane2 will be the next expansion team alongside Perth.

magpie4ever

Put the fcking game on ch9 and advertise it, not buried on gem with zero promotion and you would get much bigger audiences. Don't blame Perth for sht TV covg. Having said that 110k is still more than some afl games and every western force or Perth glory rates.

Got you.:cool:

thorson1987

A number of questions were raised - I raised a point that the game has lost many casual (non-core) viewers due to the robotic nature of the modern game and that SOO has lost it pulling power to the casual and interstate viewers. But no, let's not discuss; just call the poster a union troll. Real mature, f**kwit.

And do you have any proof of this?

Canard

Being mature would be conceding that I showed your assertion to be completely incorrect.

Instead of just ignoring it and wanting Data that couldn't possibly exist such as amount of "casual" viewers.

Because of this I could only assume you are trolling.