Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2015 Crowd Watch

SLRBRONCOS

Very poor. I would have thought 45k easily beimg the season opener and the bunnies fans will be there in numbers. is there a chance away fans could outnumber home fans?

No way, absolutely not. I always find this argument very strange.

I have attended all but 5 broncos home games since 2009, and nothing has ever been remotely close.

The difference being that the away fans seem to love being the away fans, dressing up more, making a large amount of noise etc etc. Very similar to how we take that block of queenslanders to ANZ.

There were lots of Bunnies fans at the ANZAC day game yes. BUT absolutely no where near that of the broncos, If you watch the replay of the game, wait for the deafening boos after we lost.

There would not have been much more than 8,000 at that game.

The highest amount of away support I have ever seen at Suncorp, was the Roar vs WSW. Where the Wanderers were allocated 10,000 flat seats.

Broncos fans are also quiet (we save our noise for origin) - next time you are at suncorp, look at the microphone placed right next to the Away supporter bay in 317.

papabear

tbh if it were up to me, which it isn't and you want to play an opener on a Thursday, I would play it out of a regional centre like Townsville, Newcastle, Wollongong or Canberra.

elyod138

Just like a Thursday night would be easier in Canberra and Townsville then Brisbane.

How would Thursday night in Townsville be easier?

A significant percentage of Cowboys fans drive for several hours to attend games. It's why the Cowboys request as many Saturday home games as possible.

Canard

How would Thursday night in Townsville be easier?

A significant percentage of Cowboys fans drive for several hours to attend games. It's why the Cowboys request as many Saturday home games as possible.

This, some people have NFI.

Traffic being better doesn't mean shit when you have 4 hour round trip to the game.

Sydney has public transport in the form of trains and buses, plus bars near stadiums, and a population within a short walking distance of the stadium which is 5 times that of Townsville's.

A Thursday night game in Townsville would get 12K tops. The MNF games that the Cowboys have copped this year will reduce there annual average significantly.

All the evidence we have suggests playing games on a Monday or Thursday night significantly reduces the crowd attendance, regardless of the city. Why are people shocked at this??

oikee

traffic in Sydney verse traffic in Brisbane.

Sydneys is atleast 3 times as bad.

Size of city, Sydney is way larger and more spread out then Brisbane so they have to travel further.

Obviously Thursday night is not ideal, but its not a shitfight like a Sydney Monday or Thursday night is.

Just like a Thursday night would be easier in Canberra and Townsville then Brisbane.

Mate i am coming from Toowoomba with a busload and many others just travel down by car.
Toowoomba is exactly 100 miles away from Brisbane.
It takes 1 and half hours to get their, and the same home. So just 3 hours travelling and then you have from 5.30 to 9.30 , so 4 hours at the game.

So 7 hours all up and your whinging about faking Sydney traffic.

London and New York are twice the size of Sydney, and nobody worries about traffic, it's a way of life.
Maybe Sydney needs to get it public transport in order, or shut the faking dump down.

papabear

I have lived in the sunshine coast
have heaps of family from the sunny coast and qld.

I am acutely aware of the lifestyle differences between the two states. The difference is massive.

As for Townsville wanting people travelling from rural areas, you have people driving from rural areas to go to games in NSW as well. Obviously I am talking about the people living in town.

IMO you take the biggest drop from what you could get in crowd numbers by placing the game in Sydney on a Thursday or Monday night, then Brisbane and Melbourne, then the regional centres.

So it makes sense to put the games were you take the least drop if you have to have them and again I am a Canberra fan suggesting we should take a good chunk of Monday games for the good of the league even though our crowd figures are shit already.

You need to look at whats best for rugby league not just your club. You also need to have driven around Sydney between 5-7pm on a school night to appreciate what I am saying.

I agree re sydneys public transport but really that's not for discussion, and tbh the state would have a f**kload more money if qld were bombed and we didn't have to send so much of our gst revenue up their to prop up qld.

Canard

As usual everyone is overreacting. Let's f**k over the Regional clubs because City people are lazy.

Broncos will get 40k.

This site and Pax has consistently proven to be off the mark. As recently as the All Stars game for v example.

As a Melbourne resident I reckon M and TNF is ideal. The stadium is located downtown and is easy to get to. And no clash with AFL.

SLRBRONCOS

As usual everyone is overreacting. Let's f**k over the Regional clubs because City people are lazy.

Broncos will get 40k.

This site and Pax has consistently proven to be off the mark. As recently as the All Stars game for v example.

As a Melbourne resident I reckon M and TNF is ideal. The stadium is located downtown and is easy to get to. And no clash with AFL.

Last year at Suncorp the Pax was always much higher than the attendance at Suncorp.

Cowboys the pax got to 46k - attendance was 42k.
Rooster the pax was 38.8k - attendance was 33k.
Rabbitohs the pax was 48k - attendance was 44k.

SLRBRONCOS

See attached map

Dark blue line - 80-100% sold. (except 604, it should be green)
Green line - 30 - 79% sold.

Attachments

• Untitled 2.jpg
    Untitled 2.jpg
    11.4 KB · Views: 33

oikee

I am going to give pax a good flogging. He is never right and avoids coming onto this blog because he knows he will get a good bullocking,,,by Canard.

I think the walk-up crowd could push this over 40 thousand.

pHyR3

I am going to give pax a good flogging. He is never right and avoids coming onto this blog because he knows he will get a good bullocking,,,by Canard.

I think the walk-up crowd could push this over 40 thousand.

pax is not a person, you do know this right?

:lol::lol::lol:

SLRBRONCOS

Hahah, educated people understand that the pax number is the greatest way to track how tickets are selling.

oikee

pax - 35,119

You do realise that Pax is a person. ? He works for the government and come up with the same system to judge speed limits for the qld police as well.
He use's the guesstimate system.

I see that other stadiums outside the MCG are paying for this grounds lower food prices. ?

The company that runs the MCG also runs other big stadiums like Suncorp. So by 'not dropping' the prices in those other stadiums, our codes are paying for the AFL crowd to have cheaper hotdogs and pies.
We have been conned again by the AFL.