Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2015 Crowd Watch

BlueandGold

CC_Roosters

Cannot work out why they didn't have a thursday night game, would surely rate better and be better attended than a game on easter sunday afternoon

mattyg

I agree. Seems like a free kick for the AFL tonight with no proper footy on. Ideally we should have:

Thu 7.45pm
Fri 4pm - dogs v souths
Fri 7.45pm
Sat 5.30pm
Sat 7.30pm
Sun 4pm
Mon 4pm - eels v tigers
Mon 7pm

elbusto

Whoever did not schedule a game tonight should have their testicles removed. This is the one Thursday night you would have got a bloody big crowd and massive ratings.

DC_fan

FFS shut up you self righteous wanker. I love beer watching footy. And I will not pay for half strength diluted rubbish. At Redmonis they have it right - family hill alcohol free - and full strength beer and bourbon for people like me with some cops to ensure behaviour is good everywhere else. It works and caters for all.

I am not saying people can't have a drink at the footy. It was suggested in this thread that the fact that full strength beer isn't sold at some grounds could be a reason for fans not attending games. What I am saying is that people should not use that as an excuse for not attending games.

undertaker

Whoever did not schedule a game tonight should have their testicles removed. This is the one Thursday night you would have got a bloody big crowd and massive ratings.

One of the Easter Monday games should've been moved to Thursday night. I'm not saying the fixture should've necessarily been Panthers vs Cowboys. Infact, if it was up to me to delegate a Thursday night match out of the current remaining fixtures, Knights vs Dragons would've got a strong crowd, and Panthers vs Cowboys could've then moved to Saturday 7:30pm, which the Panthers would much prefer to Monday 7pm.

However, after last year's faux pas from Ch9 scheduling two Friday night games after the Bulldogs/Souffs Friday afternoon clash, I think Ch9 realised this and were desperate to get their hands on the Bulldogs/Souffs match this time around. Bulldogs/Souffs is one of the marquee Sydney matchups, rated well on Fox Sports and got a strong 40k+ crowd (not to mention both teams are currently near the top of the table so far, although this point is irrelevant as Ch9 wouldn't have known how the ladder would've turned out at the time of the 2015 draw release). Having a Ch9's 3rd game of the round on Thursday night would mean Fox Sports would get the Bulldog/Souffs match instead

I agree with those who said that 3 games on Monday is overkill (although not as much overkill as 5 games on ANZAC Day).
Monday should've been like last year - two games: one game at 4pm and the other at 7pm. In this case:

4pm - Parramatta vs West Tigers at ANZ Stadium
7pm - Melbourne vs NZ Warriors at AAMI Park

Having the Melbourne vs NZ Warriors fixture at 5pm is stupid as it clashes with one of the marquee AFL regular season matches: Easter Monday, Hawthorn vs Geelong at the MCG (which got 80k last year). This will have an impact on the potential crowd at AAMI Park, hence why having the Storm/Warriors game at 7pm would've been more preferable. And yes, not the season opener on a Thursday night (which the novelty has worn off), but the Easter round was the round to have a Thursday night match. The NRL are just giving the AFL and Ch7 a free kick not having an NRL match tonight on Ch9.

It still annoys me that Storm vs Warriors was moved away from ANZAC Day, just so the Warriors could play at home that round in order to allow the NRL to have 5 back-to-back matches on ANZAC Day. Complete overkill if you ask me. The fixture got a lot of support from the NRL community, should've never been changed, and the replacement fixture - Storm vs Sea Eagles - won't get much over 20k at most. Once again, poor scheduling from the NRL to allow this, but this is something that has become all to common for league fans to put with during the past.

Card Shark

Cannot work out why they didn't have a thursday night game, would surely rate better and be better attended than a game on easter sunday afternoon

I'm sitting here on a Thursday night ready to hook into a few beers & watch some sport but there's no rugby league.

Dumb.

undertaker

You have a core 10,000 fans to most sides. This isn't growing much.

This is what concerns me. How much have crowds improved since the ARLC entered and more importantly we got a huge injection of money from the broadcast deal? The clubs have pumped the memberships out there and are seing a good response but even that isnt having a major effect on crowds.

I won't go into a whole bunch of reasons I have mentioned in this thread as to why that is the case. However, the main one gets no more black and white than this: ticket prices at most NRL venues are overpriced for the average NRL fan to attend on a regular basis and furthermore since 2013, State of Origin and the Grand Final have become for the elite. You can bitch and whine, paying out on people in this thread by saying that this is not a valid reason, telling these people to go out and get another job etc. etc. but that's just the reality of the situation.

Case in point, I had a look at the tickets for the Rabbitohs/Cowboys game the following Monday night at ANZ Stadium. Adult tickets for the category A (Diamond) section are over $60 and for a concession is over $40....ridiculous. Why would someone go out of their way on a Monday Night - the worst drawing timeslot of the round - to turn up and pay those prices? On the topic of MNF, like what the Storm did against the Tigers on a MNF match a couple of years ago or so, teams hosting MNF matches should be doing the opposite and running promotions for MNF to encourage more ppl to the game rather than charging ppl through the roof. It is possible to get a strong crowd to a MNF match in Sydney (I remember the Tigers/Knights match at Leichhardt a few years ago nearly sold out, got nearly 19k), but you shouldn't be expecting anyone but the absolute diehard, hardcore fans with excess money to burn to turn up regularly to NRL matches when you charge those prices, let alone on a Monday night.

As a result, one of the core demographics of the NRL supporter base - families - are immediately priced out, and therefore a Foxtel subscription, or going to a venue where Fox Sports is broadcast (especially in HD), becomes a preferable option in the long-term.

Diesel

It's channel 9 conspiracy time, they schedule games that'll give shit ratings (Cronulka has what 8 games) and schedule two games at the same time less than 10km apart (last Friday), then don't schedule games tonight or semi finals on Fridays, not Sunday's to try to prove the game isn't popilar and therefore not to pay overs for the game next time around

Scheduling is shit and most on here could do a much better job of it.

Is the Queens Birthday Monday going to have an arvo game or a night game?

TheFrog

Here is a novel idea....don't sell them the booze if they are being fruit cakes. How about those RSA officials do their job. So we are all punished because a few can't control themselves....you realise how ridiculous that is?

The trouble is, once they reach the point where they get refused service, you've got a problem already. It's not a simple matter to refuse to serve someone who is drunk. And their mates can get the gear for them anyway.

RSA officials? It is police who have to sort it out. Police are a public resource, and if you are staging an event where they are required in numbers they are not free, which sounds like a good reason to limit alcohol content to 3.5%.

I'm a bit of a drinker, but I prefer 6% home brew at 70 cents a longneck to half as much at half the strength for 10 times the price, so I don't drink at the footy.

undertaker

Yeah, the weather is looking ominous for Sydney tomorrow. Will definitely have a big impact on the potential walk-ups for the Bulldogs/Souffs match