Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2015 ODI WORLD CUP discussion thread

pissing down here in the Gong too

bought a new whipper snipper as well, was gonna mow the lawn today :x

Something else to keep an eye on...

The longterm forecast for Auckland next weekend which is when the huge NZ v AUS game is being played is for rain...

So if aussie only get 1pt from the bangers and 1pt from the NZ game... It could leave them a little exposed...

very good point

though with Afghanistan, SL and Scotland to follow , we should romp it in to 1st or 2nd place in the group regardless. However, be a bit concerning if another one of those games gets washed out. Still make the quarters but we could end up playing SA in the quarter finals instead of WI ...or Ireland :p

undertaker

Anyone know what happens if australia v bangladesh gets rained out? Rescheduled or canned altogether?

It is a no-result, hence each team gets one point

Only 3 games from memory because the Qld Govt didn't want to put up any cash to secure more.

And one of those should've been a Quarter-Final in exchange for the one in Sydney (as Sydney already has a semi-final). Brisbane was rorted in the World Cup match allocations. Hardly any of these three group matches in Brisbane are what you would call marquee matchups:

Australia vs Bangladesh
Ireland vs UAE
Pakistan vs Zimbabwe

though with Afghanistan, SL and Scotland to follow , we should romp it in to 1st or 2nd place in the group regardless. However, be a bit concerning if another one of those games gets washed out. Still make the quarters but we could end up playing SA in the quarter finals instead of WI ...or Ireland :p

I'm 100% confident we'll make the Quarters with consummate ease, but feel that if we don't top our group, we are going to get a tough Q/F on a flat, high-scoring Adelaide pitch against either India/Pakistan/South Africa.

Forecast not looking great

But as the BIG SHOW so positively mentioned on the tele last night, hopefully they can squeeze in 20 overs each to make it a confirmed game (and more of a contest, Bangers a better chance)

Which if it does happen this way, you are playing a t20 game really, in a 50 over ODI world cup tournament

Its just not cricket

Yeah, that's just stupid playing what is essentially a T20 match in a 50-over tournament. Another one of the myriad of rule changes to the ODI game over the past decade that has baffled me.

Before the advent of T20 cricket, it used to be 25 overs that was the mandatory minimum in an ODI for a 'result' to be constituted.

Which is a shame really.

In the 2011 WC the Australia vs Sri Lanka match got rained out and that cost crucial points.
Reserve days make a lot of sense but probably impractical with broadcasting/tickets etc.

If the forecast is terrible they could try backup plans to move games to another venue in advance.

I remember that Australia vs Sri Lanka match, but I think most of us Aussies were thankful for the rain at the time as Sri Lanka looked like posting a good score. They were 3/146 from 32.5 overs. Anything around 250 wouldn't have been easy to chase down. In that tournament, Colombo was one of the more difficult pitches to score runs with consummate ease. People forget that Canada nearly gave Pakistan a scare, bowling them out for 184 in the 1st innings and only a 5-fer from Afridi saved the day for the Pakis. Reminds me a lot of Port Elizabeth in 2003 - all 3 of Australia's matches at that venue were sub-220 scores.

The last World Cup group match that had a reserve day IIRC was England vs India in the '99 World Cup. I remember it, England had to win to make the Super Six and were batting second before rain ended days play. The next day, they got completely skittled on a lively wicket at Edgbaston. Reserve days are now only used for finals matches (i.e. Quarters, Semis and the Final). Given that matches are pretty much played on consecutive days during the group stage of the tournament, I guess it is too much of a hassle regarding broadcasting, especially if there are already two other matches scheduled for the following day

During the Super Eight stage of the 2007 World Cup, our first match vs West Indies also spanned over two days.

Damm shame about the Australia/Bangas game being called off and no rescheduling of the match.

I didnt have a good look at the draw before the tournament, seems like more NZL matches at the moment, but we've got a big game tomorrow at the MCG. India vs South Africa.

hellteam

You'd think they could have reserve days, we've played 1 game in two weeks and don't play again until Saturday

undertaker

I know the match is not over yet but even if they end up losing, Afghanistan can be very proud of their performance this arvo and have shown why the Associate Teams are worth persevering with. There's massive potential for Ireland and Afghanistan if they were given test status, but the BCCI and ECB are the stumbling blocks in terms of international expansion of the game. That's the part I guess that is most frustrating: a lot of potential to really develop the game globally, but it won't happen anytime soon whilst the over major cricket boards whore themselves out to the BCCI.

To think that the next World Cup will only have 10 teams and that this World Cuo initially was only going to have 10 teams, is a disgrace. Also, India will be hosting the World Cup again in 2023 after hosting it only 12yrs earlier. Another missed opportunity to expand the game, but instead fill the coffers of the BCCI

JJ

Not sure the importance of persevering with them needs to be demonstrated, what needs to happen is between world cups they need to be supported - regardless of who the game's current powerbrokers are, they have been poor in supporting developing countries

Iafeta

How much are those orange shirts?

Can someone please explain what this is?

lRKBVZ6.jpg

First one is bounce variation (I guess its against the average ball from the bowler), and the other is movement from a straight line.

I know the match is not over yet but even if they end up losing, Afghanistan can be very proud of their performance this arvo and have shown why the Associate Teams are worth persevering with. There's massive potential for Ireland and Afghanistan if they were given test status, but the BCCI and ECB are the stumbling blocks in terms of international expansion of the game. That's the part I guess that is most frustrating: a lot of potential to really develop the game globally, but it won't happen anytime soon whilst the over major cricket boards whore themselves out to the BCCI.

To think that the next World Cup will only have 10 teams and that this World Cuo initially was only going to have 10 teams, is a disgrace. Also, India will be hosting the World Cup again in 2023 after hosting it only 12yrs earlier. Another missed opportunity to expand the game, but instead fill the coffers of the BCCI

I think Australia should go back to doing top end tours and ease the minnows into test cricket that way or very least if they don't get test status they play Australia A till they do (and also 3 game ODI series).

I cant see why we cant host a different minnow every winter in the top end, we play enough other shit elsewhere (t20 champions league, IPL, useless ODI series, bi yearly t20 world cup etc.....). Even if we were to do it every 2nd year would be good.

ABdV on the brink of suspension.

http://www.cricket.com.au/news/ab-d...r-rate-against-india-world-cup-mcg/2015-02-23

I wonder how much of the delays are attributed to the Indian team sending out heaps of support staff at the end of every over. Surely they can go 2 or more overs without needing a drink and rub on the arse.

I reckon they should bring in a rule that this can only happen every say 5 overs or something like that, it's getting a bit ridiculous atm.

Ireland have been performing well in the last 3 world cups and are improving each time.

The minnows haven't been horrible this world cup which is a positive for cricket world wide.

It'll be a massive shot in the arm if one of them reaches the quarter finals.

Not only that but for the next world cup, they would qualify for the tournament which means a test nation could potentially miss out.

I think Australia should go back to doing top end tours and ease the minnows into test cricket that way or very least if they don't get test status they play Australia A till they do (and also 3 game ODI series).

I cant see why we cant host a different minnow every winter in the top end, we play enough other shit elsewhere (t20 champions league, IPL, useless ODI series, bi yearly t20 world cup etc.....). Even if we were to do it every 2nd year would be good.

I went to the last test series in the top end and it was great.

I watched the Aussies play Sri Lanka at Cairns for the first 2 days. We dominated them with the bat and it looked like the game was heading for another thrashing, but Sri Lanka came back with the bat and forced a draw.

Im pretty sure they wanted to play Bangladesh again for tests but instead played them in ODI's only in 2008.

Scott

ABdV on the brink of suspension.

http://www.cricket.com.au/news/ab-d...r-rate-against-india-world-cup-mcg/2015-02-23

I wonder how much of the delays are attributed to the Indian team sending out heaps of support staff at the end of every over. Surely they can go 2 or more overs without needing a drink and rub on the arse.

I reckon they should bring in a rule that this can only happen every say 5 overs or something like that, it's getting a bit ridiculous atm.

It's beyond ridculous. There are drinks breaks in play and also enough time when a wicket falls. There should be no other times when these 'runners' or 'water boys' should be on the field. Umpires need to just tell them to get of the field. Simple as that.

chigurh

There's no match thread for it so I guess I'll put it here.

Does it bother anybody that the boundaries at Eden Park are just 65 metres square of the wicket and 55 metres straight? I think it's a joke. It is well below ICC standards and IMO it changes the game dramatically.

I mean, sure Big Bash games played at North Sydney Oval are fun to watch, but even then it's incredibly hard to take seriously and that's the freakin Big Bash!

55 metres on the straight drive is a bit ridiculous, we got one of them in our district but we only play 4th grade games on it, can't believe they play international games on such a small pitch

chigurh

55 metres on the straight drive is a bit ridiculous, we got one of them in our district but we only play 4th grade games on it, can't believe they play international games on such a small pitch

Yeah that was my first thought, the fact that I played on similar sized grounds (some potentially bigger) in high school.

IMO it throws the integrity of the match into doubt.

shiznit

Yeah that was my first thought, the fact that I played on similar sized grounds (some potentially bigger) in high school.

IMO it throws the integrity of the match into doubt.
Meh.... It's a rugby ground... And f**ked if I want to see Eden Park pushed out further as it ruins the football atmosphere.

While the ground was originally a cricket ground... It's now a football stadium...

The integrity of the game is fine.... As it's the same for both teams.

I actually like the fact the ICC left it open that grounds with quirks can still host matches....

Obviously any new grounds need to be at a new standard... But a lot of these quirks give character to grounds.

JJ

what's this pre-sooking about? Cricket been played at Eden Park for a long time, it is what it is - the orientation has changed, but there have always been very very short boundaries in places

chigurh

Meh.... It's a rugby ground... And f**ked if I want to see Eden Park pushed out further as it ruins the football atmosphere.

While the ground was originally a cricket ground... It's now a football stadium...

The integrity of the game is fine.... As it's the same for both teams.

I actually like the fact the ICC left it open that grounds with quirks can still host matches....

Obviously any new grounds need to be at a new standard... But a lot of these quirks give character to grounds.

Quirky is fine, farcically small grounds are not IMO

chigurh

what's this pre-sooking about? Cricket been played at Eden Park for a long time, it is what it is - the orientation has changed, but there have always been very very short boundaries in places

I wouldn't call it sooking. More like disappointment that a cash grab has IMO dented the spectacle. I've got very little interest in watching batsmen chip the ball over cover for six runs and find it bizarre that a ground can hold WC match when it is officially not up to standard.