Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2016 Origin III - NSW 18-14 QLD @ ANZ

Origin III 2016: Who wins?

Hutty1986

Seems to be a lot of "salt" and "butthurt" from some qld fans.

Hopefully something for NSW to build on next year, but two games in qld. Gotta ditch the deadwood in Farah, Jackson, Tamou and probably Woods too. Doubt Jennings will be around either. Frizz again showed tonight he'll play 15 Origins or so, another strong game and plenty of improvement in him.

Qld far too composed when it counted, the sign of a quality side is versatility-to turn it on as they have so often since 06 but to grind out wins away from home. Just the most amazingly resilient football side that just knows how to win the key moments, year after year.

Knightmare

In 3 decades of watching Origin, I don't recall ever feeling more bittersweet about a result. NSW had it all handed to them on a plate tonight but it took them 79 Minutes to seal the deal. Daley and Gal lucked out well and truly. There are some great young Blues in that team (like Tyson) who exhibit the right tenacity for Origin football, plus the skill. They need to be guided by a coach with the killer instinct instead of this losing culture fostered by Gal, Farah and Laurie.

The CM tomorrow will go on with the 'We was robbed' line despite the fact they were pulled up for what they've been doing for ages. The DT will cover Laurie's clueless coaching and Gal's selfishness in a sea of sky blue jizz. Always love seeing NSW win whether it be Origin or tiddlywinks but damn it if the clueless head scratchers overseeing the best footy players the state can muster didn't arse their way to victory tonight...

Big Pete

I was just saying the other day that dead rubbers have a knack of being eventful and crazy games, this certainly lived up to the hype.

If you take away the first 75 minutes, you've left with a great final five that does an awesome job of setting up next year's series. Ferguson breaking away, finding the fastest man on the field in Tedesco only for Cronk to somehow, someway bring him short. That was a great moment, only topped by Jennings who was able to send the fans home happy.

Admittedly I'd be upset if this was the decider, but since it was what it was, I was able to appreciate the effort from the Maroons to hang in as long as they did. It was a superhuman effort and it took a huge play for them to lose.

I think I'll have to catch a replay before I get too opinionated of the other 75 minutes.

ram raid

Yes I don' know how to feel about that game. 'Hollow victory' comes to mind. The better team definitely lost but we knew QLD are the better team .... NSW just nedeed a bit of luck ... which they got in the form of a very lopsided penalty count - at least 4 I'm pretty sure were dubious, and a try that probably shouldn't have been allowed. But, given they didn't have much luck the first two games I guess some was owed. Next year sans Farah and Gallen they will be a good young confident side without too much baggage. I hope Maloney gets made captain. Not just cause he's the best player but you need your captain to be a player-maker.

Ron's_Mate

12-3 penalty count. What a crock of shit.

Thank god that's over now.
Yeah, those cheating Qld grubs were really ruining the game with their constant infringing. I'm glad we agree that the refs did the right thing in cracking down on them.

TheFrog

I've changed my mind about Woods. He really showed genuine leadership tonight and was easily the best forward on the field. Didn't think he had it in him.

TheFrog

Tedesco is my favourite player, but he never passed all game and was covered quite well by the QLD defence. Moylan on the other hand actually looked quite good at 6, seemed to be threatening with his passing and he threw the pass for Ferguson's break. Although give Teddy a few more games and I'm sure he'll warm up to the task as well.
I think Tedesco likes a nice big 10 metres which he'll never get from Queensland.

Clifferd

Well that pretty much settles Moylan, he is a five eight. Best I've seen him play

Tedesco was a bit of a hog but I think was trying to do a lot on his own, 20 odd runs for 253 metres in an origin game is decent

Clifferd

Just saw the replay and it confirms, undoubtedly that Moylan passes it to Ferguson and Ferguson sliced through Inglis then passed it to Tedesco. Tedesco whom I was waiting to set the game alight, never broke the line. He was fed enough ball with ideal attacking situations but never delivered or set anything up tonight.

He was quite easily contained, a lot of pressure on him to perform yet came short of the line twice. Still played better than Moylan did at fullback

Clifferd

Bombed at least a couple of tries, dropped at least 2 balls in the first half. He received the ball a lot, mostly from Moylan, but Queensland were on him all night. Died with the ball repeatedly when his outside men were screaming for the ball. You'd probably retain him if another game were being played next week, but he wasn't anywhere near best on the field.

And I think you'll find the line break belonged to Ferguson. 260 metres sounds a bit rich too.

Your hate for Tedesco is outstanding. He was good but not brilliant

Your boy went pretty good also

Desert Qlder

James Maloney is a damn fine attacking player.

Bit dark about being reffed out of the game but will console with another series win.

blaza88z

fair dinkum, you blokes win a game and all you care to do is argue who was the better player which inevitably comes down to "that bloke from my club"

TheFrog

Your hate for Tedesco is outstanding. He was good but not brilliant

Your boy went pretty good also
Not even good really, I'd say OK if you're lucky. He really did stink up the backline in the first half but improved in the second. Go back through this thread. It was Tedesco who was the reason NSW were not in front by two or three tries at half time. This is not just my opinion.

Pete Cash

Lmao but was still the better nsw fullback for the series. Didnt get tossed around like a little bitch like certain penrith based players did

Apey

Haha Gus cheering on Teddy and Jennings was a f**king classic. Calm down m8 it's a dead rubber and we were average yet again. Hell both NSW and QLD were pretty damn pedestrian in each game. QLD just managed to be less shit as usual in the games that mattered. Undeniably frustrating.

Paullyboy

Tedesco is an amazing talent, but he's the person you dream about the opposition having If you're down to 12 men. He never passes, so the overlap is nullified.

Absolute bludger of a game, typical Sydney game really.