Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2016 team/squad

didn't olive leave after the 2015 season? are you sure musgrove and gosiewski are in the top 25 squad? the first grade squad is only 25 players. it's only the top 25 players that counts towards the first grade salary cap. some of those players you named would be signed on a second tier/nsw cup contract

http://www.nrl.com/nrlhq/referencecentre/salarycap/tabid/10434/default.aspx

Nope, Olive is with us in 2015. It's believed he's going to the Titans in 2016.

I was saying what I think Madge is thinking. I'm not sure of anything as we won't know what our top 25 is until February.

I know it's only the top 25 that count towards the salary cap.

A few of the players I named will be in the top 25. They will have to step up as R95 has mentioned too.

Where are you going to get say 3-4 guys from to be in the top 25????? We can't buy them as we are currently over the cap as Greenburg has said mate.

Currently alien Sam's deal is blocked.

Grevsmuhl and McQueen probably have to go JUST TO ACCOMODATE SAM!!!! MEANING THERE WON'T BE ANY LEFT FOR SIGNINGS OUTSIDE OF THE CLUB!!!!!!

3-4 young guys in our top 25 will be on the minimum wage which is 80k.

i think he is fine to keep as a back up player in the 25 man squad, as long as he isn't on too much coin

Now you're criticising Goodwin. Cmon everyone accept R95 and myself come and join in criticising of Goodwin. Fair bloody dinkum!!!!!!!! Anyone to agree with myself and R95 say so too!!! Cmon guys don't sit on the fence!!!!!!!!

Well you do know Goodwin is signed until the end of 2017.

Goodwin isn't that cheap. He was going to leave but then Souths raised their offer.

I reckon Goodwin is on 250k a season. He deserved his contract due to his very good 2015.

I was mainly talking about his age and how injury prone he has been the past few years plus he doesn't really cross the white line like a centre/ winger should also is terrible under the high ball and has his defence issues.
Doyen, Doyen, Doyen mate help please!!!!!!!!!!

He hasn't been injury prone. Doyen you had statistics showing Goodwin had played a lot of first grade over the last few years. Do you still have the stats??????

Goodwin is better under the high ball than Gray and Goodwin improved in 2015 with catching high balls. Defending next to turnstile Keary is hard as Keary always comes in field too much when it's not necessary.
See this is where I call BS, panthers said they could fit McQueen under there cap but they can fit Grevsmuhl? Come on

Obviously they want the better player which is Grevs.

doyen

Now you're criticising Goodwin. Cmon everyone accept R95 and myself come and join in criticising of Goodwin. Fair bloody dinkum!!!!!!!! Anyone to agree with myself and R95 say so too!!! Cmon guys don't sit on the fence!!!!!!!!

Goodwin isn't that cheap. He was going to leave but then Souths raised their offer.

I reckon Goodwin is on 250k a season. He deserved his contract due to his very good 2015.

Goodwin is one of our better,most reliable players.

He will play every game whether it be centre or wing.

I have researched re Goodwin

2013: 25 games
2014: 13 games
2015: 25 games.

So 63 matches in 3 seasons averaging 21 a season. Geez very injury prone isn't it doyen?:roll::roll::roll:

63 out of 78 games is unacceptable is it to you rsag85???? If it is you're a very very very very very very very hard marker!!!!!!!

So 81percent of matches over the last 3yrs Goodwin has played in.

Geez he must have had so many injuries:roll:

alien

Penrith have said this afternoon they want Grevsmuhl for 2016 and have said its up to Souths to release him now. I think we will have to release him.

i don't think grevs would be on much for 2016 anyway, so releasing him might not really save anything

alien

i like him. most of us members like him because we can see he tries his best. i just don't think he is good enough to be a definite starter in the team like other outside backs like auva'a and aj. if he is on $250,000 a year, i think that is a bit too much

i don't think grevs would be on much for 2016 anyway, so releasing him might not really save anything

There was a clause in his 2015 contract saying if he stayed with us in 2016 we'd have to pay him more.

I have no idea what he'd have been on.

Releasing McQueen won't save a lot either as other clubs won't pay a lot for him. Souths will have to pay probably about half of the contract.

i like him. most of us members like him because we can see he tries his best. i just don't think he is good enough to be a definite starter in the team like other outside backs like auva'a and aj. if he is on $250,000 a year, i think that is a bit too much

I have AJ and Auva'a ahead of him too.

Currently my 4th pick is Goodwin.

So 63 matches in 3 seasons averaging 21 a season. Geez very injury prone isn't it doyen?:roll::roll::roll:

63 out of 78 games is unacceptable is it to you rsag85???? If it is you're a very very very very very very very hard marker!!!!!!!

Thoughts alien???

Nope, Olive is with us in 2015. It's believed he's going to the Titans in 2016.

I was saying what I think Madge is thinking. I'm not sure of anything as we won't know what our top 25 is until February.

I know it's only the top 25 that count towards the salary cap.

A few of the players I named will be in the top 25. They will have to step up as R95 has mentioned too.

Where are you going to get say 3-4 guys from to be in the top 25????? We can't buy them as we are currently over the cap as Greenburg has said mate.

Currently alien Sam's deal is blocked.

Grevsmuhl and McQueen probably have to go JUST TO ACCOMODATE SAM!!!! MEANING THERE WON'T BE ANY LEFT FOR SIGNINGS OUTSIDE OF THE CLUB!!!!!!

3-4 young guys in our top 25 will be on the minimum wage which is 80k.

I think this is an important topic.

Thoughts alien???

alien

There was a clause in his 2015 contract saying if he stayed with us in 2016 we'd have to pay him more.

I have no idea what he'd have been on.

Releasing McQueen won't save a lot either as other clubs won't pay a lot for him. Souths will have to pay probably about half of the contract.

ah ok.

i think it may be better if a player who gets released, goes to the english super league, because souths wouldn't have to pay a part of the contract that way. the player would probably earn more in england and would go very well over there. if grant is using up more of the cap than mcqueen is, then maybe an idea is to organize him to go to england, if he wants to

alien

I think this is an important topic.

Thoughts alien???

maybe see if they can organize grant to go to the english super league, and fill up the remaining 2 or so spots in the squad with promising players on the nrl minimum wage

Rsag85

His whole career hasn't just been with the Rabbitohs before joining the club he had a number of injuries with the Dogs including injuring his spleen which was almost a career ending injury.

Rsag85

Doyen, Doyen, Doyen mate help please!!!!!!!!!!

He hasn't been injury prone. Doyen you had statistics showing Goodwin had played a lot of first grade over the last few years. Do you still have the stats??????

Goodwin is better under the high ball than Gray and Goodwin improved in 2015 with catching high balls. Defending next to turnstile Keary is hard as Keary always comes in field too much when it's not necessary.

Obviously they want the better player which is Grevs.

I'm not a fan of having Gray in the side as well due to him being injury prone, but its a key fact that Goodwin weak point has been under the high ball and I think you will fined Goodwin is the guy he rush up in the defence line leaving players open and creating a weak spot in the defence line.

A rep player vs a rookie?

maybe see if they can organize grant to go to the english super league, and fill up the remaining 2 or so spots in the squad with promising players on the nrl minimum wage

The Grant idea sounds good to me.

Yep we are on the same page now. We have promising young players who would be on the minimum wage.