Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2016 Wk 1 Qual Final - Raiders 14-16 Sharks @ GIO Stadium

Finals Wk 1: Raiders v Sharks

Shorty

Sharks dont get much respect at all.
Nobody seems to be even considering them in the qualifier despite a week off likely helping them immensely.

Hodgson injury might have been a game changer but the Raiders were erratic and spooked at times, I always expected the Sharks to take over the lead at some point.

That's fine...
But in my opinion sharks have limped into finals, lucky to get a win here due to injuries in game to raiders key player
Ha
Lucky?

More like the greatest victory in the Sharks history .
The raiders were
Outplayed
Outcoached
Out scored
Out everything'd

We even had more injuries

nick87

The tide had already turned, you were under the pump when he got hurt.

Whilst that is certainly true, we lost the game by 2 points and had 3-4 clear chances to win it, my feeling is the best player on the park would have made the right play at the right time for us

Particularly when Baptiste blew it playing for a penalty off the Papalii break. He throws that ball wide and it's a walk in try that probably wins the game

Sharks won through experience in big games like this and I think the conditions suited them more than us. Full credit to them, not taking anything away from them, but I just feel like Hodgson would have steadied our ship in the tight closing stages

Card Shark

Hope Hodgson is ok for next week but it doesn't look good.

Love to see the Raiders keep winning from herein.

Well I hope all the teams apart the sharks have massive injury problems and off field inncidents to worry about .

Pete Cash

That game shows the important of big game experience imo. We have none and it hurt us. Still we played pretty good imo. The sharks just played 2 points better. No shame in losing to a team that plays that good in defence

It was always my worry. The refs do give a little more leeway in finals matches which makes them more of a grind. Not saying we wouldnt have benefited from a closer ten too mind. Its just finals are a different game in a lot of ways

myrrh ken

I saw some stat showing raiders had 70 per cent territory. Whatever that means. It was def theirs to lose.

Anyway hope to see you guys in the gf. Makes a change from the usual suspects.

Pete Cash

Its why origin and finals are such a different kettle of fish. The refs do give the defense a lot more of a chance.

I would say its all a good learning experience but knowing the raiders some disaster will happen next year lol

AlwaysGreen

That game shows the important of big game experience imo. We have none and it hurt us. Still we played pretty good imo. The sharks just played 2 points better. No shame in losing to a team that plays that good in defence

It was always my worry. The refs do give a little more leeway in finals matches which makes them more of a grind. Not saying we wouldnt have benefited from a closer ten too mind. Its just finals are a different game in a lot of ways
Absolutely Pete. That's why I was very cautious going into the game whereas others were already lining up for Grand final tickets.
Definitely overawed whilst the sharks played like a team that had played finals football before.

Pete Cash

Yep even though some of the stuff raiders fans posted was just bantz we were strangely confident for a side with no finals experience

Not me of course but i never am :hushed:

nick87

I thought you said we'd won the game before a ball had even been kicked?

How'd that turn out for you mate?

Hahah a fan engaging in some pre game hubris. Stop the pressers!!!

You've spent the entire season calling Croker a turd to yourself on an empty board. How's that turning out for you?

bileduct

Hahah a fan engaging in some pre game hubris. Stop the pressers!!!

You've spent the entire season calling Croker a turd to yourself on an empty board. How's that turning out for you?
Pretty good actually. You bums like to pop in there and bump the thread but you're awfully quiet concerning the ones about superstar Mitch Cornish, origin bound Fensom and how Ricky Stuart is a shit coach.

Enjoy your sour grapes :)

I guess I understand. You guys have never won a comp, if my club had never tasted the sweet nectar of a premiership I'd probably want to get any leg up I could get too

It's not going to help. We'll belt you f**kwits this week without Jack and whoever you play next week will send you bums out in straight sets
Best to come to terms with it

bileduct

Absolutely Pete. That's why I was very cautious going into the game whereas others were already lining up for Grand final tickets.
I'm not even confident that we'll win when we're 20 up with 5 minutes to go. Not sure why some of these spastics were carrying on like we'd already won the game.

Anyway the game unfolded in a fairly predictable way after we didn't convert the mountain of possession in the first half into the points we should have gotten from it. At about the 35 minute mark I turned to Chook and said we'd let in a try right before half time and then go on to lose the game.

myrrh ken

You guys were in it right up until the spastic dropped the unnecessary forearm. Who was that?

I still reckon Boyd could've tried stopping going over the sideline. He didn't even try and looked like he has 4 or 5 metres.

Also leilua was getting caught up in some unnecessary dumb stuff. There was a chance that runaway try could've been disallowed

BWNB

You guys were in it right up until the spastic dropped the unnecessary forearm. Who was that?

I still reckon Boyd could've tried stopping going over the sideline. He didn't even try and looked like he has 4 or 5 metres.

Also leilua was getting caught up in some unnecessary dumb stuff. There was a chance that runaway try could've been disallowed
No chance that Boyd was stopping. Did well to get there actually.