Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 Crowd Watch

Raiderdave

You'd love a home ground you didn't pay rent on.And money coming in that doesn't rely on poker machines like ............hmmmm.
Judging by the attitude of Raider's fans with their attendances, their attitude in attending is hardly worth of an Oscar ,more like a limp biscuit.
The fumblers get $2m pa from the ACT Govt for 10 years for about 4 games, and the Raiders get..........LOL/.

hahahahaha
well I wouldn't pay a cent on shark park either , it aint worth any

The Raiders don't rely on poker machines
They have a property portfolio worth 40 million with tennents paying millions in rent each year , on top of their leagues club empire that also pulls in millions. We could buy the sharks tomorrow with our spare change & relocate them to perth where they belong
they have their solitary title now , & no one gave a shit apparently .. time to pack them up & get some use out of them in a market where they'll be appreciated : )

Cockosh

2013. 2 v 3. Souths (the Pride of the League, 500,000,000,000 members) v Melbourne Storm, Friday night. Crowd: 21,000.

But yeah Roosters haven't cracked Sydney...
Yeah papa bear went awfully quiet when I presented the same game as a comparison. Typical souffs fan deflecting from their home average of 10000 for the year despite supposedly having 30000 members. Our crowds more or less refelect our membership numbers. I wish they were greater but they are on par with all Sydney clubs, better than somevworse than others. But who are we to get in the way of a good myth.

Stallion

Yeah papa bear went awfully quiet when I presented the same game as a comparison. Typical souffs fan deflecting from their home average of 10000 for the year despite supposedly having 30000 members. Our crowds more or less refelect our membership numbers. I wish they were greater but they are on par with all Sydney clubs, better than somevworse than others. But who are we to get in the way of a good myth.

The biggest myth being well and truelly sold to the general public is AFL! Its actually a training run and has been promoted as a tough sport. Not even "nancy status' compared to rugby league. So many mums think 'i know its a wimps game and il push my kids to it. The myth has been sold very well. "Sly shots are tough! " But my boy wouldn't do that. Bugger having a true test of courage! Might get hurt!?" Thats the biggest myth and i note its going unchallenged to this day! I would also suggest that rugby league is a far more inclusive sport (playing wise- more physical-adding to self confidence,more opportunity to tackle and run with the ball etc) than other rival codes.

Cockosh

Tigers should never be in this relocation discussion.

2010 Week 1 - Tigers vs Roosters 34k
2010 Week 3 - Dragons vs Tigers 72k

2011 Week 1 - Tigers vs Dragons 45k
2011 Week 2 - Tigers vs Warriors 31k

Oh baby when we're on fire we can pull a crowd
No they shouldn't be but those crowd numbers are no better than the crowd roosters got on Friday when you consider 3 of them are against Sydney teams one which was the chooks and another in week 3 to make the gf. It's funny how everyone likes putting an asterisks against any roosters game where a decent crowd shows up.

taipan

hahahahaha
well I wouldn't pay a cent on shark park either , it aint worth any

The Raiders don't rely on poker machines
They have a property portfolio worth 40 million with tennents paying millions in rent each year , on top of their leagues club empire that also pulls in millions. We could buy the sharks tomorrow with our spare change & relocate them to perth where they belong
they have their solitary title now , & no one gave a shit apparently .. time to pack them up & get some use out of them in a market where they'll be appreciated : )

So no money from leagues club profits goes toward the Raiders.I can hear the violins playing in the background.To the tune ,we got a live one here.
Then with all that" money "why haven't these wealthy clubs and the property portfolio ,paid for their own ground and stadium?Thinking outside the square or drinking too much recycled water from Lake Barely Tolerable.
You can't even buy a premiership of late, so I wouldn't get too carried away.Spend about twice as much on a football dept for what?
No one gave a sh*t LOL 60,000 who attended apparently did, as well as the sales of over $2m in merchandise as a result.And a full sponsor's list.
Get your own fan base in order before giving orders and advice.The Vioking clap can't underpin you forever LOL.
A $400-500m development involving decent profits plus retail income,plusd a refurbished league club right next to their own ground,is understandably upsetting.Bruno Cullen who audited the Cronulla books and investigated the future and current plans says hi.

Raiderdave

So no money from leagues club profits goes toward the Raiders.I can hear the violins playing in the background.To the tune ,we got a love one here.
Then with all that" money "why haven't these wealthy clubs and the property portfolio ,paid for their own ground and stadium?Thinking outside the square or drinking too much recycled water from Lake Barely Tolerable.
You can't even buy a premiership of late, so I wouldn't get too carried away.Spend about twice as much on a football dept for what?
No one gave a sh*t LOL 60,000 who attended apparently did, as well as the sales of over $2m in merchandise as a result.And a full sponsor's list.
Get your own fan base in order before giving orders and advice.The Vioking clap can't underpin you forever LOL.
A $400-500m development involving decent profits plus retail income,plusd a refurbished league club right next to their own ground,is understandably upsetting.Bruno Cullen who audited the Cronulla books and investigated the future and current plans says hi.

We don't need to pay for our own ground when we pay a pittance for a very good 25K all seater & have the Australian sports commission pay for its upkeep dummy
who said we don't get coin from poker machines ?
I quite clearly said we have a leagues club empire , not a piddling single leagues club like the sharks
an empire !!
we rake it in in truck loads

as for a development , we're not tennents like the sharks
we're landlords
we OWN more property then the sharks ever will

you're a morris minor , we're a Ford Mustang where finances are concerned
oh &
we had more members & bigger average attendances in a year that we missed the finals while you lot were premiers

says it all really : )

taipan

We don't need to pay for our own ground when we pay a pittance for a very good 25K all seater & have the Australian sports commission pay for its upkeep dummy
who said we don't get coin from poker machines ?
I quite clearly said we have a leagues club empire , not a piddling single leagues club like the sharks
an empire !!
we rake it in in truck loads

as for a development , we're not tennents like the sharks
we're landlords
we OWN more property then the sharks ever will

you're a morris minor , we're a Ford Mustang where finances are concerned
oh &
we had more members & bigger average attendances in a year that we missed the finals while you lot were premiers

says it all really : )

You still pay money for the use of that ground.You still spend twice as much in your football dept as the Sharks.You still get outbid by the GWS Gnats to the tune of $2m pa over 10 years.

I stated you did get coin from your Leagues clubs and a far swag of money to go to the football club.Clubs are trying to wean themselves off relying on poker machine monies.I guess in about 50 years the viking clappers will think about doing the same LOL.

The Sharks leagues club will be Landlords not tenants FFS receiving $1m rental pa form their retail development,including a Woolworths supermarket.In addition part of the profits on sales of at least 400 units.Throw in a planned hotel and an additional 200 units awaiting approval.Yeah terrible position LOL.

Bruno Cullen would laugh your 2nd last line re finances.

No we have sand buggies ,which run up and down our wonderful beaches and the ever changing surf, by comparison to the still waters of Lake Barely Tolerable.Mate has a deep sea fishing boat, and charters it out, yeah area is morris minor material.The carp going well in the Lake ?
And we are free of Federal Politicians ,that's worth the price of entry.

You cover a population of 400,000 plus people, the Shire 230,000 .If you can't get a bigger average then your mob is as week as.And BTW they are not averaging thousands more.

You still missed the finals and we were premiers.Thanks for reminding merit;'s music to my ears.

mave

From my personal experience, going to the game is most definately a habit.
It becomes part of your weekend routine.

I go to shtloads of less games in recent years, from 12 home games a year ( including Perth and the CC and Brissie), to 1 last year and 3 this year.

Kids sport has had an effect on my availability.
Prices of food/drink has had an effect.
Percieved NRL favouritism has had an effect.
Being "time poor" has had an effect.
Wankerism of our club owners has an effect.

Scheduling has had the biggest effect imo...my attendance level dropped significantly with a glut of Thurs and Mon night home games over the last couple of years and it hasn't bounced back with much better scheduling this year due to the other factors....like I said...it is habitual.

Thats only 2/6 things on my list the NRL can actually fix imo, but its uphill now.

Finals week 1 crowds for games played in Sydney featuring one out of town team since the inception of the NRL. Any Knights games (as the away team) are also included.

Parra V Knights (1999 - Parra Stadium) - 15,653

Not sure where you got that figure, I'm pretty sure that first semi got over 20,000.

papabear

They have "cracked" the Sydney market. People underestimate dormant support. For instance, a few years back East Roosters played South Sydney in an end of season competition game and drew well over 50000 to ANZ stadium.
The same "experts" got their way when bagging North Sydney Bears and now we have little or no business sector support in that influential part of Sydney and no top flight rugby league. These so called "experts that were followed by RL administrators took delight in dismantling iconic clubs like the Balmain Tigers, West Suburbs Magpies and the North Sydney Bears. Go figure?

The "bad guys" have been getting their way big time! Coincidentally, post Super League, which I believe was a deliberate and calculated attack on the game of rugby league in Australia. This attack was financed by News Ltd (whose CEO doesn't like rugby league & signed a Union broadcast deal at the same time) but does want to use it(RL) to gain customers.
They were mostly souths fans, riding their return to relevance.

papabear

I dont have time to respond to absolutely every post on this forum.

But I remain convinced of my posts and that easts support is below that of a lot more clubs then they are above.

Also I have been and remain a raiders fan since I started posted back on mattos website rleague.com

papabear

14,307 for 10 premiership matches at SFS in 2017.
Parra is the only Sydney team with a better Sydney average this year and it's by a hair.

But it isn't a useful thing to say. Every clubs crowds are worse when you exclude their biggest draw.
For Dogs Souths and Parra we can chop off their public holiday games, it's only fair. They don't draw near what ours does, maybe they aren't as popular as everyone thinks? Take a look at their week 1 finals crowds v out of towners posted above.

Sharks biggest crowd was only because they had thousands of dancers and their parents in attendance.. this shows initiative so it's cut too.

Wests game vs Parra - Parra members had free entry so that's gone.

Dragons Manly Panthers didn't really have any passable crowds to speak of so we'll leave them be I guess.
to be fair to the dragons they will get to count the ANZAC game next year.

But lets be honest here, that game always appears to have a fair few more dragons fans then easts regardless of form.

Take out the 40k for the anzac game and you are looking at an average of about 11k 100k/9, which whilst you might think is better then what Souths / Dragons / Tigers would get, I disagree.

Next time one of those three run in the top 3 all season long, lets take out there best game (ANZAC for the dragons eels for tigers and I dunno easts for souths) see what there average is, I think it would be higher. Despite all three having far worse stadium locality and policies then easts.

IMO there's no doubt that Souths and Canterbury not going as well on the field has had an affect on the overall average. A few years back when they were constantly in the top four/eight, both sides were up in the top group of average home crowds. Souths are now stone motherless last and Canterbury have slipped to 8th in that list as well.

Scheduling certainly hasn't helped but I think the strength of crowds often comes on the back of certain clubs having good seasons too.

One interesting thing to note for Dragons is that their Wollongong crowds dwarf their Kogarah crowds this year despite hosting games against interstate teams.

Not sure where you got that figure, I'm pretty sure that first semi got over 20,000.

You are right, I accidentally recorded the crowd for the game below on NRL tables..

So that's one other crowd involving a non Sydney team in week 1 above the chooks this year. Kind of proves my point though as it was yet again a game featuring the Knights.

But lets be honest here, that game always appears to have a fair few more dragons fans then easts regardless of form.

Incorrect. It more often than not follows a form pattern. There have been times we were clearly outnumbered, particularly the 2009-2011 games but equally, we clearly outnumbered them in 2013 and 2014.

Emu01

One interesting thing to note for Dragons is that their Wollongong crowds dwarf their Kogarah crowds this year despite hosting games against interstate teams.

Not correct. Kogarah had.Titans,Warriors,Newcastle all out of Sydney.

Only had 1 Sydney game Sharks which we drew a good crowd and Panthers which are a poor crowd puller just about everywhere.

5 games 3 of them out of Sydney teams.plus Penrith not really a Sydney team.

It wasn't like your suggesting at all.

Kogarah had it just as bad as win if not worse.

Win had Manly, Parramatta Storm, Cowboys.

Slightly better for Win than Kogarah.

Don't let the facts get in the way of a good story! The big drawing clubs played at ANZ,SCG and Alliance.

IMO there's no doubt that Souths and Canterbury not going as well on the field has had an affect on the overall average. A few years back when they were constantly in the top four/eight, both sides were up in the top group of average home crowds. Souths are now stone motherless last and Canterbury have slipped to 8th in that list as well.

Scheduling certainly hasn't helped but I think the strength of crowds often comes on the back of certain clubs having good seasons too.

Undoubtedly, but probably more than just who was in finals form for the year but where in the 8 they finished. For example one of our best years for crowds was 2012. It also had Monday night games impacting fixture appeal.
1 Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 23,572
2 Melbourne Storm (P) 12,685
3 South Sydney Rabbitohs 18,904
4 Manly Warringah Sea Eagles 14,593
5 North Queensland Cowboys 14,415
6 Canberra Raiders 10,190
7 Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks 13,234
8 Brisbane Broncos 33,377
Top 8 Avg crowd 17,621

This year we had Melbourne who have significantly grown fanbase since then, Roosters boosted by out of town games, Eels, Cowboys and Brisbane as big fanbase clubs. The positives were outweighed though by the low drawers of manly, Cronulla and Penrith making the 8.

2017 (2012 crowd avg difference)
1 Melbourne Storm 18,375 (+5,690)
2 Sydney Roosters 15,387 (12,482 finished 13th)
3 Brisbane Broncos 31,394 (-1,983)
4 Parramatta Eels 14,346 (16,803 finished last)
5 Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks 12,953 (-281)
6 Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles 13,493 (-1,100)
7 Penrith Panthers 12,922 (10,858 finished 15th)
8 North Queensland Cowboys 16,528 (+2,113)
Top 8 Avg crowd 16,924 (-697)

Crowds are down at most clubs, even those making the 8. Melbourne & NQ being the only clubs to increase crowd avg of those who made the 8 in both years.