Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 Crowd Watch

Stallion

Don't get your ambitions confused with Sydney RL fans capabilities.

Their are examples of what I call 'dormant' support. The tripple header on the rep weekend showed an appetite for international footy. This game was not eell advertised but it drew a full house at Campbelltown. For the right game the Sydney fans will show. My gut feel is that England v Australia was the right game.

thorson1987

Their are examples of what I call 'dormant' support. The tripple header on the rep weekend showed an appetite for international footy. This game was not eell advertised but it drew a full house at Campbelltown. For the right game the Sydney fans will show. My gut feel is that England v Australia was the right game.

It drew a good crowd because we have a large polynesian community out here.

No way will it convert to a crowd for Aus v England.

Raiderdave

NSW cup grand final looks like it's about 500-750 people.

Why does NSW hate sport?

QLD cup GF - 11k
VFL grand final - 30k
SANFL grand final - 25k
WAFL grand final - 20k

NSW is the worst sporting state in the country.

yesterday on the offsiders show , a victorian jurno asked a sydney jurno
will Sydney embrace the all non sydney GF

the sydney jurno's reply

no , Sydney embraces nothing !
no truer a spoken word

Stallion

yesterday on the offsiders show , a victorian jurno asked a sydney jurno
will Sydney embrace the all non sydney GF

the sydney jurno's reply

no , Sydney embraces nothing !
no truer a spoken word

Very anti Sydney aren't you? Considering that's where the NRL is from? I believe once rugby league ever gains presence in all private schooling along with public schools then this will see rugby league universally embraced. Other codes have such presence and this does make a difference. You think 'why do I go on about schooling?' I do so as this ultimately sets the theme for cultural acceptance and presence and if a sport hasn't got all demographics involved/ interested in them it is a battle for universal acceptance. Something the dominant code in Melbourne enjoys.

Raiderdave

Very anti Sydney aren't you? Considering that's where the NRL is from? I believe once rugby league ever gains presence in all private schooling along with public schools then this will see rugby league universally embraced. Other codes have such presence and this does make a difference. You think 'why do I go on about schooling?' I do so as this ultimately sets the theme for cultural acceptance and presence and if a sport hasn't got all demographics involved/ interested in them it is a battle for universal acceptance. Something the dominant code in Melbourne enjoys.

im anti anything that is anti the game i love
lazy , apathetic , entitled
thats your average sydney nrl fan ... time to shake the cage
decentralisation is a must

Billythekid

11,260 at Suncorp for PNG vs Sunshine Coast. A new record.

Incredible crowd. Great to see the QLD Cup going so well and also loving the rise of PNG.

Agree with you Red however the marketing people should have given Sydney England v Australia. It would have filled the SFS with expats and myself for starters.

As Perth red said the Victorian government payed a lot for that game (if it's truly half a million that's phenomenal). We'll get a packed 30K at Aami and the atmosphere will be electric. Hard to complain about that.

Why should Sydney get it? They offered no money so even if it sold out we still would have made less money. Also is there any reason to think it would sell out? I think it's more likely it would draw an average crowd and the next day we'd have all the media beating us up.

This way we guarantee a sellout that'll look fantastic and is hard for anyone to complain about.

Stallion

Incredible crowd. Great to see the QLD Cup going so well and also loving the rise of PNG.

As Perth red said the Victorian government payed a lot for that game (if it's truly half a million that's phenomenal). We'll get a packed 30K at Aami and the atmosphere will be electric. Hard to complain about that.

Why should Sydney get it? They offered no money so even if it sold out we still would have made less money. Also is there any reason to think it would sell out? I think it's more likely it would draw an average crowd and the next day we'd have all the media beating us up.

This way we guarantee a sellout that'll look fantastic and is hard for anyone to complain about.

I can see why it was chosen. However i think it would have been sold out in Sydney given plenty of expats and the Bennet factor plus Aussies from NSW would have attended. I for one would have gladly made the effort from Newcastle.

By my estimations a good crowd at Parra while Broncos should be a little disappointed with their turnout. Overall a good result outdrawing the AFL though.

Week 3 the margins for success are a bit stricter imo

Melbourne:
Pass 25k
Good 27k
Excellent 30k/announced sellout

Roosters:
Pass 30k
Good 36k
Excellent 42k /announced sellout

Melbourne excellent.

Roosters disappointing. Really should have been pushing 35. Apathy from both our own fanbase and Sydney neutrals. It's fair to say that it's our club's responsibility to pack it out, but as someone who frequently goes to other clubs' big games as a fan of Rugby League it's sad that so few others seem to bother.

28k is appaling for a prelim in Sydney on a Saturday night I'm sorry despite the opposition.

My mate who went there said there was a definite 50/50 split meaning half Roosters the rest Cowboys/neutrals cheering on the cowboys. They have no support despite being successful for 5+ years

If it was any of Tigers, Bulldogs, Saints or Eels vs Cowboys they would've easily sold out last night.

It was a shit crowd but your mate is full of shit.

Absolute rubbish.

beave

I thought the turn out of NQ fans on saturday was pretty good. Looked to have 2 full bays of blue and yellow. That stadium should have been packed to the rafters though, the psychological impact that would have had on the chooks being revved up by a capacity crowd would have done wonders for them.

Damn shame.

For what it's worth, members was completely empty. The flogs were obviously out watching GWS get done or something

Edit: maybe it was corporate? I'm not sure which is which, but one of the upper bowls was full the opposite side was completely empty.

AlwaysGreen

Hopefully the grand final will be as full as a goog.

However I can understand the good people of north Queensland and those south of the border not showing up because the airlines are f**king rorting them with ticket prices.