Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 Qual Final, Fri - Roosters 24-22 Broncos @ Allianz

Finals Week 1: Roosters v Broncos

dogz08

How about the absolute bath that Boyd Cordner gave Gillett?

Forgetting that moment where he forgot how to run he absolutely dominated that game.

His runs are legendary.

The man just loves bitch slapping pretenders to the throne of the "best 2nd rower" title.

did you type that with 1 hand?

axl rose

The reversal of the drop out call seemed bit harsh. I thought the Rorters player touched it after it was already dead.

Uncle Benny really struggles for a plan B when he gets a few key injuries these days. Where as in the 90's and early 00's he could easily plug a hole with an international alongside the other 10 in the squad. Thier depth looks to be even worse next year.

OVP

The Mitchell disallowed try. I still dont get it. They were looking at the grounding for 2 mins. WTF was going on there ?

Big Pete

The Mitchell disallowed try. I still dont get it. They were looking at the grounding for 2 mins. WTF was going on there ?

There was seperation and they were looking to determine whether he had sufficient control of the ball before the ball was grounded.

He didn't and the video referee earned their keep.

Danish

He clearly dropped the ball. You could see definite space between his hand and the ball, and he never got it back again. Next time I bet Mitchell won't be so lax with his grip.

I don't get why it took them so long, but it was the right call.

They let far worse tries go this year, but the fact they have got them wrong in the past doesn't make tonight's ruling a bad decision.

Danish

Brisbane just never gave themselves a shot. The most frustrating thing about the performance is that the Roosters almost committed one of the biggest chokes in final history but in all honesty the Broncos didn't deserve to win. Just far too many disruptions to the team and the ball just wasn't finding the right players when it needed to.

In a poor performance, I was really impressed with Josh McGuire. He was like a one man army in our forward pack who were otherwise disappointing.

Strange game, entertaining...but not exactly high-quality.

The entire 2nd half seemed to consist of the broncos trying to hand us the game, only for us to hand it right back. So many brisbane dropped balls coming out of your end followed up by a meek set of 6 by us ending with conceding a 7 tackle set.

If the ball had pulled up in the ingoal on the last play I think I would have jumped out a window

Willie Ray

39 missed tackles by the broncs...absolute master stroke by Wayne to bring in Peter Ryan to tighten up their defence.....worked a treat.

GongPanther

Wouldn't take him if he was free.

Keary on the other hand.. .... poor Madge... Russell cost him Keary and his job at Souths.
I might be drawing at sticks here,but maybe the catlyst of Mages sacking had to do with his falling out with Keary? Especailly the way Keary is killing it ATM.

Big Pete

Too hard to tell for me, i need to see a proper replay. But i never saw him drop it. And neither did my mate who hates the roosters lol,

I thought it was a try initially, but the replay showed the ball came loose. Mitchell has to actually regrip and control the ball, not just ground it like a grubber.

The entire 2nd half seemed to consist of the broncos trying to hand us the game, only for us to hand it right back. So many brisbane dropped balls coming out of your end followed up by a meek set of 6 by us ending with conceding a 7 tackle set.

The first 20 minutes or so of the contest was great. Both teams played extremely fast football and the Roosters were just capitilising on the Broncos defence. Unfortunately the Gordon goal put the Chooks into their shells and the rest of the game was exactly as you described.

The Roosters are one of the most frustratingly 'great' teams I've seen. They're like Cronulla or Manly where you can see greatness in them but they just commit the dumbest mistakes imagineable.

The fact Ferguson came up with that play and they still won sums it up.

Regardless, it probably works out better this way. Sydney v Cronulla/Eels & Melbourne v Manly/Broncos makes for a far more interesting GF qualifier.

King hit

That was a quality game of footy. Action packed, hard hitting, fast moving and some great tries on show as well. If that is any indication we are in for a great finals series.

Spot On

I might be drawing at sticks here,but maybe the catlyst of Mages sacking had to do with his falling out with Keary? Especailly the way Keary is killing it ATM.

Maybe? I thought the issue there was the tongue lashing Rusty gave Keary at Nana Glen in front of the playing group?

Either way, Keary got the Roosters home after a poor showing from their halfback.

kbw

I actually think the referees got all the calls pretty right as much as both sets of fans seem to get upset at a couple.
The Broncos defense was up very quickly all night and I think that cost them in attack as at times they were the slowest Broncos attack I have seen in a long time.

Pearce was actually very good last night. His defense was sensatinal and he saved the team a few times. Keary did the finishing a bit but a lot of that was set up by Pearce.

Friend was the one that let the team down, great in defense but his service was too slow and he carried too long before passing on a few occasions

RWB

Brisbane just never gave themselves a shot. The most frustrating thing about the performance is that the Roosters almost committed one of the biggest chokes in final history but in all honesty the Broncos didn't deserve to win. Just far too many disruptions to the team and the ball just wasn't finding the right players when it needed to.

In a poor performance, I was really impressed with Josh McGuire. He was like a one man army in our forward pack who were otherwise disappointing.

Strange game, entertaining...but not exactly high-quality.

Any reason why Mcguire runs so wide of the ruck?

Surely your job as a middle forward is to take carries through the middle and put fatigue into the oppositions middles. We were barely challenged all night up the guts, Brisbane's middles went missing if you ask me, Mcguire included. Not sure why he was out on the right edge so often.

Napa 62 mintues, 24 tackles
Hargreaves 52 minutes, 25 tackles
Liu 50 minutes, 23 tackles
Taukeiaho 32 minutes, 11 tackles
Evans 22 minutes, 11 tackles

They're extremely low numbers and when we went behind and needed points these guys just had way too much energy and got us into good field position like it was nothing.