Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2017 R25 Sun - Panthers 14-16 Dragons @ Pepper

Round 25: Panthers v Dragons

SBD82

7 wins in a row, charging towards the top 4, playing a popular Sydney side that is still in the running, who we have a debt to settle with, on a Sunday arvo at Penrith Park.

If this doesn't pull 20,000 something is seriously wrong.
Would be great. Hope it's packed to the rafters.

This could well be our GF. Would be nice to see it happen in front of a big crowd.

Alec's-saints

I can't speak for all of our supporters, but for myself I'm bitter because I've seen our most promising season for years fall in a stinking steaming pile of shit, and instead of eyeing off a top 4 spot, I've been reduced to deathriding a team that I really like (panthers) while cheering for teams I hate (bulldogs... *retch*) just to have a mathematical chance of making 8th.

And even if we do make it, from what we've shown lately we will have very little chance of being competitive in the finals.

So... you can see why we might be a little terse this week.

Also. Don't pay too much attention to Alec's saints. He's what we call a "special" supporter.
What's your interpretation of being special? dragons raped panthers in round 1 did they not?I'm not aloud to voice my own opinion apparently. if i open my mouth i deserve the death penalty. wanker.

Life's Good

Why are some of the Dragons fans so incredibly bitter? this will be a tough game which could go either way and whether they make the 8 or not it's been a season of real progress compared to last year (4th best attacking record actually). I guess it's the sense of entitlement they have from the St.George side of the merger..

I can't speak for all of our supporters, but for myself I'm bitter because I've seen our most promising season for years fall in a stinking steaming pile of shit, and instead of eyeing off a top 4 spot, I've been reduced to deathriding a team that I really like (panthers) while cheering for teams I hate (bulldogs... *retch*) just to have a mathematical chance of making 8th.

And even if we do make it, from what we've shown lately we will have very little chance of being competitive in the finals.

So... you can see why we might be a little terse this week.

Also. Don't pay too much attention to Alec's saints. He's what we call a "special" supporter.

SBD82 answers it well. The bitterness less about the opposition. We have had a coach who has singularly failed to address what was plain for all to see once our slump started. Lack of creativity(fixed with Dufty), bench use(many games he has only used 3 interchange players) and continued selection of McCrone when there were other options(as ably proved by Kurt Mann). We have won 5 from 15 after a super start. Hard to take that will only be compounded by the 'crocodile tears' end of year review telling us how we finished well above where the bookies had us pegged.

skeepe

Commiserations, Dragons fans. You'll be whistled out of this one so the NRL agenda can continue.

mxlegend99

Lol

Big difference between Penrith round 1 v Penrith round 25

My team looked like premiership contenders after destroying souffs in round 1 also, now we sit in 15th spot with 2 games to go.
Yeah a lot of changes since Round 1.

Round 1 back 3 were Moylan, Hiku and Whare. Absolutely no impact in kick returns
Last 10 rounds or so we have Edwards, DWZ and Mansour... getting us off to terrific starts to sets.

Round 1 we had TMM and Cleary in the halves. Having never played together and having a handful of NRL experience between them.
Cleary is now much more experienced and Moylan and he are beginning to find a good balance. Moylan couldn't slot in to playmaking properly with TMM and Cleary.... everyone got in each others way.

Tyrone May has since made his debut and looked good.
Corey Harawira-Naera has since made his debut and looked good.
RCG has become a weapon off the bench.
Tamou has been better than he was Round 1... still a waste of money.
Merrin was lacking match fitness... and while he's still not in peak form he's better than he was round 1.

We also thought we would win Round 1 simply by being there. We got brought back to reality after the opening 10 rounds or so. In a way I think we need another loss before the finals... I want to keep winning but I fear if we go in on a 9 game winning streak we could be too confident and get a harsh wake up call in a sudden death game.

mxlegend99

Commiserations, Dragons fans. You'll be whistled out of this one so the NRL agenda can continue.
You should want the Dragons to lose. If they win your chances at making it blow out even further.

You need Panthers to win their next 2 matches to have a chance to make it.

Clifferd

I'm telling you dragons are cactus (as much as I don't mind them)

Chatting to de belin he just seemed to not give a f**k and conceded the seasons over. That was the attitude I got and if I was a dragons fan I'd be pissed hearing that

Must be some deep internal issues at saints. I also have no clue why but it's very concerning and may have some truth considering their dreadful "efforts" the last few weeks

betcats

I'm telling you dragons are cactus (as much as I don't mind them)

Chatting to de belin he just seemed to not give a f**k and conceded the seasons over. That was the attitude I got and if I was a dragons fan I'd be pissed hearing that

Must be some deep internal issues at saints. I also have no clue why but it's very concerning and may have some truth considering their dreadful "efforts" the last few weeks

Yeah I'd be concerned if one of my players was talking like that unless the top 8 was completely out of reach.

pantherz9103

The main danger for us is (apart from if the Dragons turn up and play strongly like they are capable of), just getting ahead of ourselves. We've won 7 in a row and we're improving with our combinations but there are still periods in every game that we struggle in. The opposition tends to be a chance in every game against us but our forwards have really stepped up and with young Cleary maturing so fast and with the sheer talent of our outside backs , we find ways to win each week. Can we keep doing that or will we have an off week?..

If we were going to lose a game I'd prefer it be against Manly (if a top 4 spot isn't within reach) because we need to shut out Mary McGregor's men from finals.