Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2018 Crowd Watch

footy75

AFL and the storm co-exist well down there.

in sydney, the leaguies get their knickers in a knot, call it AFL...deride the swans as much as they can....talk about TV numbers.

they're both f**king sports where grown up men are running around carrying and chasing balls FFS

exactly...the sooner people stop crying and acting like 12 year olds and realise the two codes go well together and take advantage of that the better off both codes will be not to mention normal people and grown adults that have to listen to the constant petulance.

Going to the RL in the Melbourne on a Saturday night is awesome. Cant beat the atmsophere in the CBD, Casino and Richmond. Footy fans everywhere... Coming from games, going to games...everyones pissing on and talking footy...its all good.

The code war that some babies like to have is the equivalent of the war on drugs... a complete waste of space and time.

unforgiven

That’s nuts, no-one with Fox is watching the 7:30 game on Ch9. Why would you? Sadly the viewing figures are pretty good so we won’t see any change for 5 years despite the disaster on crowds. Clubs and nrl have got their fox money so they won’t care.
That is the exact reason for the 6pm game, don't underestimate how stuck people become to routine. Watching the footy on ch 9 on friday night is a set routine for people. So rightly or wrongly Fox believes they will have a greater % of people watching the 7.30 game on fox instead of 9 if they have a lead in fox exclusive game.

In a very light on strat plan released by the nrl there is a target in it of:
“ Support NRL clubs in developing increased and exciting game day experiences for fans”. This is the only strat goal relating to crowds. No ambitious target for crowd avg increases for this mob lol.

https://www.nrl.com/siteassets/operations/nrl-strategic-plan-2018-2022.pdf
So you attack them for setting a pie-in-the-sky goal, then attack them for not setting a pie-in-the-sky goal.

I reckon they could do just about anything and you'd find a way to shout it down.

Honestly, this seems like a good choice. This game would get 5k regardless of when it is played.

At least this means no other crowd is effected by the shitty slot.
I'm glad someone else has said this.

If you look at all the matches in this round, Fri 6pm makes perfect sense for this one. The crowd is already set to be low. The trade-off of giving it a better slot is reducing a crowd at a game much more likely to pull in fans.

greenBV4

I'm glad someone else has said this.

If you look at all the matches in this round, Fri 6pm makes perfect sense for this one. The crowd is already set to be low. The trade-off of giving it a better slot is reducing a crowd at a game much more likely to pull in fans.
Fair point

I'm just worried It might not even get to 5k..

Hello, I'm The Doctor

AFL and the storm co-exist well down there.

in sydney, the leaguies get their knickers in a knot, call it AFL...deride the swans as much as they can....talk about TV numbers.

they're both f**king sports where grown up men are running around carrying and chasing balls FFS

Isnt that the name?

I call it VFL because i have no respect for the sport. I assumed AFL was what they wanted.

Walter sobchak

Excuse me lads and lasses newbie from England here but what’s the deal with the manly fans and getting such low crowds?? Are they boycotting the team and or stadium??

Fair point

I'm just worried It might not even get to 5k..
And so be it. I agree it seems like it's a shit game in a shit timeslot but it's a 192 game season and we're in the final three weeks. It's bound to happen, unfortunately.

g**fl is autocorrected to AFL....like merkin is to merkin
Precisely. It adds nothing to any discussion and only serves to unnecessary irritate others. There's a board if you wanna go fight about AFL further down the forum, (nobody talks about it), but I don't see the contributions to insult it as an opposition code instructive or helpful in here.

So you attack them for setting a pie-in-the-sky goal, then attack them for not setting a pie-in-the-sky goal.

I reckon they could do just about anything and you'd find a way to shout it down.

Fail. I attacked them for not even getting close to their ambitious but not unrealistic goal. It wasn’t so much they didn’t get to a 20k avgbut they actually went backwards despite independent ownership and a sht load more money than the games ever had.

Not publicly setting any targets is just laughable and an admission of how poorly they did in the last 5 years.

Fail. I attacked them for not even getting close to their ambitious but not unrealistic goal. It wasn’t so much they didn’t get to a 20k avgbut they actually went backwards despite independent ownership and a sht load more money than the games ever had.

Not publicly setting any targets is just laughable and an admission of how poorly they did in the last 5 years.
That is an utterly odd correlation - that crowds should increase because they owned it themselves and had supposed extra money.

It speaks nothing as to where that money actually went and implies that they'd be perfect at running it independently from the get-go which is a ludicrous assumption in itself.

Calling 20k a not unrealistic goal is also a complete furphy, it was clearly aspirational and never likely to be achieved, there's never been an upswing in average crowds of that size where there's been no structural change to the comp (i.e. added or subtracted teams).

This Year?

Yeah, such a blockbuster, and at most 10,000 people will show up.
That's because there's not much away support in Sydney. If the Broncos are the biggest club in Australia where is all their away support?

*Edit* I must admit the Roosters have pretty poor support too considering how well they are doing.

That is an utterly odd correlation - that crowds should increase because they owned it themselves and had supposed extra money.

It speaks nothing as to where that money actually went and implies that they'd be perfect at running it independently from the get-go which is a ludicrous assumption in itself.

Calling 20k a not unrealistic goal is also a complete furphy, it was clearly aspirational and never likely to be achieved, there's never been an upswing in average crowds of that size where there's been no structural change to the comp (i.e. added or subtracted teams).

Generally if you set a goal in a strat plan you then set a strategy to achieve it with key kpi’s and dedicated investment to deliver. 2011 you could have blamed conflicted ownership, a merkin puppet ceo and the game having little money to invest in acheiv8ng it’s targets. 2013 onwards none of those impediments existed. Ironically crowds went backwards despite the advantages the game has had in the last 5 years.

Like I said an increase would have at least shown their ability to implement their strat plan, the fact crowds have reduced is the big issue, not that they didn’t quite reach 20k.

Pre strat plan and target being set

2009 16069
2010 16406
2011 16273
2012 16423

That’s 4 years with a crowd avg over 16k

IC takes over and new mega $ tv deal kicks in

2013 15940
2014 15905
2015 15074
2016 15214
2017 14919 (nearly a 10% drop from the high of 2012)

Even with your spin you can’t hide it was an abject failure on the nrl’s part in one of its key kpii areas of its strategic goals to grow crowds.