Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2018 QF2 Fri - Storm 29-28 Rabbitohs @ AAMI

Finals Week 1: Storm v Rabbitohs

moffla

As we’ve never won in Melbourne would explain the odds...

It’s gonna be an extremely tough one tomorrow... with the calls Storm will get we shall have to defend like our lives depend on it.

Storm will lay all over us too...

Slater leaps in the air and falls hard without a hand laid on him or with a Souths player just contesting the ball too well no worries at all penalty Melbourne!

You're acting like no-one can come to Melbourne and beat us. Reality is we have lost about four games year this year. Tigers did it, Manly did it, Sharks did it and Panthers did it. All these teams you are superior to. Stop the pre-game excuses.

I Bleed Maroon

You're acting like no-one can come to Melbourne and beat us. Reality is we have lost about four games year this year. Tigers did it, Manly did it, Sharks did it and Panthers did it. All these teams you are superior to. Stop the pre-game excuses.

Nah, Melbourne won't lose at AAMI Park for the entire finals. Slater fairytale party is in full swing, especially now with all the negative press the game has gotten.

Galeforce

Meh. Streaks like that are begging to be ended.

exactly!

If souths are going to be premiers in 2018 , they need to win this game !!
expect it to be brutal , the winner will need the weeks break , the loser most likely goes out next game!

DO or DIE

yobbo84

I mean we’ve never beaten them in Melbourne

For the first 10 or so years we were a basket case who couldn't beat anyone so disregard that. The last 5 years we've played the same grinding style as Melbourne and you're never going to out-wrestle Melbourne. This year is completely different - two talented teams played very different styles of footy. My only concern is the policing of the ruck. If they get away with murder we'll find it hard.

Someguy

For the first 10 or so years we were a basket case who couldn't beat anyone so disregard that. The last 5 years we've played the same grinding style as Melbourne and you're never going to out-wrestle Melbourne. This year is completely different - two talented teams played very different styles of footy. My only concern is the policing of the ruck. If they get away with murder we'll find it hard.

It’s funny that bunnies fans constantly talk about the ruck when in fact there own team has consistently produced the slowest play the ball speeds against for the last few years.

sup42

What a brilliant game to kick off the NRL finals.

Getting pretty excited already.

Two awesome sides, I'm going to jump on Melbournes bandwagon, but I think the Bunnies win this.

Liddell

This completely depends on how the ruck is officiated when souths are in possession. If souths are allowed to commit voluntary tackles 3 or 4 times a set to get a quick play the ball then they will win, if Melbourne are allowed to channel their inner Steve Austin then they will win.

If it is somewhere in the middle it will be a good contest.

Are these voluntary tackles the 2018 version of the ice chips?

Apey

exactly!

If souths are going to be premiers in 2018 , they need to win this game !!
expect it to be brutal , the winner will need the weeks break , the loser most likely goes out next game!

DO or DIE
golly gosh you're still kicking

Grapple

Looking forward to this game a lot.

I love watching Souths play. I think when they are on, they really click as a well oiled machine. You could see it against Wests, they suddenly found their gear and were off, and when they're like that they're hard to stop.
And though Melbourne aren't as well oiled now that Cooper has gone and Cam and Billy are little older nearing the end, they still have that consistent and stable game management to confront Souths speed. You win against Melbourne when you rattle them, Cronulla knows this well.
I'd like Souths to win but can't call it. I think Melbourne will be well up for it and will try every trick in the book. Whoever loses will still be a handle for their next opponent. Bring it on!!!

Meapro Ham

I think Melbourne win this. Souths displayed their hand when they last met. Bellamy would’ve figured out how to counter it in the meantime.

Tommy Smith

I hope Melbourne win and GI has a stinker.

I'm sick of hearing "how fit" he is.

I mean he's a pro athlete, so it's his f**king job to be fit.

It ain't an accomplishment. On the contrary it's pointing out that GI has spent portions of his career being a fat lazy merkin.

ram raid

It ain't an accomplishment. On the contrary it's pointing out that GI has spent portions of his career being a fat lazy merkin.

It's an accomplishment for him. How can the exhibition of GI looking virile and alpha not excite you? It is the greatest sight in rugby league, neared only by Sonny Bill with his shirt off.

Obey

You get rattled easy

Galeforce

This completely depends on how the ruck is officiated when souths are in possession. If souths are allowed to commit voluntary tackles 3 or 4 times a set to get a quick play the ball then they will win, if Melbourne are allowed to channel their inner Steve Austin then they will win.

If it is somewhere in the middle it will be a good contest.

what is Voluntary tackle? what a stupid comment.
Voluntary tackle to me , only means dropping down when no-one touches you.

You mean , Souths play the ball quickly when they are tackled......what is wrong with that ?

takes strength and stamina and skill to play the ball quickly without screwing it up.

Fast play the ball is also more entertaining for spectators.

Only those fans with teams who are not smart / strong enough to play the ball quickly , come up with the wrong use of "voluntary tackle" as an issue for Souths fast play the balls.

JB04

Think whoever wins this makes the Grand final, whilst loser will either go out next week or the following
Agreed Vic. I reckon Souths to win and for a Sharks v Rabbitohs GF with Storm beating Broncos next week and losing to the Sharks in the prelim final