Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2019 Crowd Watch

horrie hastings

Such a good team, and their fans don't want to come out and watch them on a sunny Sunday afternoon.

I had to work till 5pm so couldn't get the game, watched a bit of it on phone during my break and between serving customers and doing orders, while it wasn't a good crowd it still was bigger than Saints vs Parra, two Sydney based teams playing, the Dragons crowd was disgusting.

This Year?

It's sad that Jubilee is getting such a poor crowd on such a beautiful day against a same city club, but if change is to happen at Saints then people feel the need to vote with their feet as there is no other way the club will take notice.

T-Boon

The Dragons need to shift to Wollongong. It could potentially get crowds comparable to Newcastle.

Billythekid

It's sad that Jubilee is getting such a poor crowd on such a beautiful day against a same city club, but if change is to happen at Saints then people feel the need to vote with their feet as there is no other way the club will take notice.

I’m just sick of hearing people use form to justify poor crowds. Even if one team is in poor form this is a local derby between 2 teams with like 20K+ memberships (one of which is in good form).

Also this year we have 6 Sydney teams in the top 8 and 7 in the top 9. Yet I still have to hear constantly how teams can’t attract fans because they’re too shit.

This Year?

I’m just sick of hearing people use form to justify poor crowds. Even if one team is in poor form this is a local derby between 2 teams with like 20K+ memberships (one of which is in good form).

Also this year we have 6 Sydney teams in the top 8 and 7 in the top 9. Yet I still have to hear constantly how teams can’t attract fans because they’re too shit.

Read into however you like but that's how it is. I am just one disgruntled Saints fan whose form of protest is to not attend games until the team decides to at least have a go.
I assume you are a Storm fan so this may be hard for you to relate with, but when your club treats you with utter contempt and trots out the kind of performance like you saw today from Saints (and have done so for pretty much all season), it would weigh on your decision to attend especially if you have travel to contend with as well. I wouldn't be surprised if many Saints fans took advantage of the beautiful day to do anything except go to the footy.

ReddFelon

I honestly think it comes down to culture. 2017 Manly finished 6th, our crowds were shit. Our crowds started out poorly this year but have improved with our two most recent home crowds being great. I don't think our form is that much better than 2017, the key difference is that Des has reconnected the team with the community. Old players coming back into the fold, bringing Wormald back on board for the Golden Eagles sponsorship, getting players out into the community and doing more to connect with people has made people want to be involved with the club.

The same is true for a few other clubs like Canberra. On field form plays a part, but some clubs are so concerned with on field form that that they ignore building the community relationships and getting people to care about the team. The only team I can be slightly forgiving toward in this situation is Easts, because they've got a terrible home venue for the next few years. I know that if I were living in the Eastern Suburbs and my choices were go to Easts Leagues or go to the SCG I wouldn't be going to the SCG.

SLRBRONCOS

Next Sunday looks like we will have two ripper crowds! Weather permitting.

Both could be in the high teens.

Cowboys will pull a good crowd for the last derby at 1300.

Billythekid

Read into however you like but that's how it is. I am just one disgruntled Saints fan whose form of protest is to not attend games until the team decides to at least have a go.
I assume you are a Storm fan so this may be hard for you to relate with, but when your club treats you with utter contempt and trots out the kind of performance like you saw today from Saints (and have done so for pretty much all season), it would weigh on your decision to attend especially if you have travel to contend with as well. I wouldn't be surprised if many Saints fans took advantage of the beautiful day to do anything except go to the footy.

Give me a break. Yeah I’m a storm fan but I also follow more than one sport and am well aware what it’s like to follow a shit team (teams far worse than the dragons btw). Quite frankly dragons fans on this forum come off as a pack of whiners (actually that’s true of a lot of fans on here). You think you’ve had it bad? Try being a knights fan or titans fan or warriors fan or tigers fan. Plenty of clubs have had it far worse than the dragons.

Having said that yeah my comment wasn’t just about you. It’s an ongoing thing where fans of damn well meat every club use form to excuse poor crowds. Shit fans of at least half the top 8 sides have used that excuse far too much this year. It’s a cop out.

Also whilst it explains less than spectacular crowds it doesn’t explain struggling for 5 figures against another big local club.

This Year?

Give me a break. Yeah I’m a storm fan but I also follow more than one sport and am well aware what it’s like to follow a shit team (teams far worse than the dragons btw). Quite frankly dragons fans on this forum come off as a pack of whiners (actually that’s true of a lot of fans on here). You think you’ve had it bad? Try being a knights fan or titans fan or warriors fan or tigers fan. Plenty of clubs have had it far worse than the dragons.

Having said that yeah my comment wasn’t just about you. It’s an ongoing thing where fans of damn well meat every club use form to excuse poor crowds. Shit fans of at least half the top 8 sides have used that excuse far too much this year. It’s a cop out.

Also whilst it explains less than spectacular crowds it doesn’t explain struggling for 5 figures against another big local club.

I get the sentiment. Most fans of any sport are generally fairweather supporters which is backed up by the crowd numbers. I know your comment wasn't targeting me in particular and yes dragons fans complain ( anyone would in the same situation). It's strange how whenever supporters of a club that are going shit complain about it everyone else says "suck it up you don't have it as bad as other clubs".

Game day experiences are boring and don't really engage the crowd at a 1/3 to 1/2 full stadium. The general standard of footy is shit this season. Facilities aren't exactly great either. Transport can be a nightmare at times.

Maybe there's your answer for poor crowds.

Yesterday was the last round for local soccer

My local club have 4 x 45’s teams
That’s about 60 blokes who were drinking beer at the club.
That’s not counting all the other senior age groups.
Then there is all the other clubs in the shire.
Then there is senior rugby league that was also on yesterday afternoon.

Sunday afternoon is not as easy as people think to get great crowds.

My team have about 10 of us that are season ticket holders or regular at footy games.
We all take at least one kid with us.
It adds up.
Sunday games - especially home games make it impossible to do both.
If we all went to the footy we’d have to forfeit.

Yesterday was the last round for local soccer

My local club have 4 x 45’s teams
That’s about 60 blokes who were drinking beer at the club.
That’s not counting all the other senior age groups.
Then there is all the other clubs in the shire.
Then there is senior rugby league that was also on yesterday afternoon.

Sunday afternoon is not as easy as people think to get great crowds.

My team have about 10 of us that are season ticket holders or regular at footy games.
We all take at least one kid with us.
It adds up.
Sunday games - especially home games make it impossible to do both.
If we all went to the footy we’d have to forfeit.

This is a genuine issue. I play soccer in the shire and have probably only been to 5 Sunday roosters games in 15 years because of my sport commitments.

Compare that to the other days where I have been to most games. Sunday isn't for everybody despite what some would have us believe.

This is a genuine issue. I play soccer in the shire and have probably only been to 5 Sunday roosters games in 15 years because of my sport commitments.

Compare that to the other days where I have been to most games. Sunday isn't for everybody despite what some would have us believe.

Sunday arvo is a massive day for our club.
The rugby league club is part of the same building.
The joint is packed.
The game is on the big tv in the bar.

I’d imagine there is a heap of blokes who play soccer in st George and parramatta areas too.